Five Ghosts #7

Five Ghosts #7

Writer: Frank J. Barbiere Artist: Chris Mooneyham Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: November 27, 2013 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 7 User Reviews: 1
8.2Critic Rating
8.0User Rating

An all-new pulp adventure begins here!

  • 9.0
    Comic Book Resources - Jim Johnson Nov 27, 2013

    "Five Ghosts" #7 is a pleasantly eclectic and nicely-constructed issue that plays especially to fans of pulpy-style adventures, but can all-too-readily be enjoyed by others, as well. This series has already won awards, and for good reason; great writing, attractive art, an appealing idea and a unique mix of styles make this comic difficult to ignore. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Rhymes With Geek - Matt Fisher Dec 3, 2013

    If you were ever a fan of something like Indian Jones, Brisco County Jr., or novels in the vein of Burroughs, Bradburry, or Abernathy then this is a comic specifically for you. The premise is awesome, the action is well-paced, and the dialog doesnt leave you deciphering subtext. In a world where were forced to choose either hyper-reality or total weirdness in our comics, its nice to just go on a fantasy adventure with a hero who we admire but also would not allow near our sisters. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Bloody Disgusting - Jimbus_Christ Nov 27, 2013

    It should also be noted that Barbieres pulp bro Fabain Rangel Jr and Ryan Cody have a fantastic Doc Unknown backup in this issue. Rangel does a fantastic job at quickly introducing his protagonist for the uninitiated. Codys art is clean and echoes Bruce Timms work on Batman: The Animated Series. The story kicks into high gear almost immediately and serves as the perfect pulp dessert after the main course. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Bastards - James Anders II Nov 27, 2013

    It looks like Fabian will be hitting the high seas in search of "The Island of Dreams", and I for one am looking forward to setting sail with him. All aboard Mateys. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    GoCollect - @UrbanRemnant Nov 26, 2013

    I enjoyed reading "Five Ghosts #7." Frank J. Barbiere and Chris Mooneyham have created a pulp hero who has a burden to bear and his own demons to overcome. Perhaps a lost Fabian Gray will one day be found. I'll come along for the voyage. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Newsarama - Forrest C. Helvie Dec 2, 2013

    Overall, this issue runs a fast pace and leaves readers with many questions as it sets up the second story arc for the series, but this doesn't hamper readers from enjoying the story. How does Fabian find himself lost at sea? What did Jezebel find in the safe? Was that a dreamstone necklace she gave away, and why didn't Fabian notice this? Hopefully, we'll find out some of the answers to these question next issue! Read Full Review

  • 7.6
    Geeked Out Nation - Philip Suson Nov 27, 2013

    Overall this is a good comic. If the premise seems intriguing to you then definitely check out the comic now as this is a great place to start. The art may not be to your liking if you prefer a realistic, non cartoony look. It suits the tone of the story so this reviewer had no problems with it. The story may have issues, but give this a shot, you never know where the story might go. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    GreyMouser Dec 12, 2013

    We get a fresh return with improved art, better writing and a new arc. The prologue looks great, but its a bit odd. i thought this issue was burdened with too much jabber, but the characters and dialog are good. This may put 5ghosts back on my pull list.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...