Amelia Cole #1

Amelia Cole #1

Writer: Adam P. Knave, D.J. Kirkbride Artist: Nick Brokenshire Publisher: Monkeybrain Comics Release Date: July 4, 2012 Critic Reviews: 4
6.5Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

  • 7.0
    Comics Bulletin - Jamil Scalese Jul 9, 2012

    Amelia Cole and the Unknown World is not as complicated as I'm letting on; it just could be. Right now it stars a very likeable and earnest lead character and world with a lot of trap doors. For two bucks it is well worth a peek, and if the Unknown aspects turn into something as magical as the power wielded by Amelia it will then warrant a longer look. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    CHUD - Jeb Delia Jul 13, 2012

    Still, for all of the flaws present, this is one damn likeable comic book. There's a kernel of earnestness here, and I think that the book would be well served by erring more toward that impulse than to the urge to be hip or cool. There is a lot of skill and potential on display here, as well as a bit of heart. If the creative team can bring a bit more passion and confidence to future issues of this series, I'll probably be able to quote another part of Gonzo's song, "I'd like to go back there someday." Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Newsarama - Lan Pitts Jul 9, 2012

    Having seen the previews for this book and I had hopes it would be something I'd rally for, but it was just overwhelming with all the otherworldly knowledge being tossed at you. Amelia Cole had unlimited potential to be a great read and something in the vein of Suburban Glamour, and I think could be with some slight trimming. There a great story here for any fan of the Harry Potter series, or even Vertigo's The Unwritten to appreciate and pick up. Here's hoping the sophomore issue holds up better because I want to be amazed. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Dustin Cabeal Jul 8, 2012

    This issue was a great tease, but honestly I'm more interested in the next issue. This, to me felt like a zero issue and it did what most zero issues do and that's entice you to come back the next month. I enjoyed Amelia's character because she wasn't perfect and was even a bit selfish at times. I was tiring of the magic genre, but I think this book has roped me back in. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...