Clean Room #6

Clean Room #6

Writer: Gail Simone Artist: Jon Davis-Hunt Publisher: Vertigo Release Date: March 16, 2016 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 5
9.5Critic Rating
8.8User Rating

+ Pull List

Chloe discovers the brutal truth behind her fiancs suicide and faces a visit from someone called the Surgeon who intends on using his scalpel fordifferent reasons. And Astrid proves herself to be both friend and foe in this chilling end to the first arc.CLEAN ROOM gives horror a fresh, new sheen. Twisted thrills guaranteed.Ian Rankin, author of the Inspector Rebus mysteries

  • 10
    Fanboys Inc - Buddy Beaudoin Mar 18, 2016

    Clean Room is the best horror comic in years. How its managed to stay under the radar is anybodys guess. Theres so much talent on this series, and so many scenes of unsuspended beauty, terror, and consternation that even when this series is trying to make you lose your lunch, its an absolute joy. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Unleash The Fanboy - Kieran Hair Mar 20, 2016

    Vertigo has something good on their hands with Clean Room. I knew this when I read Clean Room #1, and I am ten times as certain now that I have read Clean Room #6. The detective may feel a bit shoehorned in at this point, and perhaps the notion of a cloud-busting cannon eradicating a race of evil entities is a bit more sci-fi than horror, but this almost works to the series' favor. Everything I might write down as a criticism has still succeeded in that it has made me want to read more. Because dang it, I want answers. And if the next arc is going to be as fun as this one, I'm willing to wait as long as it takes for those answers to get here. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Vancha Apr 22, 2016

    Honestly, I don't think it's possible for a set-up like this to deliver without being somewhat of a let-down, in the same way a present opened is never quite as enticing as a present wrapped, so I'm going to enjoy this while it lasts, before the paper gets ripped away.

  • 9.0
    Synthozoid Mar 18, 2016

    The Scientology allusions are more overt, and it really works. The gore is over the top for me, but this is very clever writing.

  • 8.0 Mar 24, 2016

    This book closes out it’s first arc on a pretty high note, but I could have done for a bit more closure from this issue. I loved the fight sequence, and seeing Chloe really come into her own when she struggles to find her mental footing through the first five issues. That, coupled with some gorgeous and grotesque artwork, and some big reveals, PLUS some teases of reveals yet to come (maybe???) make this a great pivot point for the story, and opens the world of Clean Room up in a really big, and really frightening way. I loved that we got some answers as to what happened to Chloe’s husband, and we even got Astrid Mueller to give a bit of straightforward exposition of what happened to her in the beginning of the series. We still don’t have any real clue as to what these things are, except MAJOR bad news, but Clean Room doesn’t languish over it’s mysteries, though many of the characters seem to languish in their own personal hell. I have said before just how much I LOVE the covers of this series, and how I LOVE the cover artist Jenny Frison, because her work is just so nuanced and detailed, while having a very easy way about it so that you can glance at it and appreciate it, but could spend quite a long time pouring over it and seeing lots of small things, tiny details, that passed you by on first glance. The same could be said for the interior artwork- it is the kind of thing that almost always bears a second reading, even if that may be difficult, considering some of this book’s material. But this series is just great, it started well, it has built up quite a bit of momentum thus far and is really doing quite a good job at giving little to nothing away- is this thing being shopped around for movies or TV, because it feels a lot like the way we are teased with the reveal of Outcast, and how there hasn’t been a straight answer about what the infected/afflicted/possessed actually are, or where they come from. This is a really good book, and this is a

  • 9.0
    jmprados Apr 2, 2016

  • 8.5
    SwampyCA Apr 5, 2016

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...