Star-Spangled War Stories: G.I. Zombie #2

Star-Spangled War Stories: G.I. Zombie #2

Writer: Justin Gray, Jimmy Palmiotti Artist: Scott Hampton Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: August 27, 2014 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 6 User Reviews: 3
7.0Critic Rating
7.3User Rating

An undercover operation exposes a guided missile terrorist plot - and the only thing in its way is a zombie with an AK-47!

  • 8.5
    AiPT! - Jordan Richards Aug 27, 2014

    Star Spangled War Stories Featuring GI Zombie #2 is a solid followup to the previous issue, and really shows a lot more promise. The story is really picking up, the background and characterization being revealed for G.I. Zombie is interesting, the writing is good, and the artwork does fit the tone of the book well. It needs some more work, but I'm really getting into this and I am looking forward to the next issue more than ever. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book Resources - Greg McElhatton Aug 28, 2014

    "Star-Spangled War Stories Featuring G.I. Zombie" #2 is a good book, but I fear that it won't be around for long. (Why it wasn't just titled "G.I. Zombie" is beyond me; I can't help but think sales would have been higher automatically.) This is a title that could use some strong word of mouth; it's well-written, the art is great, and it has a sense of humor while still proving to be intense. Take a look for yourself, and you might just find yourself hooked too. Read Full Review

  • 6.9
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Aug 28, 2014

    Star-Spangled War Stories is almost nothing like what you'd expect it to be based on the cover art. It's less military shoot-em-up and more undercover crime drama with a dose of zombie carnage. It makes for a very unique addition to the New 52 lineup, one that would almost be more at home in Vertigo's catalog given the maturity level. Read Full Review

  • 6.9
    Multiversity Comics - Brian Salvatore Aug 29, 2014

    A fun issue for a book struggling to find its role. Read Full Review

  • 6.9
    Weird Science - Jim Werner Sep 1, 2014

    Star Spangled War Stories featuring G.I. Zombie #2 is a decent second issue, but I'm worried it's not enough. A book with such a unique story (and deceiving cover art and name) really needs to get off to a fast start and it just hasn't. Fans of Palmiotti and Gray know to stick with it, but casual fans looking for a new book may just pass it by. I hope not, but I also hope this book picks up the pace and finds it's direction fast. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    DC Comics News - Yonatan Ol Aug 29, 2014

    The writing in this issue was way better than the art, but Star Spangled War Stories #02 is definitely worth a read. The characters are believable and the plot moves along well. I don't know if this is going to be the best issue in this series, but Star Spangled War Stories is definitely out to a good start. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    martinalguy Aug 31, 2014

    GI Zombie feels quite aware of a what a bizarre premise its offering, but it makes that much more fun. Example, GI Zombie in a basement when a bunch of grenades rolling down the stairs where they go off. Down the stairs come the bad guys telling themselves "no one could of survive that", when suddenly GI ZOMBIE pops out and eats these guy's throats. See while this may be a weird concept, this is the perfect example of book that's walking the tightrope like pro. Doesn't take itself seriously. Which gets laid down with a nice cliffhanger. By the way this book is getting a future's end storyline. So it might make it your worth to get the 1st two if you wind up with the September issue. Anyways if there were any drawbacks, is that were still left in the dark with some of the backstory. Also if there has not been major plotline which has started.

  • 7.5
    SwampyCA Sep 6, 2014

  • 7.0
    mrDovydas Aug 31, 2014

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...