Masterplasty One-Shot #1

Masterplasty One-Shot #1

Writer: James Harvey Artist: James Harvey Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: October 1, 2014 Cover Price: $5.99 Critic Reviews: 5 User Reviews: 1
8.1Critic Rating
8.0User Rating

"A MODERN CLASSIC" - Ronald Wimberly, Prince of Cats, Black Dynamite.

A young man decides to leave his college girlfriend after getting a new medical technique which drastically modifies the physical appearance of the human body in ways both beautiful and hideous. Will changing the outside change what's within?

The cult online comic is finally available in print. The print debut of UK writer/artist JAMES HARVEY, beautifully illustrated in the tradition of Jamie Hewlett and Katsuhiro Otomo.

  • 10
    AiPT! - David Brooke Sep 30, 2014

    This is a feast for the eyes wrapped in a cautionary tale that's relevant in today's society. To cap it all off there are two backup stories that are bizarre and interesting in their own right. A must buy for indie fans and anyone interested in the weird. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Coming Up Comics - David Melton Sep 30, 2014

    You will have a blast reading this one-shot. James Harvey has made himself a fan for life as now I must go pick up everything he's ever done. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comics: The Gathering - louis whiteford Oct 3, 2014

    Masterplasy is amazing. Art nerds should read this. David Cronenberg fans should read this. Comics are truly a visual medium and Masterplasty is one hell of an object d'arte. There's pages full of sketches, a Q&A with creator James Harvey, and a couple short stories in the back. All for six bucks! It's one for the ages. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    All-Comic - Dan Pennacchia Oct 2, 2014

    Harveys visual style is rather unique. Not only does Harvey have a distinct voice in how he renders his characters, but also the books format itself is a step away from the traditional comic book from a hand-lettered panel depicting an email to the panel layouts and the varying art techniques. At times the book looks very modern, and other panels borrow from pop art. What is most impressive is how effortlessly it appears to work. Harveys choices, when looked at individually, sound as though they could challenge and turn readers away. But when it all comes together, Masterplasty is a fantastic debut. Read Full Review

  • 4.3
    Big Glasgow Comic Page - Erik Guenther Sep 30, 2014

    Creative short tale with unusual visuals. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Soyner Oct 6, 2014

    Excuse me, I believe I ordered the large comic. Holy. Cow. This issue is obnoxiously huge. But I guess that's the point. Luckily, the inside contents are worth having to wrangle the enormous pages to read. The idea of Masterpasty is finding a way to change your entire look. The story tells the tale in an entertaining manner while even learning a lesson or two. If you can hunt it down, give it a try. (The comic. Not the Masterpasty operation.)

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...