Art Ops #1

Art Ops #1

Writer: Shaun Simon Artist: Mike Allred Publisher: Vertigo Release Date: October 28, 2015 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 10 User Reviews: 10
7.6Critic Rating
8.3User Rating

+ Pull List

In this new series by Shaun Simon, co-writer (with Gerard Way) of The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys, and legendary artist Michael Allred (iZOMBIE), art not only imitates life, it becomes it! When rogue figures from famous works of art come to life and escape their frames, its up to Reggie Riot and the agents of Art Operatives to track them down before they wreak havoc on the unsuspecting public. But Reggie has secrets of his own that may affect his ability to interact with these living works of art--and he wants no part in the agency his mother ran before him. Pop culture will never be the same.

  • 10
    PopMatters - Gregory L. Reece Nov 3, 2015

    You should probably stop whatever it is you're doing and read it. Right now. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Pop Culture Uncovered - Brett I Oct 29, 2015

    This issue had so many little points of interest going forward, I hope this has a long run to bring them to fruition. Between this, Twilight Children and The Survivors Club, I have no problem in saying Vertigo is back with a vengeance, and its kicking ass. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Newsarama - Richard Gray Oct 28, 2015

    This is a bold marriage of art and story in a way that only comics can truly deliver on. If the uniqueness of comic books is that the reader is the third essential element, joining the dots between the otherwise static panels themselves, then Art Ops is partly about being caught in the middle of that experience. There are some promising ideas teased here that will hopefully pay off in the forthcoming issues, but for now it begins as an clever way of engaging the viewer with a discussion around art imitating life. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Crusaders - Dawn of Comics Nov 2, 2015

    What a great idea, it's so unique it was fun to read and the art made it even more of a pleasure. The story flows nicely, the characters are likable. Overall for a first issue it hits a lot of the markers I look for. Read Full Review

  • 7.6
    Word Of The Nerd - Zina Hutton Oct 28, 2015

    To be fair, Art Ops #1 is alright. It's a little boring in parts and the retro art style isn't for everyone, but with just the first issue out, maybe things will only go up for it. This is one book that's getting another chance (or two) because there are questions that need answering and art mysteries to uncover. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book Resources - Marykate Jasper Nov 2, 2015

    At the end of its first issue, "Art Ops" #1 has one of the legs of a solid foundation. The creative team executes well on its concept. Given some more time to develop its characters, it could make them just as memorable as the visuals and ideas at play here. Read Full Review

  • 6.8
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Oct 29, 2015

    The newest Vertigo series is certainly a visual showcase. It also boasts a clever concept. But with too much focus on exposition and setup (despite the lingering questions about this universe) and a lack of any truly compelling characters, this first issue isn't the strong debut Arts Ops needed. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    AiPT! - Jordan Richards Oct 28, 2015

    Art Ops #1 is a comic with potential with a fun premise and unique set of characters. However, the lack of excitement in the comic and everything just being complete setup with little else happening keeps the comic from being a big hit right out of the starting gate. Hopefully things improve because this is one comic that can really soar with how wildly creative it could get. Read Full Review

  • 6.2
    Multiversity Comics - Stephenson Ardern-Sodje Oct 30, 2015

    Maybe throws a little too much at the wall on the first try, but I hope that what sticks in later issues will be worth the wait. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Doom Rocket - Molly Jane Kremer Oct 30, 2015

    There's strangely very little art mentioned in the book. While the Mona Lisa gets an issues-long visual nod (which apparently continues on in the series), the only artist to get an actual namecheck is Jackson Pollock, in an all too on-the-nose reference to Reggie's paint-gloop arm. (Oh, also Banksy gets a mention.) While built on an interesting premiseand chock full of the prettiest sequentials you'll see this week, Art Ops #1 begins with great promise, only to recede back into typicality with imprecise ideas, an uninteresting lead, and a mediocre script. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Chris Monster Oct 29, 2015

    Vertigo is back with this book. Fans of Grant Morrison's Doom Patrol and Peter Milligan's Shade will find a new home here.

  • 9.5
    stijlleben Nov 12, 2015

    finally a VERTIGO book and not a second-rate image or boom or lame-pitch-for-tv-show-wannabe. it is demented and playful and charming and experimental and entertaining and unique. great start, guys!!!!!

  • 8.5
    Educated Reader Nov 9, 2015

    Not endearing as his previous works, but Allred is really the only artist that could visualize this zaney story. I am really looking forward to Mona Lisa being in a "protection program"!

  • 6.0
    Synthozoid Nov 12, 2015

    If only Allred's brilliant artwork had a half decent script to accompany it. The story is whimsical tripe.

  • 9.5
    Emrakul75 Nov 14, 2015

  • 9.0
    eVanDiesel Nov 8, 2015

  • 9.0
    SwampyCA Nov 9, 2015

  • 8.0
    Secret Matt Oct 30, 2015

  • 7.0
    Jabberwocky_Superfly Nov 3, 2015

  • 6.5
    Veido Oct 29, 2015

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...