Vampirella #0

Vampirella #0

Writer: Paul Cornell Artist: Jimmy Broxton Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment Release Date: February 1, 2017 Cover Price: $0.25 Critic Reviews: 16 User Reviews: 3
8.0Critic Rating
6.8User Rating

+ Pull List

Beginning a new and VERY different direction!  Vampirella was last spotted in 2016 doing what she does best-defending the world from threats both mystic and evil. She hasn't been seen since.  Now, over a thousand years later, she's poised to make her fateful return, but the world that awaits her is unlike anything she might expect-or want to defend! Written by acclaimed comics, novel and television writer Paul Cornell (This Damned Band, Doctor Who) and illustrated by the masterful Jimmy Broxton (Goldtiger, Knight & Squire), it's the start of an adventure for Vampirella unlike any she's had in her long and storied history. Don't miss the t more

  • 10
    Kabooooom - Matt Morrison Feb 1, 2017

    Fans of Cornell and Broxton's previous work on Knight and Squire will find Vampirella of comparable quality, though there is little humor in the same vein as that book. (No pun intended!) Those like myself who are new to the world of Vampirella will find this book to be a gripping introduction. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Horror Talk - James Ferguson Feb 6, 2017

    This is a great introduction to the new status quo for Vampirella.  It requires no previous knowledge, allowing you to jump right in and enjoy a cool story with some terrific artwork.  This is pleasing to new and old fans alike.  Plus, this costs $0.25!  It's an absolute steal at this price.  Alternatively, it's free on Kindle and ComiXology.  Even if you've never heard of Vampirella, it's worth trying out.  Worst case scenario, you're out a quarter instead of the usual four bucks, but I assure you, you won't be disappointed. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    ComicWow!TV - Art Boorman Jan 24, 2017

    Broxton is a skilled artist, and he is working to simultaneously convey both post-apocalyptic science fiction and quasi-gothic claustrophobia. His work at some points looks like a mixture of painting and drawing. He uses grainy textures to mix claustrophobia and darkness into a potent gothic aura that permeates the last eight pages of this short comic. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Major Spoilers - Stephen Schleicher Jan 30, 2017

    I had a lot of fun reading the last Vampirella series, and there was a sense of dread the new volume wouldn't be able to hold a candle to last. After reading Vampirella #0 multiple times, I have to say I am pleasantly pleased with this opening chapter. Cornell brings a unique pace to the story of Vampirella's resurrection, while Broxton's art feels like a tale from the past. Even casual Vampirella should give this issue a chance, it is worth the read. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Graphic Policy - christopher scott author May 21, 2017

    The art by Jimmy Broxton is dark, almost mysterious in nature. It all comes together to reveal very little about the world or the prophecy that foretells her awakening. The clothing the characters wear does suggest it takes place at some point in the future. But a lot remains to be seen and I can't wait to find out. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    Slackjaw Punks - Garret Tumey Feb 1, 2017

    Broxton's futuristic landscape is beautiful yet eerie, with specific detail to facial expressions of the characters. The way he uses shading to making shadows add another layer to everything is also amazing. Cornell's writing complements the art perfectly, with very wholehearted dialogue between his characters. Vamirella herself is no exception either, deducing clues, while being strong and confident. I can't wait to read what happens next! Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    The Fandom Post - Chris Beveridge Feb 1, 2017

    I really like the character of Vampirella and this method of moving her (possibly) far into the future to explore her in a new place is welcome. Cornell has a bit of a slow build approach to it here and it takes a few pages to get into sync with it after the other recent series but it comes together well and even better on a second read through. Broxton's work is solid here with some great color design and I love the flow of the panels, especially the descent and discovery underground. What this book does is leave me really curious as to the truth of it, the reality of the world as it stands, and what happened to Vampirella to put her where she is at the start of this. And that has me excited to see what's to come. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    SciFiPulse - Patrick Hayes Feb 21, 2017

    Many unanswered questions, cool retro visuals, and a price that cannot be beat make this a book to find. I'm on board for the regular series, Dynamite. Give me more! And do more "introductory priced" issues for other series! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Geek-O-Rama - David Doub Feb 7, 2017

    Ultimately while it's 25 cents and little risk to try it out, it's totally designed to make you want to try out the first full issue. But as I stated above, I'm leery of trying another Vampirella book less she's rebooted again 6 months later Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny "The Machine" Hughes Feb 1, 2017

    Vampirella is one of the most controversial comic book characters around. Whether its her sensuality or her costume or her vivaciousness it seems that no-one really knows what to do with her or how to successfully make a go of an ongoing series. Even this time around, there is another costume change coming. Still, at least with Cornell and Broxton on the books, there is a chance that this book will have a distinctive look. Now if you excuse me, I need to find a recipe for grilled chapeau and cheese. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Weird Science - Jim Werner Mar 18, 2017

    On the whole, then, this issue does its job very well. As a prologue to the main series, it gives the reader enough detail about the new world in which Vampirella finds herself to encourage further reading. It also introduces the character clearly and sets her moving without too much pointless introspection. In short, it certainly is an involving story in its own right and, at only a quarter, is well worth a punt. Read Full Review

  • 7.4
    Multiversity Comics - Ken Godberson III Feb 2, 2017

    A really good introduction for this new(?) incarnation of the character. Read Full Review

  • 6.8
    Word Of The Nerd - Brent Jackson Feb 1, 2017

    Conclusion:Vampirella #0 is a very good issue. It has some great art and the story keeps the reader interested and engaged. I really still am not certain what exactly is happening in this issue besides the future plot and still have no clue who or what Vampirella is but Cornell did his job and has made me want to at least read the #1 issue when it is released to get some answers. This seems like a good start for a new Vampirella series and for me at least I plan to stick with it as long as the old skimpy costume does not rear its ugly head too often. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    All-Comic - Matthew Strackbein Feb 1, 2017

    However, with a title like Vampirella, making a nice and neat story wont be enough. This comic will have a lot to live up to and its going to be important for the creators to rise to the challenge. Vampirella has always been a blend of genres: horror, fantasy, and science fiction and so heres hoping Dynamite, Paul Cornell and Jimmy Broxton give as much content as possible to stay true to the essence of the character and her franchise while also breathing new life into Vampirella. So far, were off to a good start. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Chris Tresson Feb 1, 2017

    Overall, I think there's enough here to justify spending $.25 on it. If you don't like the character you can't really complain about taking a chance on the book for the price that it is and you might possibly want to continue reading it. I think I will give it a few more issues, maybe three or so, just to see if I can get into it. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Newsarama - Justin Partridge Feb 2, 2017

    Though it gives little impression of what the actual story is going to be about Vampirella #0 still attempts something new without saying much at all. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Gizmo Feb 5, 2017

    I have no idea what is going on, I assume this will make more sense later. The art looks good though, it's well suited to Vampirella. The book with the alternate versions that Vampirella has appeared in was a nice touch. You certainly can't beat this price tag.

    + LikeComments (6)
  • 8.0
    aimanalphaz Feb 1, 2017

  • 6.5
    Superior fan Apr 12, 2017

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More