Revolutionaries #1

Revolutionaries #1

Writer: John Barber Artist: Fico Ossio Publisher: IDW Publishing Release Date: January 18, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 6 User Reviews: 2
5.9Critic Rating
6.0User Rating

+ Pull List

THE REVOLUTION MAY BE OVER--but the future is just beginning! Ripped from the pages of the hottest crossover of the year, the REVOLUTION team of John Barber and Fico Ossio continue the action! KUP is a CYBERTRONIAN literally older than the universe; ACTION MAN is the ultimate special agent trying to live up to an impossible legacy; MAYDAY is a G.I. JOE leader trying to rescue her first command; and BLACKROCK is a CYBERTRONIAN that thinks he's a human. It takes the mind-bending clash of ROM versus MAJOR BLUDD and the OKTOBER GUARD to bring this unlikely team together... and the secret they learn threatens to unravel the entire universe.
&b more

  • 7.5
    Multiversity Comics - Alexander Jones Jan 23, 2017

    Barber and Ossio's second try at expanding the Hasbro Universe is the charm! Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics: The Gathering - TalkNerdy2Me Jan 18, 2017

    I will say that for my particular tastes, the art is the best part of the book. The opening and closing pages were my favorites, particularly the image of Action Man in a space suit marooned on a frozen world with nothing but the ruins of a Cobra landing site. Anyone who’s seen “The Martian” will have an added appreciation for his terror, and Ossio conveyed it brilliantly on the poor guy’s face. I also dug the sheer reflectivity of the face shield on his space helmet - Ossio and Cheng used pen and ink to make it *shine*. All in all, this is a better-than-average read for fans of G.I. Joe, Transformers, or Halo-style space marine video games. Read Full Review

  • 6.8
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Jan 19, 2017

    While multiple IDW books are taking advantage of the Hasbro shared universe, Revolutionaries is the place to go for maximum crossover fun. Perhaps a little too much fun. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Anthony Wendel Jan 17, 2017

    This issue feels like a breakneck rollercoaster, but in a very bad way. There still is a lot of potential for exploration of different stories with the combined elements of the Transformers, G.I. Joe, Action Man, and Rom the Space Knight mythologies behind it. Hopefully later issues will help get this series on track but for now it's not the best foot forward in exploring this new world. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Big Comic Page - Craig Neilson-Adams Jan 18, 2017

    Ultimately then, in spite of the strength of its premise, Revolutionaries is completely and utterly suffocated by its reliance on exposition and its dangerous overcrowding, with what should be a fairly straightforward first issue ending up as a bloated, jumbled mess as Barber struggles to keep all his plates spinning at once.  Its not unreasonable to predict that things may pick up once the series is given a little time to breathe, but for now, there are far better Revolution-based titles on IDWs slate for you to throw your money at. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Geek-O-Rama - Rick Jan 26, 2017

    So heres the deal: if youve been following Action Man, Transformers, G.I. Joe, and all the other storylines involved, you might get a kick out of seeing them duke it out in this frenetic mash-up. I have not, and was left scratching my head. Reading this comic felt like taking a mid-term exam I hadnt studied for, and I find that annoying. Read Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More