Fables #77

Fables #77

Writer: Bill Willingham Artist: Mark Buckingham Publisher: Vertigo Release Date: October 15, 2008 Critic Reviews: 3
7.9Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

"The Dark Ages" part 1--a new era of Fabletown begins here! Freddy and Mouse, two local rogues who just want to get along and perhaps turn a bit of profit in the post-war, topsy-turvy world, uncover a dark presence that leads to dark times.

  • 8.7
    IGN - Daniel Crown Oct 15, 2008

    I fully realize that I've graded this issue almost entirely on promise, but keeping context in mind, there's not a single aspect more important during this particular epoch in Fables' lore. Willingham took a ginormous risk in ending the war with the Adversary, so in this instance, possibility and potential are the strongest indicators of whether or not he committed a derailing mistake. And if the first two issues are any measure, it's clear he made the right move, the new-look Fables being as engaging as it's ever been. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Andrew C. Murphy Oct 20, 2008

    As a single issue, there's practically nothing to this book. But Willingham clearly has plans for the future of the Fable universe. Think of the collapse of the Empire as analogous to the tearing down of Saddam's statue; chaotic elements hidden by fascistic suppression are beginning to stir. Regular readers will know that Willingham has proven that these interlude issues are an integral part of the larger epic. And of course it's always nice to see Bigby Wolf with his wife and children, as if Wolverine finally decided to stop working so hard at being a bad-ass and just allow himself to settle down. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics Bulletin - Jonathan Marx Oct 20, 2008

    For readers of Fables, this issue is everything you've come to expect from Bill Willingham. The writing and artwork are on par with the previous issues. For those people who have never read Fables before, I would recommend you don't start with this issue. This book would be plain confusing for you. If you read Fables this is a definite buy, otherwise I'd stay away. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...