X-Men: Second Coming - Revelations: Hellbound #1

X-Men: Second Coming - Revelations: Hellbound #1

Writer: Christopher Yost Artist: Harvey Tolibao Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: May 5, 2010 Critic Reviews: 6
7.2Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

  • 9.0
    The Comic Addiction - Antony Ellis May 9, 2010

    Hellbound is a triumph of a first issue. Yost’s mix of virtuous and dark heroes is exciting and intriguing whilst Harvey Tolibao’s pencils benefit from the hellish theme. The inclusion of a cut-and-paste of Magik’s mini-series is a nice touch too. Tie-ins to big crossovers can often burn a reader with their obvious cash-in feel, but Hellbound is nothing like this and could be set to be the true gem of X-Men: Second Coming, especially for fans of Craig Kyle and Chris Yost’s New X-Men run. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Vine - Zack Freeman May 6, 2010

    I don't know what it is, but there was a deluge of great books this week, making up for all the duds I read last week. Yost, in particular, is on a roll between this and Red Robin. Even if you haven't been reading Second Coming (I haven't), I urge you to pick this book up. Sit back and enjoy Yost's amazing dialogue and characterization, and drink up Tolibao's stunning artwork. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    IGN - Bryan Joel May 5, 2010

    Hellbound #1 strikes me as a love letter to the X-Men diehards (which, admittedly, does include myself), featuring a left-field lineup and a heavy reliance on X-Men continuity. Casual readers who aren't interested in the intricacies of Illyana Rasputin's history and how it has affected other characters in recent years may not find a whole lot to latch onto here. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics Bulletin - Michael Deeley May 7, 2010

    This comic is more like a spin-off from New Mutants than the Second Coming crossover. The focus is looking for a fellow X-Man, not Hope. Relationships and events from New Mutants play important roles in this story. Even those of us who dont read that comic learn enough here to follow the story and enjoy it. The last page reveal of a villain whos unknown, yet familiar and imposing, is enough to bring me back next month. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Joe Lopez May 7, 2010

    While far from perfect, Hellbound does show promise of potential and at least doesn't feel like a cheap spin-off of the larger event. Great characterization and the return of some classic X-villains rarely seen in decades have convinced me to come back for the next issue. Worth a look. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Comic Book Resources - Greg McElhatton May 9, 2010

    "X-Men: Hellbound" is off to a slow start; with just three issues, there isn't too much time left to get to the meat of the matter. With yet another villain returning from the dead for the sake of a shock ending, let's hope there's a little more punch to the remaining chapters that make this worth it. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...