Altered States: Red Sonja #1 (One-Shot)

Altered States: Red Sonja #1 (One-Shot)

Writer: Brandon Jerwa Artist: Juan Antonio Ramirez Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment Release Date: March 11, 2015 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 6
4.8Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

Welcome to Altered States... Dynamite Entertainment's parallel reality in the vein of DC's Elseworlds and Marvel's What If! Sonja Majeure is a young woman with a great job, procuring reliquary items for the Metropolitan Museum in New York City. Her latest exhibit features the sword of a long-lost warrior, a spell book, and the preserved remains of a sorcerer purported to be one of the most sinister beings to ever walk the Earth. When the ancient evil is awakened, Sonja will find that New York City has changed into a Hyborian wasteland... and Sonja herself will inherit the mantle of her namesake, the She-Devil with a Sword!

  • 7.3
    Graphic Policy - Edward Wendt Mar 9, 2015

    The idea behind the Altered States is to try something new, but it does not really work here. While Vampirella was able to use some of the old to mix into something different, the formula doesn't work here. Instead this reads as just another case of an Egyptologist stumbling upon some untold power, as was common in the golden age of comics with the likes of Hawkman, Doctor Fate and the Blue Beetle (among others.) While not a failure, the end product here is equally not really inspired, using too much of the familiar and not enough of the new. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Project-Nerd - Jarrod Mar 10, 2015

    Overall,Altered States: Red Sonja is a fun story with some great art. It's possible I would have enjoyed it more if I was more familiar with Red Sonja. I'm told that reading the current Gail Simone book would totally be worth my time. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny Hughes Mar 10, 2015

    Way back, in my teen years, I read a lot of Conan books and was looking forward to walking the Hyboran Hills again. I am left a tad disappointed but I realise, with the Altered State focus, this probably wasn't the best book fit meet that expectation. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Big Comic Page - Craig Neilson Mar 11, 2015

    Another swing and another miss for Dynamite's 'Altered States'series then, Im afraid to say. Plus, at the end of the day, when you consider that so many classic Elseworld and What If? tales have seen us visiting intriguing alternative worlds where much-lovedcharacters have lived or died and existing events were twistedby unfamiliar actions, Im not sure what if a museum employee was transformed into Red Sonja for a bit? is really a question worth answering. Read Full Review

  • 3.5
    AiPT! - John F. Trent Mar 11, 2015

    Altered States: Red Sonja #1 has good action sequences and an intriguing plot idea. However, the plot idea is not executed properly with quite a bit of confusion as to the dynamic change in surroundings. There are also many hiccups with the artwork from gravity defying hair to a magical sword that not only combusts enemies, but also skewers them without Red Sonja's guidance. Jerwa's choice of using inner monologue instead of dialogue in many areas breaks up the flow of the story leaving you scratching your head after many scenes. Read Full Review

  • 2.0
    Comic Bastards - Aaron Halverson Mar 11, 2015

    The Altered States concept is a good concept but I think they would be better off either producing double sized issues to doing a run of 3 or 4 issues to flesh out a concept. Given much more time they might have been able to save this story. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...