Another Castle #1

Another Castle #1

Writer: Andrew Wheeler Artist: Paulina Ganucheau Publisher: Oni Press Release Date: March 2, 2016 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 11 User Reviews: 2
7.7Critic Rating
6.0User Rating

+ Pull List

Princess Misty of Beldora longs for a more exciting life, but gets more than she bargained for when she is captured by Lord Badlug, the ruler of the neighboring kingdom of Grimoire. He intends to marry her and conquer Beldora, leading the land into ruin and chaos. Together with the long-suffering citizens of Grimoire and a certain bumbling prince, Misty must fight to protect her kingdom and free both realms from Badlug's tyrannical rule.

  • 10
    Kabooooom - Matt Morrison Mar 3, 2016

    Another Castle #1 is not just a good send-up of a tired trope nor is it a brilliant bit of parody. It is a good comic, plain and simple. And you should be reading it and every issue to follow until the inevitable ever-loving ever after. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comicosity - Kelly Richards Mar 2, 2016

    Fun and fresh, Another Castle #1 is well deserving of this and any other praise the book generates. While it will undoubtedly appeal to fans of books like Zodiac Starforce and Patsy Walker AKA Hellcat, I would recommend taking a peak regardless of whether or not fairy tales and fantasy are what you would usually call your thing. It really is that good. With that said, I just have one question: is it too soon for me to start shipping Misty and Gorga? Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    AiPT! - Gregory Paul Silber Mar 4, 2016

    Another Castle #1 is refreshingly progressive, refreshingly kid-friendly, and most importantly, refreshingly fun. Buy this for a prince or princess in your life"just be sure to treat yourself to it first. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Graphic Policy - Ashley Leckwold Mar 4, 2016

    If youre intimidated by or are expecting a straight video game send up from Another Castle, you may be pleasantly surprised that while the first issue does have a fair amount of video game vibes, the story fits well along the line of women-centric fantasy comic books like Princeless, Princess Ugg and Rat Queens while still being its own thing. Wheeler and Ganucheau have created a bright and fun universe that is easy to get lost in and makes you root for your heroes right off the bat. No apologies here, the princess you seek is in Another Castle. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Pop Culture Uncovered - Ray W Mar 8, 2016

    Andrew Wheeler did a terrific job on this first issue. The dialog waswitty and fun and the storyhas an awesome heroine even if the villain and his nefarious plot arelittle cliche. Paulina Ganucheau captures the tone of the story perfectly with her art and colors. I really enjoyed reading this title, even though I just picked it up on a whim. Im definitely sticking around to see how this new series plays out in the end. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Doom Rocket - Arpad Lep Mar 4, 2016

    Her predicament is a rather effective way to get us to examine the tragedy of holding on to traditions without considering their impact in the real, modern world. It hurts to see Misty trapped in a role she hates because she is so much more than merely a princess. But then every one of us, monarch or marginalized, deserves a life of their own choosing. When both good and evil aim to use the same rules to come to power, it is time for those rules to change. This is the cornerstone of Another Castle, a beautiful argument that the old rules need no longer apply. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Newsarama - C.K. Stewart Mar 1, 2016

    Another Castle #1's final pages hint at more interesting stories in future issues, and the promise of more interaction with Misty and her kind-hearted kind-of-captors Gorga and Fogmoth can undoubtedly bring a great deal of charm and wit to the story at large. Another Castle isn't the strongest debut of the year, but it's still a solid introduction to what could be a charming and witty take on traditional princess tales " especially if we get more of Gorga and her pastry-loving hair. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    ComicWow!TV - Bhavna Bakshi Mar 15, 2016

    If you’re looking for some mild horror, a tale of heroism, and a good story, look no further. This series is going to be really interesting now that Artemisia has found her purpose for the next few issues. I can’t wait to see if she can save Grimoire and Beldora! If not, which will be spared, if any? Will Badlug take over both? Keep reading to find out! Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Steven Phillips Mar 2, 2016

    All that said — there's something here. The weak writing isn't straight-up bad. It just fails to bring any life to its premise. Instead this issue of Another Castle is being dragged behind beautiful art and the promise of a more involving set of adventures. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Book Resources - Jennifer Cheng Mar 7, 2016

    The exposition in "Another Castle" #1 is heavy-handed, and the feminist slant -- while well-intentioned -- doesn't have strong enough characterization and action to back it up. However, Fosmoth and Gorga are endearing enough that I'd read more issues just to see what Wheeler does with them. Read Full Review

  • 4.3
    Multiversity Comics - Matthew Garcia Mar 7, 2016

    We need more books like "Another Castle", books that push against conventions and try to broaden the comic book medium, both in terms of audience and genre. Books that have a strong message and disregard of the status quo. Unfortunately, we just don't see any of that in "Another Castle" #1. Read Full Review

  • 9.0 Mar 11, 2016

    This was a book that I was definitely going to check out, but I wasn’t sure if I was actually going to be as excited by it as I was. I love Paulina Ganucheau’s artwork, her work on Zodiac Starforce was quite impeccable, but Andrew Wheeler is an altogether unknown entity as a writer. He worked on the Marvel 75th anniversary special (which I did not read) so I didn’t really know what he is capable of, before I read this issue. but I love this story. I don’t know how I really feel about the main character, but she doesn’t seem to be the focus of the story so far- we get a lot more on the secondary characters, and the world that they inhabit, rather than focus too much on the damsel NOT in distress, who can save her own dang self if she so chooses. Which is an idea that I love, she’s no princess trapped in a castle, waiting on a fat, mustachioed plumber in overalls to pounce on turtles and mushrooms and save her. This is a book I think that would, as long as the content doesn’t skew any more adult going forward, be good reading for young female readers, because it is so very different than the typical story where Superman saves a woman from the bad guy and flies her around while she swoons over him (okay, so that’s a really dated reference to the character- but you get what I’m saying). This story seems to have a lot of weight behind it, and the world it is set in feels REALLY huge. I am wondering where things go from here, and I am very hopeful they will go in a positive direction. If you want something to appeal to a different sensibility of comic reader, or what to get someone who is a less traditional comic book reader (i.e.- young, female readers) then this is the book for you!

  • 3.0
    RedDiamondDame Mar 3, 2016

    First she's ready to kill him, then decides not to take the sword? She's whines and complains but does nothing to prove she knows better. This sounds like a dude who thinks he's a feminist when really he's a dude writing what he thinks will get him headlines. Total waste of my money! The art is pretty but inconsistent throughout.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...