Blackest Night: Batman #3

Blackest Night: Batman #3

Event\Storyline: Blackest Night Writer: Peter J. Tomasi Artist: Ardian Syaf Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: October 14, 2009 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 8
7.4Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

The stunning conclusion arrives! Batman and Robin, along with the help of Deadman, try to defend Gotham City against the onslaught of Black Lanterns. But how do you defeat an enemy whose only goal is to feed off the emotions of a city and eat the hearts of all that stand in their way? Prepare for the answer from writer Peter J. Tomasi (GREEN LANTERN CORPS, THE MIGHTY) and up-and-comer Ardian Syaf!

  • 8.8
    Comix 411 - David Torres Oct 18, 2009

    Great story by Tomasi and again Ardian Syaf's artwork was top notch. Not a perfect series, but very enjoyable. Hopefully with all of these individual mini-series that deal with various DC characters fighting Black Lanterns on their own, we'll then see them join up for the big fight in the main Blackest Night mini-series. So pick this up. I highly recommend it. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Revolution - Rokk Krinn Oct 17, 2009

    Blackest Night Batman #3 was a good read. It was certainly much better than I expected. Blackest Night Batman #3 is my favorite issue out of all the various Blackest Night mini-series that we have gotten up to this point. Fans of Dick Grayson and Tim Wayne should certainly purchase Blackest Night Batman #3. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Bin - Koppy McFad Oct 24, 2009

    The art, while powerful, is a bit rough. Some action scenes look good, but a few panels are a bit hard to understand. Many of the characters don't look too good either but then many of them are decaying zombies so maybe this is to be expected. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicList - Brandon Borzelli Oct 18, 2009

    Overall, this arc is worth picking up because it doesn't simply really on Batman, Robin and Red Robin. The usage of Deadman and Etrigan make this story so much more enjoyable. You would expect Batman to try to outthink the dead and to do that you need to enlist characters like them. The comic probably tries to jam too much in it with the Commissioner and his daughter, but at least Damian has the chance to scoff about having to save Dick's ex-girlfriend. Overall, this was a fun read. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    X-Man's Comic Blog - x-man75 Nov 4, 2009

    I liked this issue a lot, although the ending left a bit to be desired. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book Resources - Greg McElhatton Oct 19, 2009

    Best of all, though, at the end of the mini-series? It feels like there was an actual purpose. We learn new things about the Black Lanterns, not only about who they can't fight but also a way to at least temporarily stop their attacks. I felt like my time was well spent reading "Blackest Night: Batman," something that I wish all tie-ins could master. For now, though, a thumbs up over here for "Blackest Night: Batman." Read Full Review

  • 6.8
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Oct 14, 2009

    So, in the end, what was the point of this? Like too many Blackest Night books, the story behind Blackest Night: Batman comes up sorely lacking. The Black Lantern reveals were fun, but it's become painfully clear at this point that these reveals are a poor substitute for true substance and conflict. The most Blackest Night: Batman has to offer is the art of Adrian Syaf. Syaf is a solid addition to the Andy Kubert/Tony Daniel school of Batman art, and I have little doubt we'll see him return to Gotham soon. That said, Syaf's art could just as easily been showcased in a one-shot special. This mini-series offered about enough content for one solid issue. I can only hope at this point that the next round of character-specific mini-series will be able to claim more than that. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    The Comic Addiction - Corwin C. Crowl Oct 17, 2009

    Ardian Syaf is not slouching on his job either. He brings a heavily energetic style similar to Andy Kubert and Ed Benes. If one was not careful they may even mistake his interior art for Andy who drew the cover. While I am not familiar with him Ardian looks like he may be a comic veteran. He has a very confident and capable style. As I said before this issue is very energetic and Ardian did not shy away from detail even with all the heavy action. As a stand alone series it did its job. It told a story about Batman and his entourage that was personal, action oriented and gently related to Blackest Night. If a Batman fan was only reading Blackest Night and this title they would be pleased. Myself? I'm not a huge Batman fan but I was hoping for something a bit deeper tied into Blackest Night. While it is only about to hit the halfway mark I hope something from this series spills over into the main book. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...