Nemo: Heart of Ice #1

Nemo: Heart of Ice #1

Writer: Alan Moore Artist: Kevin O'Neil Publisher: Top Shelf Productions Release Date: February 27, 2013 Critic Reviews: 5
8.6Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

In the grim cold of February surfaces a thrilling new League of Extraordinary Gentlemen book - Nemo: Heart of Ice, a full-color 48-page adventure in the classic pulp tradition by the inestimable Alan Moore and Kevin O'Neill. It's 1925, fifteen long years since Janni Dakkar first tried to escape the legacy of her dying science-pirate father, only to accept her destiny as the new Nemo, captain of the legendary Nautilus. Now, tired of her unending spree of plunder and destruction, Janni launches a grand expedition to surpass her father's greatest failure: the exploration of Antarctica. Hot on her frozen trail are a trio of genius inventors, hired by the megalomaniacal Charles Foster Kane to retrieve the plundered valuables of an African queen. It's a deadly race to the bottom of the world - an uncharted land of wonder and horror where time is broken and the mountains bring madness.

  • 9.5
    Culture Mass - Brian Martin Apr 1, 2013

    Nemo: Heart of Ice is a chilling, accessible entry in the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen canon, and a must-read for fans of Lovecraft and Poe. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Book Resources - Nat Webb Mar 1, 2013

    "Nemo: Heart of Ice" meets every goal it sets for itself. It's a fun adventure story supported by a complex thematic weave. It truly does justice to the source material from which it draws, and to which it pays loving homage. In classic Alan Moore style, there are a few extras before and after the main story, and they give a nice depth to the characters while setting up possible plots for another "League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" tale or two. As long as Moore and O'Neill keep working at the level of "Nemo: Heart of Ice," stories of the League will be well worth reading. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Geeks Unleashed - Chris Romero Apr 25, 2013

    Moore's characters are each carefully crafted, and each represent a flaw of mankind; making this book a thought-provoking and a rattling read in terms of reflecting on human nature. Nemo: Heart of Iceis all about characterization, upon which Moore has built his League of Extraordinary Gentlemen franchise. O'Neill's artwork is compelling, and he further captures the story's elements of the bizarre with a couple of splash pages featuring monsters with man-feasting tentacles and human-sized penguins. With Nemo: Heart of Ice, Moore and O'Neill have once again demonstrated why they've maintained prominence and longevity in the comic industry, and why we love reading comics. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Hugo Robberts Lariviere Mar 4, 2013

    Nemo: Heart of Ice is a terrific book for fans of the series, as it continues Moore's manipulation of literature and adventure, this time focusing on horror and other characters of his fascinating world. Thanks to the lovely art by Kevin O'Neill, Todd Klein and Ben Dimagmaliw, it can stand up to the standard set by other books in the series and sit proudly among the others as a great book. The only downside, though, is that it is not verily accessible to new readers. To those who would love to read this, I urge them to read the whole thing up to the first part of Century (1909) to get up to speed. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    iFanboy - Paul Montgomery Feb 27, 2013

    Compelling as Janni is, the men who surround her and pursue her simply don't resonate so much as the former Nemo's unseen ghost. That's fine and may well be the point. But the decision to excise League of Extraordinary Gentlemen from the title seems appropriate. There are no Hydes or Invisible Men in this tale. This is a Nemo story. I only wish she had as captivating foils as Mina enjoyed. As expansive a journey too. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...