U.S.Avengers #1

U.S.Avengers #1

Writer: Al Ewing Artist: Paco Medina Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: January 4, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 17 User Reviews: 13
7.0Critic Rating
8.4User Rating

+ Pull List

In a world beset by danger, the United States of America needs a team of heroes they can rely on. Welcome to... American Intelligence Mechanics! A.I.M. will dare any danger - no matter how awesome that danger might be - to save their nation from the wildest, weirdest threats of all! The most patriotic super-group ever is here to save the day. And they'll do it all looking tried and true in the red, white & blue! Can you live without... the U.S.Avengers?
Rated T+

  • 10
    SciFiPulse - Patrick Hayes Jan 5, 2017

    This is the first superhero book from Marvel that has thrilled me in several years. If this is the future of Marvel, I'm all on board. This is my highest possible recommendation of the week. Find one and experience the joy of what comic book heroics should be. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    AiPT! - David Brooke Jan 4, 2017

    U.S.Avengers #1 is a rip roaring good time. There are plenty of new characters, action, and interesting dynamics to enjoy that'll make you want more! Above all else, this series appears to be laying the groundwork of what it means to be American and the very definition is fluid and compelling. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Graphic Policy - Joe Ryan Jan 4, 2017

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes the sillier side of comic books (and obviously fans of New Avengers as it has a similar tone), but also wants a team that can actually hang with the big boys. They have some real firepower here, and I can't wait to see what kind of mission our red, white, and blue heroes go on. I think this is an important comic for an important time in our country, especially with how Marvel is choosing to take Captain America at the moment. It shows that you can be patriotic to your nation, no matter what side your views, background, or ethnicity is. Read Full Review

  • 8.2
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Jan 4, 2017

    U.S.Avengers #1 doesn't break a lot of new ground when it comes to establishing a superhero team. But if the plot here is straightforward, the book still stands out thanks to a combination of lovable patriotic excess and its celebration of American ideals. Fans of Ewing and Medina's previous New Avengers comic should feel right at home despite the new status quo. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Newsarama - Justin Partridge Jan 5, 2017

    It is always cool to see a creative team find their niche and with the debut of U.S.Avengers #1, I think its safe to say that Ewing and company have found theirs in daffy, fun, and character focused team books. Standing a solidly entertaining, but unexpectedly presented debut, this first issue keeps Ewing’s overall direction for Roberto and his team on track and better still, keeps evolving the team beyond their debut selves. Adding dynamism and heart to the proceedings are Paco Medina, Juan Vlasco, and Jesus Aburtov, all of whom match the script beat for beat while making it their own. Sunspot and his team may now be working for the government but U.S.Avengers #1 shows that they are all still the same beautifully heroic misfits that readers responded to in the first place. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Kabooooom - Brandon Griffin Jan 6, 2017

    U.S.Avengers is off to a good start. The usual Marvel skeptics should be pleasantly surprised at how much fun they have with this one. DC Rebirth's success has forced Marvel to step up their game and this book is a perfect example of that. It's Marvel focusing on what separates them from DC and showcasing their strengths. Al Ewing and company deliver a wonderful introduction. This may just find itself at the top of my Pull List next time. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Major Spoilers - Matthew Peterson Jan 7, 2017

    An unlikely team, an unlikely premise and a forsaken Hulk come together to make something pretty wonderful... Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    All-Comic - Jeremy Matcho Jan 7, 2017

    U.S.Avengers was a bit of a surprise. This may seem like a book that you could easily pass over due to the lack of star power on the team, but it is a very good start to the series. Well written characters and a creative way to introduce them to the audience is what sets this book apart from other generic titles on the shelf. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Fortress of Solitude - Rick Austin Jan 10, 2017

    There's lots of potential here, and the assortment of characters is reminiscent of Exiles or Runaways, allowing for fun, excitement and hard-hitting drama. Unfortunately, that's also one of the problems here, because it isn't made clear what the actual tone of this series is. It seems lighthearted, which is always welcome, but there's a strangely uneven tone to it. Read Full Review

  • 7.6
    Heroes Direct - Adam Fitch Jan 4, 2017

    We expect this to be an extremely patriotic series, perhaps overly so to the point where it's ridiculous, but hopefully that's a source of fun. We're fine with tuning in every month if they give us a reason to, hopefully there's plenty of them. The action we've seen so far has been limited but the core roster promises plenty. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comicosity - Allen Thomas Jan 4, 2017

    U.S.Avengers is a series that may need some time to build. Theres just enough there with the cast of characters, but maybe not enough of what it needs. I like some of the setup, especially that this title may be more prone to keeping up appearances, but it also could have gone further with more diverse characters. It may be worth a shot, though I could also understand why some readers may not be riveted by this first story. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Noah Sharma Jan 10, 2017

    Objectively, U.S.Avengers #1 is a solid book that will appeal to people who like the New Mutants, reasonable conservative authority figures, or queer Iron Patiots and multi-racial Captain Americas. The first issue is really more of an introduction than an adventure you'll remember forever, but the character work is superb, even if the plot is a little light.It's a workmanlike production that leans heavily into some of the most interesting ideas that superheroes play with and gives a spotlight to some great characters, but in the world it was published in, it becomes something pretty special. Ewing and co. make a fantastic statement about America without obnoxious preaching and set the stage for some big, awesome adventures. So while the issue has some minor flaws, it's one that I can whole-heartedly recommend you try. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    411Mania - Sankalp G. Jan 5, 2017

    This issue did a fine job of setting up the series. The main problem are heroes with same names or powers takes away a chunk of the rating. Art is good enough to carry reader through non-action panels. Read Full Review

  • 5.1
    Multiversity Comics - Alice W. Castle Jan 5, 2017

    There's enough talent here that this title could become something genuinely good with a solid follow up, but this wasn't the debut this team deserved. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Newsarama - Jake Baumgart Jan 5, 2017

    Despite the strength of the artist, U.S. Avengers doesn't fly very high on its first mission. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Ryan.L Jan 4, 2017

    This new Avengers book is off to a pretty rocky start. Maybe it will get better but there was just so much I wasn't able to buy into. I would suggest passing on this as there are way more great new books coming out. Read Full Review

  • 1.0
    Comic Crusaders - Dusty Good Jan 5, 2017

    This entire series has the look and feel of being unnecessary. Not since the days of Avengers: West Coast has an Avengers title struggled for relevancy right out of the gate. Read Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More