Avengers: The Enemy Within #1

Avengers: The Enemy Within #1

Event\Storyline: The Enemy Within Writer: Kelly Sue DeConnick Artist: Scott Hepburn Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: May 15, 2013 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 13 User Reviews: 4
7.5Critic Rating
7.4User Rating

Can't keep a good Captain down! Vicious echoes of the Avengers' past are cropping up all over Manhattan...and a grounded Captain Marvel refuses to be left behind. Who is the sinister figure behind these incursions and what does it have to do with Carol Danvers' mysterious condition? But is this villain real or just a figment of Captain Marvel's increasingly deadly imagination?

  • 10
    Comic Vine - Jen 'Miss J' Aprahamian May 15, 2013

    The dialogue is smart, there's no shortage of action (or dinosaurs!), and the mystery of the villain behind Carol's current predicament is intriguing. I'm fascinated by stories that look at the destructive sides of superpowers, and I can't wait to see how Captain Marvel is able to get past both the villains outside and the enemy within her own brain. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Behind The Panels - Richard Gray May 16, 2013

    More than anything, this first issue demonstrates DeConnick's continuing ability to bring humanity to the superhuman. It may be very much the first chapter in a larger story, but it is one that encourages us to want to spend a little more time with these characters. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comicosity - Jessica Boyd May 15, 2013

    It's clear this issue is laying a lot of groundwork for those who have not been following the Captain Marvel series. DeConnick's signature humor keeps Carol's irksome circumstances from overwhelming the situation. DeConnick also does a great job of showing how much Carol cares for her friends, whom are targets or threatened by just simply knowing her. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    AiPT! - David Brooke May 15, 2013

    Chock it up to a story that's intended to be read in 5 parts, but this issue was a bit unbalanced for my tastes. Of course when collected I wouldn't be surprised if it's perfect. Aside from that this is a very strong issue that focuses on character and lets the rest ride. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    The Pop Cultist - Josh Elliott May 15, 2013

    With DeConnick at the helm, you can bet this will be a funny, heartfelt and human event that will have a lasting effect on Carol Danvers. What more could you ask for out of a crossover event? Read Full Review

  • 8.1
    IGN - Benjamin Bailey May 15, 2013

    Scott Hepburn handles art for this issue, and he gives us some really strong and detailed pages. Every page feels fully loaded, packed to the edges with gorgeous artwork. The action looks awesome and the dinosaurs (yes, there are dinosaurs) are a thing of beauty. There are a few hiccups, mostly in the character's faces, where things look a little off, but it's never bad enough to slow you down. This is a fun comic to read and a snazzy one to gaze upon. It might be unnecessary, but it's clear that DeConnick and Hepburn are giving it their all. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comics: The Gathering - kanchilr1 May 15, 2013

    Captain Marvel is on the cusp of one of the most important phases of her life. Writer Kelly Sue DeConnick respects the character so much that she made the important choice to let this storyline play out in five parts of the next month or so. With a rapidly paced shipping schedule and massive potential this is an issue that may not be amazing at this moment, but will likely payoff towards the end. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Resources - Doug Zawisza May 16, 2013

    Priced at $2.99, the lead-in chapter to a five-part crossover adventure opens the story nicely; giving readers everything they need without a hefty pricetag or mind-numbing amount of chapters yet to come. While this time of year hails in summer movies, "Avengers: The Enemy Within" #1 is a nice summer comic book, filled with a story that has gravity and emotion aplenty, but not at the sacrifice of character moments or action. DeConnick and Hepburn have given readers a strong entry point for a story that should boost the profile of "Captain Marvel" at least a little bit. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Marvel Disassembled - Magen Cubed May 15, 2013

    This book is an entertaining read, and while it's not a major concern for people unfamiliar with these titles, I do recommend it for fans of DeConnick and Captain Marvel. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Minhquan Nguyen May 17, 2013

    Loses points for being such an obvious money-grabber, but otherwise a solid chapter in Captain Marvel's greatest challenge since she took her new name. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Den Of Geek! - Marc Buxton May 19, 2013

    The art is another story. Scott Hepburn has a great design sense and unique eye for inventive layouts, but this is an Avengers book. This is the most mainstream of mainstream books, and while experimentation is always welcome, there's a segment of the superhero audience that may not take to something too experimental. The book is way too cartoony, and the mainstream fans that Marvel really wants to get on Captain Marvel will see the book and character as something alternative, a status that could doom it in a tough, and sometimes myopic, marketplace. The writing should be strong enough to keep readers engaged, and hopefully shining the spotlight on DeConnick's take on Carol Danvers will create some momentum on a generally solid title. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    CHUD - Jeb Delia Jun 1, 2013

    It's more or less par for the course to hope that a creator can use this sort of crossover with the A-team to attract new readers to a fringe title like Captain Marvel, so yeah, I'd like to see that happen. But I'd also like to see this crossover find a tone that doesn't swamp that book's virtues in a barrage of word balloons and snarky wisecracks. Read Full Review

  • 2.0
    Newsarama - David Pepose May 16, 2013

    Even with the Avengers name on the cover, this Captain Marvel story is one that you can probably skip. Read Full Review

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...