Heathen #1

Heathen #1

Writer: Natasha Alterici Artist: Natasha Alterici Publisher: Vault Comics Release Date: February 15, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 5
9.5Critic Rating
9.7User Rating

+ Pull List

Aydis is a viking, a warrior, an outcast, and a self-proclaimed heathen. Aydis is friend to the talking horse Saga, rescuer of the immortal Valkyrie Brynhild, and battler of demons and fantastic monsters. Aydis is a woman. Born into a time of warfare, suffering, and subjugation of women, she is on a mission to end the oppressive reign of the god-king Odin.

  • 10
    Spartantown - Enrique Rea Feb 20, 2017

    'Heathen' #1 is another top shelf offering from Vault Comics. Natasha Alterici has created a fantastic new fantasy adventure series with a great new leading lady as tough as Red Sonja or Dejah Thoris. The comic mixes high adventure, Norse mythology, subversive social commentary in a fast-paced thrilling story. This is a must-buy this week. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Crusaders - Alan Dec 28, 2016

    When I first started the issue, I wasn't sure if I would make it all the way through. By the end of the issue, I was wishing for more pages. I've read the issue 5 times over now, and absolutely can't wait for the next installment. This is not your shiny, polished, traditional hero comic. This is a story with feeling, motivation and visuals that make you work for the payoff. Try something different"Try Heathen #1. Read Full Review

  • 10
    BostonGekko Feb 23, 2017

    I'm pretty picky reader (I have only gotten hooked on Saga, Scott Snyder's Batman, Monstress, Seven to Eternity, and Lazarus over the past few years), so praise doesn't come easily... but this one earned it. Great characters, great art, and a great start to this title. Will it hook me in for the long haul? We'll see, but I'm hooked for now. Throw in a low print run and things could get crazy pretty fast for this one.

  • 10
    Megster Apr 14, 2017

    I pick up a lot of first issues every week, but it's rare that I find a series that hooks me as quickly as Heathen did. The story & characters are compelling. The art is beautiful and perfectly suited to the setting & narrative. I can't wait for more.

  • 10
    Dan Feb 26, 2017

  • 9.5
    FT Metler Apr 12, 2017

  • 9.0
    Veido Feb 26, 2017

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More