Goners #1

Goners #1

Writer: Jacob Semahn Artist: Jorge Corona Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: October 22, 2014 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 18 User Reviews: 4
7.3Critic Rating
7.1User Rating

"WE ALL FALL DOWN," Part One From the colonization of Roanoke to the Cold War, the world famous Latimer Family has been humanity's lone defense against paranormal horrors for centuries...until tonight. A deadly assault on the lineage forces an unprepared brother and sister to solve their parents' murder while trying to escape the grim landscape of horrors that stalk the children themselves.

  • 9.0
    Unleash The Fanboy - Eric Bridges Oct 21, 2014

    Goners is a great start and interesting concept that shines. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Stash My Comics - Leo Johnson Oct 22, 2014

    Goners is exactly the sort of comic I enjoy seeing from Image: a team of not-so-well-known creators that are obviously making a book that they love dearly. The love shows through in this issue as it delivers a heck of an opening and grabs the reader in a big way. Fans of Monster Squad and Johnny Quest should find more than enough to love in this first issue and surely even more to love as the story continues. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Big Glasgow Comic Page - Morven MacAskill Oct 18, 2014

    An exciting start for a new comic. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Coming Up Comics - David Melton Oct 21, 2014

    The best thing about this comic is, as you're reading, you can tell how much fun these two creators are having, and they quickly include you in on the party. Semahn has promised that the story gets far crazier after this point and, after you read it, you'll be excited to see where they'll go with it. Read Full Review

  • 8.2
    The Latest Pull - John Coolen Oct 22, 2014

    For the series' first issue, "Goners" puts a lot out on the table. It introduces you to a cast of characters without delving too deep into any specific one, which is a task almost impossible to master. While at the same time, it keeps us constantly entertained with its action and art style. "Goners" definitely has the spirit to be a great addition to the genre and certainly has the guts to keep us reading. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Big Comic Page - Ross Sweeney Oct 22, 2014

    There's a lot of fun ideas being tossed about in this book, and honestly" do you remember the first time you watched an episode of Scooby Doo? This'll give you that precise vibe " it's fun, it's engaging, it's beautifully drawn and I for one am excited to see where it goes from here. One to add to the pull list, certainly. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Vine - Gregg Katzman Oct 22, 2014

    GONERS #1's fast-paced story means you probably won't establish an emotional connection to the characters or developments just yet, but odds are it'll leave you asking plenty of questions and have you more than interested enough to see what'll unfold. Plus, Corona and Cassata's visuals? Pure happiness. What ensues may have plenty of violence and darkness, but their work makes it all fun and so animated. The story has my curiosity, but the visuals have me hooked. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    AiPT! - Jordan Richards Oct 22, 2014

    Goners #1 isn't a bad start for this new series. There's an interesting story with plenty of potential. The problems are that there isn't much in the way of setup or characterization and the art style could be more congruous. I say give it a look after the second issue hits. Give it some time to develop we may be looking a real gem here. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book Resources - Doug Zawisza Oct 22, 2014

    My initial thoughts on seeing the cover to "Goners" #1 was, "Great. Another zombie book." If there's one thing this adventure from Semahn and Corona is, it is not another zombie book. This first issue is an action-packed thriller that establishes a world where magic held sway. That sway shifts and now the real story can be told as readers learn about the world inhabited by the Latimers, the bakaaks they are attacked by and the unknown mysteries Raleigh and Evelyn were pursuing. Image has another sneaky fun hit on the stands with "Goners" #1, and they start it off right, with action, adventure and mystery. Worlds will be built around that, but for now this is the core of this series and Zoe and Josiah are relatable point of view characters to guide readers through those introductions. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Oct 23, 2014

    Visually, this series takes the Locke & Key approach with its stylized, vaguely cartoony character designs. It's an interesting look that does more than anything else to distinguish Goners right now. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Inter-Comics Podcast - Mathew R Wilmot Oct 26, 2014

    As a whole package Goners #1 is a fun and exciting first issue, severalelements coming together a make a great looking book with an interesting story behind it all. As the series progresses there is no doubt that the team will gel together and tighten up so when they hit those big issues there is a real impact and something rather special happening on the page. Anyone looking to pick up a horror book that feels different to the others that are already on the shelves would be wise to give this series a try. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    Multiversity Comics - Cassandra Clarke Sep 19, 2014

    While I hope that the later issues do provide more of a background to this "beginning of time" family of protectors, it is not a poor start. If anything, it is a loud, and engaging start to a tale, raising an important question: how can families stick together when and if they are really the only family that's ever kept the rest of the world together and therefore the only people capable of fixing our hellbent world? It's one that has me dying to know how the creators will tackle it its upcoming issues. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    Rhymes With Geek - J. Reifler Oct 21, 2014

    Goners #1 wasn't terrible but didn't really resonate with me as much as I had expected. I had heard a lot of positive things from other reviewers who had seen early copies and perhaps my expectations were a bit too high. The overall premise is there and I'll stick around for another issue or so to see what happens. But this is not a 'must read' so far and unless something dramatically changes I can't be certain it's going to be the next Image series on my pull-list. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Crusaders - Matt Deery Oct 20, 2014

    Overall Goners is a fun book, it sets up the world nicely and Carona's art throughout the issue is fantastic. However, I feel that there is something missing from making this a truly great book, Semahn sets up an interesting mystery in this first issue and I hope it is enough to see the book through. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    All-Comic - Ian Stephen Oct 20, 2014

    Goners' first issue was an intense but fun read. It was nice to get a first issue that didn't feel like a typical set up but also wasn't a confusing mess. Because of that, it is hard to judge The Goners by just this first issue. Yes, it's hard and unfair to judge an series off of the first issue, but Goners is harder than most. It certainly made a big enough impact to make me want to check on the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Nina Bird Oct 22, 2014

    Professional hunters of supernatural creatures is not exactly a new concept, but the Latimers have their own reality show, which is pretty on point. Ghost Hunters, anyone? I find the storyline much more interesting with its focus on the children, rather than tortured, brooding semi-adults who angst over bottled-up feelings. You know what I'm talking about. Zoe and Josiah are 17 and 12 respectively, and though we don't know them well yet, we've seen a couple flashbacks with Zoe and her mom, and a couple moments with Josiah suggest he may be a genius-type: he's tinkering with a toaster when he's introduced, and later we see his method of pulling a name out of his memory. Between these kids, the Bakaak, and this mysterious enchantment, I'm intrigued, and I'll keep reading. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comics: The Gathering - F-O-R-R-E-S-T Oct 23, 2014

    It's always hard to judge a first issue, especially so, when it's one that relies heavily on establishing a mystery. Ultimately, you won't be blown away by Goners, and you may want to wait til the second or third issue to hop on, but there is a real potential here for a good story. It just needs to decide if it's here or there, not somewhere inbetween. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Florida Geek Scene - Peter Schmeiser Nov 18, 2014

    The artwork for Goners was guide good with great character design and monster elements. The use if the camera was creative and the coloring didn't stray into a muddy and dark character that most horror books favor.I cant say I'm looking forward to issue two since issue one didn't really reward my reading efforts with anything I was amused about, so I might try this book again in trade. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    ACE Feb 8, 2015

    LOVED it.

  • 7.5
    Soyner Oct 25, 2014

    This was a bumpy ride. Unfortunately I'm talking more about bad transitions, confusing dialog and shallow character development. BUT I will say I loved the look of the sharp edged art direction and the possibility that things may improve in future issues. Too bad I probably won't read them because this issue never pulled me in like it potentially could have.

  • 7.0
    Jon-C17 Nov 6, 2014

    Enjoyed the coloring and art style. Filled with action and has potential, but the dialogue held it back. It will be something to follow depending on how issue #2 goes, I'm not sold on this yet.

  • 5.0
    Gizmo Oct 24, 2014

    This didn't really do anything for me. The premise is loosely explained so I'm not really grasping what's really at stake. I also haven't connected with the characters so I'm pretty indifferent as to what what the goolies want with them.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...