Amazing Spider-Man #655

Amazing Spider-Man #655

Writer: Dan Slott Artist: Marcos Martin Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: February 23, 2011 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 6
9.4Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

NO ONE DIES PART 1 As the fallout of recent events continues to rock Peter Parker's world, he makes a choice-- a promise-- that even he might not be able to fulfill...

  • 10
    Comic Book Resources - Doug Zawisza Feb 23, 2011

    This issue ends with a Spidey-appropriate cliffhanger, and the introduction of a new villain: Massacre. I didn't realize it while I was reading it, but towards the end of this issue, I was holding my breath, and it came rushing out as I flipped the last page over to the letter column. Truly, Dan Slott and Marcos Martin have provided a breathtaking (literally) emotional and entertaining issue of "Amazing Spider-Man." I'm happy to say that with Slott onboard that appears to be par for the course. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Major Spoilers - Stephen Schleicher Feb 26, 2011

    I did drag my feet this week in picking up and reading the issue, and I'm kicking myself now. The Amazing Spider-Man continues to be a top notch book, and I don't think I'll be leaving the series anytime soon. The art is fantastic, and Slott's way with words (even when they aren't there) is amazing. It all comes together in a 5 Star book, making The Amazing Spider-Man a must buy book of the week. Read Full Review

  • 10
    cxPulp - Adam Chapman Feb 24, 2011

    Seriously, Dan Slott and Marcos Martin are comic book creator soulmates, as their work together surpasses their work with anyone else, in the vein of Brian Michael Bendis and Alex Maleev. This is a great issue, very enjoyable, with absolutely fantastic artwork and writing. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Dean Stell Feb 23, 2011

    Stick this issue off to the side because it should be on a LOT of “Best Single Issue of 2011″ lists and it is going to highly piss me off when those lists are all comprised of issues that came out in November that can't carry this issue's jock strap just because people have short memories and don't keep notes. Slott and Martin have collaborated to make an issue that is emotionally touching and drills right to the center of who Peter Parker is. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    IGN - Feb 23, 2011

    The ending of the issue, despite it being Part 1 of 2, brings the book full circle and makes it feel complete. It ends on a rather inspirational note that Slott renders moot almost immediately, sending Peter right back into the vicious cycle of power and responsibility that he'll never fully be able to manage without guilt. Amazing Spider-Man #655 is the all-too-rare issue that isn't afraid to turn away from the expected one-liners and witty banter. Slott takes a serious look at Spider-Man's effect on those around him and winds up knocking it out of the park completely. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Eye On Comics - Don MacPherson Mar 8, 2011

    As strong as the story is, the real attraction in this issue stems from Marcos Martin's stunning artwork. While maintaining his own unique style throughout the book, he continues to pay tribute to the art of the original Amazing Spidey artist Steve Ditko. Martin's inventive panel layouts and slightly surreal leanings are perfect for this script, as much of the action unfolds in a dream. When it comes to the figures, Martin has always employed a simpler approach, but that doesn't interfere with his ability to convey the characters' emotions. The stoic, detached look on Jonah's face is incredibly effective at conveying a man who's struggling to deal with his pain while also maintaining his facade of strength and determination. Aside from a couple of confusing, inaccessible elements in the script, this stands out as one of the best Spidey comics to be released in some time. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...