Batman and Robin #0

Batman and Robin #0

Writer: Peter J. Tomasi Artist: Patrick Gleason, Mick Gray Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: September 12, 2012 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 21 User Reviews: 5
7.5Critic Rating
7.0User Rating

Damians complicated relationship with his mother, Talia al Ghul, takes center stage. Bred to kill and not to care, this is the birth of an assassin!

  • 10
    Fanboy Buzz - TommyZimmer Sep 16, 2012

    Together, these men are telling a timeless story of a boy learning to understand a father he never knew, and trying to change as he learns to love him more and more wanting to be like that man as he grows into adulthood. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Comics Crux - Jessica Tarnate Dec 9, 2012

    After reading the first few issues of the newest Batman Incorporated series, I was intrigued by both Talia al Ghul and Damian Wayne. I wanted to read more about each of them, and this was my chance. Batman and Robin #0 gives us readers a glimpse into what it would be like to be the child of two master fighters and geniuses (pretty grueling, if you ask me.) I really loved the montage panels, especially those that show Damian fighting Talia on each of his birthdays. And I have to admit, the panel in which a young Damian puts on the Bat cape and cowl looked adorable. Artist Patrick Gleason knows how to structure his panels to convey action and time lapse, and writer Peter J. Tomasi complements both perfectly with sparsebut well-writtendialogue. If the zero issue is any indication of how good the Batman and Robin series is, then I have yet another Bat-family story to add to my pull list. Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Forces Of Geek - Atlee Greene Sep 17, 2012

    It is their relationship that takes center stage throughout the issue and it's revealing to see how Damian became the person he is today. In my opinion, the only zero issues that have really shed any real light on the past are the Batman titles and this is another prime example of the zero concept done right. Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Midnight Logic - Atlee Greene Sep 17, 2012

    It is their relationship that takes center stage throughout the issue and its revealing to see how Damian became the person he is today. In my opinion, the only zero issues that have really shed any real light on the past are the Batman titles and this is another prime example of the zero concept done right. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comicosity - Gavin Craig Sep 14, 2012

    It's entirely possible that Damian is a continuity bomb, a virus Grant Morrison slipped into the DC universe. He rebuilds the world around himself, and probably will never quite fit. If we're lucky, we'll get to watch the whole thing. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Book Resources - Doug Zawisza Sep 17, 2012

    As chief architect of a fabulous creative team, Tomasi displays in "Batman and Robin" #0 exactly what the zero issue concept is all about: telling an origin story that serves as an introduction to a broader universe. From here, I want to see more of Talia and Damian training. I want to see the first few days of Damian testing his father's patience. I want to see Gleason drawing Man-Bat -- a lot. I want more of this book, from these creators, regardless of what I knew or didn't know before coming in to this story. Being totally honest, I've never been a fan of any of the Robin characters as Robin. Batman, to me, is a much more compelling character when his adventures feature him flying solo. That said, I hate Damian, but Tomasi has at least made him an entertaining character. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Minhquan Nguyen Sep 13, 2012

    A very interesting character study on one of the most complicated characters in the DCU. Fitting for the son of Batman. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    SciFiPulse - Patrick Hayes Sep 20, 2012

    An interesting trip into what makes a, potential, hero/killer. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    IGN - Joey Esposito Sep 12, 2012

    Patrick Gleason handles the action portions of this issue with great care. Visually, the standout moments come in the form of a pair of double-page spreads in which Talia tests the limits of her son. Gleason splits the pages into lightning-quick vertical panels that manage to condense years of training into a few brief pages. Gleason nails the intensity and emotion of the images, letting us understand the trials that Damian has gone through. Less successful are some of the more subdued sequences, which sometimes suffer from some wonky character work. One panel of an infant Damian in particular is rather baffling, giving the character an enormous egg-shaped head. Problems like this crop up occasionally, but overall Gleason is able to keep this zero issue visually compelling. Read Full Review

  • 8.0 - Scott West Sep 15, 2012

    Damien Wayne is one of the most interesting characters created in the DC universe (New 52 or otherwise) in many years and is definitely my favorite Robin since Dick left the role. His backstory of being trained as by assassins with the intent that he will one day rule the world makes him much more than the Robins that have come before. He combines the troubled issues of Jason with the mental prowess of Tim and tosses in a bit of the Al Ghul arrogance for a wonderful mixture of character. Honestly, if Bruce ever steps down, I'd like to see Damien take over the Bat mantle. But, before that happens, I'm going to enjoy seeing his evolution into the hero that I feel that he can be. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Gotham Spoilers - Gotham Spoilers Sep 12, 2012

    So yeah, not a whole lot of meat to this issue, that is, if you're not a new comer to the franchise. If you know Damian, there's not a whole lot of new info to go by here. That being said, as a whole, the issue was executed very well. Patrick Gleason's art was pretty damn fantastic this issue, especially with the way Damian movies, something I don't believe I've commented on enough. All in all, it was a really good issue, but don't be expecting anything all too new if you're a seasoned vet, like myself. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Read Comic Books - Roderick Ruth Sep 13, 2012

    Fans of Grant Morrison's Batman and Robin run will already be familiar with this origin story and might have concerns with the Damian's incubation tank and scientific engineering described in the back pages of the issue. I would suggest holding off and waiting to see what happens in upcoming issues. This is The New 52 and each writer in the zero issues has taken some sort of liberties to create a more interesting story. This easily continues to be one of my favorite Bat-books out and if you're looking for a jumping on point to start reading this title, get this issue now! Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Barron Network - R.Barron Sep 12, 2012

    This is the issue in Batman & Robin I have been waiting for. That being said I cannot say I am fully satisfied because of the lack of new material brought to the table. The real standout here is the Art because Gleason drew some straight up exciting action panels and you have to love them! Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    Batman-News - Andrew Asberry Sep 12, 2012

    I think that this is a great issue for those who are just getting into Batman comics and need to know who need an introduction to Damian. But there is nothing here for loyal readers and because of that I was disappointed. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    Comic Book Revolution - Kevin Sep 18, 2012

    Batman and Robin #0 was a good issue as it establishes Damian's backstory and what it is that drives him. Tomasi does a good job using this time to re-write the characters history in a way that keeps the Batman and Son storyline in continuity. Though the problem with the character's age and the questions it brings still are up in the air. Patrick Gleason provides some fine artwork as always as he is able to enhance the story with how he draws all the characters emotions and the action sequences. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Vine - Tony 'G-Man' Guerrero Sep 12, 2012

    Damian is the little brat/sidekick you love to hate. As annoying as he can be, his charm is in the fact that he's a ten-year-old that can face Batman's enemies with no problem. He was raised by the League of Assassins and is the perfect little warrior. This zero issue serves to show us what his upbringing was like. We get to see the challenges he faced. It's great for fans of Damian to get to see these times but they also don't really add anything new to his character or the history that we already know. Tomasi and Gleason are deliver the goods as usual but because you already know what's going to happen and there weren't any surprises, it just feels like an extended visual telling of what we already know. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    First Comics News - Matthew Szewczyk Sep 16, 2012

    If you really were curious about Damian's history than you will probably find a lot to enjoy about this issue but it is completely skippable with no great impact on the series. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    X-Man's Comic Blog - Jason Todd Sep 17, 2012

    Once again, this issue wasn't bad, but I felt it could've explored some different things for Damian's past. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Newsarama - Jake Baumgart Sep 13, 2012

    Batman and Robin #0 just reiterates that Damian is a little punk... and that's about it. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Razorfine - Alan Rapp Sep 20, 2012

    Is it worth a look? Maybe. There one or two moments, although there's little here for those who have already read Morrison's story. For fans. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Major Spoilers - Kevin Mak Sep 16, 2012

    I started reading this comic when it came out after Battle for the Cowl. I loved the Dick Grayson/Damien Wayne pairing that made this comic dynamic and groundbreaking. Then, Bruce Wayne came back from the dead, the new 52 rebooted the comic and the series has not been the same since. This issue is pointless because it just retells what we know about Damien from previous stories. If you're looking for information on Batman in the new 52, like Batman #0 and Detective Comics #0, you will be disappointed. 2 stars. Read Full Review

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...