Ex Machina #5

Writer: Brian K. Vaughan Artist: Tony Harris Publisher: Wildstorm Critic Reviews: 3
8.0Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

  • 10
    Comics Bulletin - Michael Deeley Oct 17, 2004

    Ex Machina is a thought-provoking look at the differences between heroics and politics. The art of Harris and Peister combines with the elegant and mart writing of Vaughn to create a wonderful comic book experience. Fans of Vaughns Y: The Last Man, and Harris Starman should read this right now! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comics Bulletin - Dave Wallace Oct 17, 2004

    As an overall arc, this book has already given us a superhero origin story, a taste of dark things to come, some great writing and art and already a change in the status quo. Its a great book which has made a sterling start and for once lives up to the buzz. Try it. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comics Bulletin - Jason Cornwell Oct 17, 2004

    Tony Harris does a great job of keeping this book grounded in the real world, as even the more fantastic elements of the series such as the Great Machine have a believable appearance. The art also does a fine job of conveying the emotional reactions of the cast, from Journal's expression when she makes her masked vigilante comment, to the series of panels where the snowplow killer makes his final statement to the police. The tension of the scene where Hundred confronts Kremlin is also a pretty powerful sequence, as is the scene where Kremlin and Bradbury have their quiet little moment after Hundred storms off. Also I have to say I absolutely love the look of the Great Machine, as it's a wonderfully utilitarian design that is quite unlike any other costume that's ever been offered up previously. The cover image is also quite eye-catching and it deftly captures the conflicted nature of our lead character. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...