Secret Six #11

Secret Six #11

Writer: Gail Simone Artist: Dale Eaglesham Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: February 17, 2016 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 5
8.8Critic Rating
8.8User Rating

Strix, a former Talon once in the service of the Court of Owls, seems to have found a place in the world with the Secret Six. But now someone from her past comes calling, threatening to undermine whatever semblance of peace she has experienced with her newfound friends. Some wounds time can never heal. Can she ever leave the life of an assassin behind her?

  • 9.0
    Batman-News - Joshua McDonald Feb 19, 2016

    This is a fun issue that focuses on the characters and their relationships. With a solid Batgirl cameo, and the build up to Strix and the Secret Six (with Batgirl) versus Shiva" It's near perfection! Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Weird Science - Reggie Hemingway Feb 17, 2016

    Arc number three for thisvolume of Secret Six begins with thisissue, and it's a solid story. Batgirl shows up for no huge reason and neverreally matches that awesome scene on the cover of the issue. If you don't wantto know more about the enigmatic and adorable Strix, then this issue is not foryou. But if you want to see Dale Eaglesham and Tom Derenick put a clinic oncomic book storytelling and make it look easy as pie, then there's loads ofthat in this comic. It's a tough one, I can tell you're torn. Might as well buythe comic and act put out about it than regret having missed something later. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Vancha Mar 31, 2016

    God do I miss Simone's Batgirl. Even with Cameron's/Fletcher's younger, less Barbara-ish Batgirl to work with, Simone does her more justice here than Batgirl's own writers have since they started. The rest of what's good here is very much the same as in previous issues - the dynamic between a bunch of messed-up misfits, who - by and large - are written superbly.

  • 8.0 Feb 25, 2016

    Gail brings back Babs in a fun, weird issue- possibly as a trial run for her to take back over on Batgirl or Birds of Prey? One can only hope. Tom Derenick comes on this issue as a fill-in/support artist, which is too bad, because Dale Eaglesham’s work is so good, it shouldn’t really be buddied up with anyone else’s. There were a few moments where the art didn’t quite hit home for me, like one of the early faces Babs/Batgirl makes where she looks like she got cheek implants AND cat scratches across her whole cheek. But it was just a bit of an “artistic freedom” taken with the panel, and it just didn’t pay off. I loved the humorous onomatopoeia from the dust-up fighting between Catman and Batgirl where we see the “biff zap pow” turned into “punch bite handsome selfie!” which is just how Gail puts her fingerprints on a book like this, and I love it. The scenes with Strix and Porcelain, while being as far from “action-y” as possible, actually served as my favorite part of this issue. It was really a gutshot to see how Strix handled herself after her “makeover” and the emotional weight of that scene really stuck with me. Ralph Dibney and his weird murder-y brainwashed estranged wife was a moment that really felt out of place for me, and I really hope that we get something more from this moment going forward, because if it plays out in a mundane way, I will not be very pleased. Overall, though- this book was fun, and I would love Batgirl to come back to this little slice of suburban anti-hero heaven anytime she wants!

  • 10
    Hilbut Feb 18, 2016

  • 9.0
    Redeadhood Feb 25, 2016

  • 8.5
    Quietomega Feb 18, 2016

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...