Green Lantern Corps #1

Green Lantern Corps #1

Writer: Peter J. Tomasi Artist: Fernando Pasarin Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: September 21, 2011 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 15
7.4Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

When deadly conflicts emerge across the universe, it's up to Guy Gardner, John Stewart and an elite Green Lantern strike force to keep the peace or else.

  • 10
    Comic Book Bin - Herv St-Louis Sep 26, 2011

    I dont know Fernando Pasarin, but can say that his work is brilliant so far. He has that same crisp quality that Doug Mahnke and Patrick Gleason have brought to Green Lantern in the past. His figures are well-formed and even his aliens look believable. Being able to draw good aliens is one great skill for a series like Green Lantern. I wasnt a regular Green Lantern Corps reader in the past, but I see no reason for passing such an excellently put series. This one has my full recommendations. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Minhquan Nguyen Sep 21, 2011

    Layered, sincerely touching character work, a tense, high-stakes mission right off the bat, and superb art. Between this and Green Lantern, I say GLC starts off on the stronger foot. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    The Fandom Post - Chris Kirby Sep 22, 2011

    With excellent, distinct, and diverse characters and a plot that promises a lot of action and drama, GLC is a winner in my book. There isn't too much plot but it doesn't feel too heavy on the exposition either. GLC is a perfect balance of interesting settings, characters, and possibilities and some good ole sci-fi action. The large cast featured on the cover may be intimidating to some but only a fraction are introduced in this volume. If future issues are handled just as well, the large cast will become GLC's greatest asset and, again, one of THE series to read. Read Full Review

  • 8.7
    Crave Online - Andy Hunsaker Sep 21, 2011

    Green Lantern Corps is a great launching pad for the kind of GL adventures you actually want to read about. Why is there such a clusterfuck on Earth? Space is a massive place, and a lot more time should be dedicated dealing with stuff out there. It's refreshing to see these cool Green Lanterns realize that and go about their business without whining about bills. And although Gardner seems like a more chill guy, he's not without some obnoxious behavior, so Tomasi should have plenty to work with, as it can't be too long before his two leads are butting their hard heads against each other. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Vine - Mat 'Inferiorego' Elfring Sep 21, 2011

    The art, hands-down, is the best thing about this issue. It's a good start to a new series, but it doesn't really allow brand new readers to jump on because there's still a bunch of Green Lantern information each reader may need to know to understand everything in the issue. The issue does a decent job of catching up the reader, but not good enough. This is a promising new series, from the look of the first issue, but let's be honest, the Green Lantern comics at DC, in the past 6 years, have all been dynamite. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    A Comic Book Blog - Mason Moyer Sep 22, 2011

    Overall, I liked the writing, and it was good quality, regardless of it's lack of a big story. This is a foundation, and a good one. The art is really what makes this book shine, especially when accounting for just how difficult it is to portray many of the scenes in this book. Pasarin could have ruined the book if he would have handled certain pages and panels wrong, but instead he did a great job and left me waiting for the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    cxPulp - Blake Petit Sep 24, 2011

    Fans of Guy and John will really enjoy this book. Im just keeping my fingers crossed that itll be more than just the two of them once the title gets going. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    IGN - Joshua Yehl Sep 21, 2011

    While this issue had potential to be the perfect jumping-on point, it falls just short of it. Regardless, the result is a solid start to another GLC arc by Tomasi, and with Parasin's artwork, it looks like it is going to be good. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Eye On Comics - Don MacPherson Sep 24, 2011

    Still, given the strength of the characterization and my hope that focus on Guy and John will continue in future issues, I'm more than willing to give Tomasi the benefit of the doubt. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Major Spoilers - Rob Rasmussen Sep 26, 2011

    This is a quite good setup for John and Guy, giving us logical reasons as to why they would leave Earth and a decent connection between the two on a personal level with the whole lack of secret identity thing. I do have two disappointments though. First, the bad guy: He isn't seen unless it's his perspective and he far too handily wipes out a pair of GL's. The setup just seems too familiar. Secondly, the lack of specific Lanterns, most notably Kilowog and Kol's partner Vath Sarn. Of course, that second is mostly a nitpick and likely to be addressed either later in the series or during one of the other Lantern books. Either way, the book is good and gets a well deserved 3.5 out of 5 stars. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Razorfine - Alan Rapp Sep 28, 2011

    In need of some fresh air (so to speak) the pair take a trip to Oa and learn that two Green Lanterns have recently been killed in Sector 3599. Grabbing a team that includes Brik, Isamot Kol, Vandor, Hannu, and Sheriff Mardin set out to find the cause but are unprepared for what they find. A solid opener. Worth a look. Read Full Review

  • 6.1
    Multiversity Comics - Brian Salvatore Sep 23, 2011

    It is either a total dismissal of world history or a glaring oversight that this title remains intact. Either way, this is unacceptable and is a real misstep on the path to picking up new readers. To be fair, so is the unusual story told within this issue. I have high hopes for this creative team on this book, but this first issue is a bit of a mess. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Book Resources - Greg McElhatton Sep 22, 2011

    Perhaps because it's business-as-usual, "Green Lantern Corps" has one of the quieter openings from the re-launch titles to date. It doesn't have any huge impact moments, but it's not bad either. Just a quiet, middle-of-the-road title. I can't see this attracting new readers, but the existing fanbase will be pleased. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    PopMatters - Andrew Ly Sep 22, 2011

    Although the issue ends on a less-than-spectacular note, Tomasi's endearing portrayal of Guy still lingers. And the potential for Guy and John Stewart's Odd Couple pairing adds hope that even if the plot is a road that readers have been down many times before, at least they stand a good chance of enjoying the company. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    ComicList - Brandon Borzelli Sep 22, 2011

    I can't imagine a new reader being impressed by this book. On the other hand, as a long time reader I thought the issue brought about an interesting new threat. It's too bad I have to judge the book off being a launch and as a launch I found it to be a mess. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...