Final Crisis: Resist #1

Final Crisis: Resist #1

Event\Storyline: Final Crisis Writer: Greg Rucka Artist: Ryan Sook Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: November 5, 2008 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 10
6.7Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

  • 9.0
    Comics Bulletin - Robert Murray Nov 9, 2008

    This comic has restored my faith in Ruckas comic-scripting skills, and it has made me wonder why Sook doesnt pencil more DC issues. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    The Weekly Crisis - Kirk Warren Nov 11, 2008

    Solid read with a few minor quibbles on my part. Nothing worth skipping or even docking this issue over, so feel free to grab another excellent Final Crisis tiein. Bonus this issue actually ties into Final Crisis! Read Full Review

  • 8.7
    IGN - Dan Phillips Nov 5, 2008

    To summarize, Final Crisis: Resist is another top notch tie-in to Final Crisis proper, a book that contributes significantly to Grant Morrison's story while also succeeding on its own terms. Fans of Rucka and Trautman's work on Checkmate in particular can't afford to miss this issue, as it's the powerful last installment we've been waiting for ever since the two unceremoniously left the ongoing series. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comics Bulletin - David Hodum Nov 9, 2008

    Final Crisis: Resist is solid work that gives event tie-in issues a good name. On a final note, I have nothing against Geoff Johns or Grant Morrison, but when is Greg Rucka going to get to write a giant event? Sign me up for that. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book Resources - Benjamin Birdie Nov 10, 2008

    Could've used just a bit more Ryan Sook, though. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics Bulletin - Shawn Hill Nov 9, 2008

    Along the way, Ruckas use of Grodd, Cheetah, Brother Eye, and especially Mr. Terrific and Snapper is both assured and inspired. He demonstrates how the entire DC universe is in peril. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Rob G. Nov 11, 2008

    In : Much criticism has been leveled at the Final Crisis tie-ins for not being connected to the actual Crisis at hand. Though this book is indeed connected to the event, it seems a bit underwhelming. However, the new players on the side of the good guys spice up the playing field and should play a crucial role against the forces of evil, or at least make interesting cannon fodder. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Comics Bulletin - Dave Wallace Nov 9, 2008

    Unlike Final Crisis: Submit, which managed to tell a reasonably interesting (if straightforward) story in a single issue, this feels like little more than a footnote to the Final Crisis event: an explanation of how certain characters got from point A to point B before their reappearance in the main Final Crisis miniseries. Its worth a look for Final Crisis completists and fans of the characters involved, but anyone else won't miss a lot by skipping this issue. Read Full Review

  • 4.5
    X-Man's Comic Blog - x-man75 Nov 14, 2008

    Don't promote a series as containing the last of something, and then have a million of the last something show up soon there after. The other thing that disturbed me, was since when did Snapper Carr become a teleporter? I guess I missed something somewhere, because when he was with Young Justice, all he could do was annoy people by snapping his fingers incessantly. These weird gaps in logic really hurt this comic for me. Read Full Review

  • 3.0
    Comics Bulletin - Thom Young Nov 9, 2008

    If you have bought it and hate it as much as I do, just remember . . . Anti-Life justifies your hatred! Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...