Flash Gordon #3

Flash Gordon #3

Writer: Jeff Parker Artist: Evan Shaner Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment Release Date: June 25, 2014 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 7
8.5Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

THE MAN FROM EARTH vs. THE BEAST-MEAN OF ARBORIA! Flash must be crushed in public, to prove all those who oppose Ming shall perish! Will Flash's wits and wiles win the day, or might Ming massacre his menace? Full-throttle space epic action from dream team JEFF PARKER (Batman '66, Aquaman), EVAN SHANER (Adventures of Superman) and JORDIE BELLAIRE (Moon Knight)!

  • 10
    SciFiPulse - Patrick Hayes Jun 30, 2014

    This is the new bar for epic adventure in space. Good luck finding better. Highest possible recommendation. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Unleash The Fanboy - Harrison Rawdin Jun 25, 2014

    Flash Gordon #2 is a fun space odyssey that deserves a spot on your pull-list. Through the skill of its creative team it earns accolades as it comes highly recommended. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Multiversity Comics - Brian Salvatore Jun 27, 2014

    Parker, only a few issues in, knows these characters inside and out, and has crafted a story that feels fresh and classic, surprising and pleasingly expected, and does so almost effortlessly. This creative team can write this book for the rest of time, as far as I'm concerned. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Comic Book Bin - Herv St-Louis Jul 7, 2014

    Evan Shaner continues to be a remarkable artist in the tradition of Chris Samnee, Alex Toth and even Frank Frazetta. He renders his characters with a retro look fit for the 1960s but that is delicious for the eyes in 2014. A dedicated inker would create the textured light and dark compositions that would enhance his work. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Coming Up Comics - David Melton Jun 24, 2014

    With great writing and artwork, this series should be near the top of everyone's list. I haven't had this much fun reading a superhero story since Hawkeye. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Therapy - Cody "The Thorverine" Ferrell Jun 25, 2014

    Flash Gordon is just flat-out fun. Parker and company's sense of fun and excitement at making this book really rubs off on the reader and makes the entire experience a true joy. In a world of grim and gritty comics and remakes, it's nice to have a comic that's so unapologetically fun. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Front Towards Gamer - Lido Jun 27, 2014

    Actually a lot of elements of Flash Gordon remind me of Deep Space Nine, specifically the idea of taking a classic pulp scifi property and trying to view it through a more modernistic and updated critical lens. I just wish Flash Gordon would stick to actually doing that, as the portions of the comic more devoted to swashbuckling adventure always feel flat and very much clash with the darker more grounded tone of the rest of the comic. Still this is the book we have and for what we have it's not terrible just not as good as it could or should be, I'd pick it up if you're already following the comic but as for jumping on maybe wait a little bit longer to see if issue 2 was just a fluke. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...