Justice League Dark #0

Justice League Dark #0

Writer: Jeff Lemire Artist: Mikel Janin Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: September 26, 2012 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 11 User Reviews: 1
7.7Critic Rating
8.0User Rating

Find out what young John Constantine was like in the early days of The New 52, and meet the villain who plans to kill him and the entire team!

  • 10
    Comic Vine - Mat 'Inferiorego' Elfring Sep 26, 2012

    This is one of the top issue 0s that DC has put out. JUSTICE LEAGUE DARK 0 is a fantastic jump on point for new readers and reintroduces the world to two characters most people know but may not be too familliar with: Constantine and Zatanna. It's a fantastic story from start to finish. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Imagination Centre - John McCubbin Aug 8, 2013

    Taking time away from the War for the Books of Magic story, this zero issue showed an amazing first meeting between Constantine, and Zatanna, and how they were mentored by Nick Necro. It was a real emotional issue, and it showed how Constantine became what he is. I would recommend it easily, as it was one of the more unique zero issues, and I'd also easily recommend the series as a whole, as it's truly phenomenal. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    IGN - Joey Esposito Sep 26, 2012

    Still, this is a zero issue that toes the line nicely between a tried-and-true "origin" story while still being relevant to the larger story at hand. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Population Go - Population Go Staff Oct 4, 2012

    Lemire gave us what was one of the more consistently solid, and also more substantial zero issues. Most of the zero issues I read in September gave, at most, a couple of important factors of these characters' past, and most of them didn't play into the story happening in the actual issues of the series, but this one gave several important bits of information that are definitely coming back into play when issue #13 hits shelves late October. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Read Comic Books - Corey Fryia Sep 26, 2012

    If you arent reading Justice League Dark then you are sorely missing out. Everybody raves about how amazing Lemires Animal Man run has been, but I feel as if Justice League Dark has been on a whole other level. I never would have thought that I would have enjoyed an issue of JLD that didnt feature Deadman, but leave it to Lemire to prove me wrong! Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    A Comic Book Blog - Geoff Arbuckle Sep 26, 2012

    Still, Jeff Lemire tells a nice story. It was neat to see Constantine as someone who could still be enamored by something. We're so used to seeing him as this hardened jerk who's only out for himself. He's still pretty self-centered here, but there's a bit more wide-eyed behavior. Garbett's art works well with the story and all the mystical elements. Overall, this is a book that's got some good things for fans of Constantine and Zatanna in particular. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Minhquan Nguyen Sep 29, 2012

    Solid but inappropriate art frames a story that runs a bit too predictably, though the revelations you learn will prove useful along the line. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book Resources - Kelly Thompson Oct 1, 2012

    The most successful of the zero issues this past month have been ones that managed to show something new about their characters or bring important ideas to the table, while still being new-reader friendly. Lemire's "Justice League Dark" #0 isn't an amazing must read-comic, but it does manage to intrigue on the character front and serves as a decent jumping on point for one of the stronger ongoing books from DC. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics Are Not Dead - Comics Are Not Dead Sep 28, 2012

    JLDark is back on track with issue 0! I'm excited to see where Lemire takes us  next on the journey of the team! Note: I love how Lemire  is one of the only writers who have made the 0 issue crucial to the current series arc. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Major Spoilers - Danielle Luaulu Oct 2, 2012

    This book was fun and a welcome break from the doomsday intensity of the usual Justice League Dark storyline. The story is a little on the predictable side, but that doesn't mean it's a boring read by any means. The art is nice, but seems out of place when compared to the previous books in the series. Overall, pick it up if you're a John Constantine fan and want a bit of info on his early years with Zatanna. Read Full Review

  • 5.5
    Multiversity Comics - Vince Ostrowski Sep 28, 2012

    Though we get a passable “Times Past” tale about Zatanna and Constantine, there's so much more potential to the Justice League Dark team and we're afforded none of it. The series itself doesn't spend enough time on the other players on the team the way it is, while the zero issue ignores them completely for characters that have had plenty of stories over the years. Another zero issue just skirts by the supposed premise of the month. If you're looking to know more about Black Orchid or Doctor Mist or any tales of the Justice League Dark as a team (which is promised by the solicitation), you're out of luck, mate. Read Full Review

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...