I Hate Fairyland #9

I Hate Fairyland #9

Writer: Skottie Young Artist: Skottie Young Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: September 21, 2016 Cover Price: $3.50 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 6
8.0Critic Rating
8.1User Rating

+ Pull List

"SPLAT IN THE HAT"
There's something wrong inside Larry's bowler hat and Gert must go inside to UN-FLUFF things.

  • 9.0
    PopnComics - Tim Montoya Oct 2, 2016

    I Hate Fairyland is everything you love about Pop-Culture references, blatantly obvious innuendos, and the most adorably demented art you can find. I am convinced that this needs to be turned into an adult cartoon and become a wild hit. Skottie Young has turned what I thought would be a short run of fun into a sprawling adventure that I keep coming back to for a great laugh. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    We The Nerdy - Chad Waller Sep 21, 2016

    But damn, I do not want this to be the direction this comic goes in. A five-issue arc? Fine. Lets take some breathing room and just fluff about, but without agency, this comic loses a great deal of what makes it great. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Gizmo Oct 2, 2016

    Another self contained story, this one is good, I love the poker game and all the crazy stuff inside the hat, but I'd like to see some sort of ongoing narrative pick up again.

  • 6.5
    Marvelrock Sep 27, 2016

    The art is great as always and most of the creatures/characters and creature/character designs are pretty great. There is also some nice action/violence. However, I am growing increasingly disappointed with respect to where this series is, or isn't, going. There is no overall series plot or story arc that keeps me interested in finding out what happens next or keeps me wanting more. Even this short, issue-contained story isn't compelling, especially as there is never any legitimate conflict or tension. Speaking of which, there are a couple instances in this issue where Gert seems to be afraid of dying, but by now, the reader is pretty certain that Gert can't die, and it seems like a waste of time to even hint that Gert is ever in some kind of danger. Rather than being story centric, the series continues to depend on "clever" ideas, gags, jokes and satire to entertain; however, I feel as though even these jokes are largely becoming trite and a bit lazy. I mean, we get it, Gert is an adorable-looking asshole and famously PG characters and themes suddenly have an edge or a dark side. While this particular issue on it's own isn't bad, I am close to losing faith that this series will continue to motivate me to purchase more and more issues as it seems to have already presented the best it has to offer.

  • 10
    Veido Sep 26, 2016

  • 8.0
    Seren Sep 22, 2016

  • 8.0
    Gunnarthehuman Sep 25, 2016

  • 7.5
    CraigR Sep 26, 2016

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

7th

November

More