Shuddertown #1

Shuddertown #1

Writer: Nick Spencer Artist: Adam Geen Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: March 24, 2010 Cover Price: $3.50 Critic Reviews: 4
6.2Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

The dead are killing, and troubled homicide cop Isaac Hernandez is on a desperate search for answers. His investigation leads him deep into the corridors of the Shuddertown housing projects, and towards a truth too terrible to face. TAG: A STORY OF GUILT, REDEMPTION, AND RESURRECTION; PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE WIRE, MULHOLLAND DRIVE AND SE7EN.

  • 9.0
    Comic Book Resources - Chad Nevett Mar 29, 2010

    The pacing of the first issue is somewhat relaxed and dreamlike. Hernandez seems to drift through it in a daze of pills and mental problems. Is he responsible for the deaths he's investigating? Is he even fit to be a cop? Is he lying to us? "Shuddertown" #1 is a comic that requires close reading and attention and, hopefully, will pay off big time over the course of the series. Nick Spencer continues to be a writer worth watching and Adam Geen makes a great impression here. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicList - Brandon Borzelli Mar 7, 2010

    This is not a comic book for everyone. The story moves quickly and threatens to leave you behind if you don't pay close attention. The characters in the story aren't supposed to be your stereotypical heroes and villains. Everyone in here is some shade of gray. The plot isn't the driving factor in the story, but the character's behavior is essential in telling the story. Many of these elements make up the modern look for crime noir comic books as seen in Brubaker's Criminal. This is a comic book trying to test those boundaries and the first issue a good start. If you like crime dramas where characters aren't the best role models then this is the comic book for you. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    IGN - Dan Phillips Mar 24, 2010

    Even with its unreliable narrator, Shuddertown might have kept my attention and had me back for seconds had it not derailed so spectacularly. As it was, the book only needed to give me one good excuse not to stick around and wait for the other shoe to drop. It gave me several. Read Full Review

  • 3.0
    Major Spoilers - Scott Hunter Mar 30, 2010

    All in all, I can't recommend this book. The premise is interesting but the book is too padded and, at times, random and confusing. The art tends to add the opposite of clarity and I can't say I bear it any love. Worst of all, the main character is a dud. The ending, which sees him in peril, has no effect on me because I feel no connection to him and thus just don't care. I'm afraid that I can only give this book one and a half stars out of five, and I must say that my first outing with Image has not been a particularly pleasant one. Although I'm sure they produce some good books, this isn't one of them. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...