Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #1

Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #1

Writer: Anthony Del Col Artist: Werther Dell'edera Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment Release Date: March 8, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 8 User Reviews: 4
8.0Critic Rating
6.8User Rating

+ Pull List

THE BIG LIE is a Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys mystery unlike any other you've ever read...

When the teenage brothers Frank and Joe Hardy are accused of the murder of their father - a detective in the small resort town of Bayport - they must team up with the femme fatale Nancy Drew to prove their innocence (and find the real guilty party in the process) in a twisting, hard-boiled tale, complete with double-crosses, deceit and dames.
  
Inspired by new crime classics like Ed Brubaker's Fatale and Darwyn Cooke's Parker series, writer Anthony Del Col (Assassin's Creed, Kill Shakespeare) and artist Werther Dell'Edera (Batman: Detect
more

  • 9.0
    Outright Geekery - Ashley Gibbs Mar 16, 2017

    Despite my trepidation towards this title and the darker take on such childhood classics, Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie left me wanting more. I want to see Joe, Frank and Nancy really use their brains to solve the mystery behind the murder. Also, I'm eager to see how the writers do this, though I do personally hope they also add in some humor. Readers of this series don't need prior knowledge of Nancy Drew or the Hardy Boys to enjoy this comic, this has no connection to any previous books, stories or games featuring these characters. This is a brand new adventure for these teen detectives and their fans, new or returning. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    Nerds On The Rocks - Logan Dalton Mar 8, 2017

    Overrated as in a few short pages, Nancy Drew steals the comic in shimmering fashion and has been pulling the Hardy Bros strings all along. Theres a reason why she gets top billing, and the final pages featuring her along with Werner DellEderas versatile artwork and Anthony del Cols stylized and sometimes sassy writing definitely got me hooked on the Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys series going forward. The comic kind of roasts the it would be hilarious if they wore Ed Hardy Bros, but also tells a dark, exciting mystery story in the vein of Veronica Mars, Brick, or a slightly less soapy Riverdale. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Graphic Policy - SHAY REVOLVER Mar 25, 2017

    It's not an extraordinary comic book but, it serves its purpose and does what it's supposed to do. It's entertaining and interesting enough to make you want to see what happens next. Truth be told, not everything needs to be fast paced and in your face, sometimes just being different and well written is enough to warrant some praise. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    The Fandom Post - Chris Beveridge Mar 8, 2017

    While I don't have a lot in the way of nostalgia towards the original works and they're not something I can pickup and reread, I was curious to see how a new update would go. There are certainly obvious things being done here that we're seeing in other franchise of the same nature to try and modernize them and it's usually hit or miss. Based on this first installment and its potential I'm going to classify this one as a hit with the ability to be a really strong hit out of the park depending on how it all plays out. Anthony Del Col catches a good narrative voice for each of the boys and sets the stage well when it comes to the town while Werther Dell'Edera delivers a fantastic looking book that's rich in detail and tone that has the right edge of creepiness but also that sense of normalcy about it. I'm excited to see where the second installment goes as the cast expands and interactions grow. This is a book worth taking a shot with for something different and engaging. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Big Comic Page - Craig Neilson-Adams Mar 7, 2017

    A solid opening then for what promises to be an exciting mystery series, although it remains to be seen just how Miss Drews inclusion is going to affect the tone and style of the story, if at all. Definitely one to keep an eye on, regardless. Read Full Review

  • 7.9
    SciFiPulse - Ian Cullen Mar 1, 2017

    I'm definitely in for the second issue to see where this goes. Read Full Review

  • 7.9
    Graphic Policy - Madison Butler Mar 8, 2017

    The first issue of the comic wasnt perfect, but showed a lot of promise. Mystery fans, fans of the original series, and fans of Hope Larson and Brittney Williamss Goldie Vance will likely enjoy Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys for its vintage charm, amped-up drama, and superb art. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Dustin Cabeal Mar 8, 2017

    All this said, and it's still not a bad comic book. It works as a comic, but it misses on two important aspects. It didn't feel or remind me of either book series, nor did it entertain me enough to make me want to come for more. Maybe if the approach had been more like Archie Horror or even Scooby Apocalypse and less creepy alien eyes Nancy Drew and the Boring Boys. Read Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More