Batman/Superman #1 View Preview
Prev Series Next

Batman/Superman #1

Writer: Joshua Williamson Artist: David Marquez Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: August 28, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 32 User Reviews: 43
8.3Critic Rating
8.4User Rating

+ Pull List

Up in the sky, in the dark of the night, trust no one-for the Secret Six walk among us. Spinning out of the devastating events of the Batman Who Laughs, Superman and Batman are together once more in an all-new monthly series-and they're facing a terrifying new threat that could strike from anywhere. The Dark Knight and the Man of Steel must journey into the depths of Gotham City to learn which of their fellow heroes has been transformed into the horrifying horseman of their most dangerous and deranged foe ever. Our heroes will need to fight to survive, but an even more dangerous question lurks in the shadows: Can Superman and Batman even trus more

  • 10
    Kabooooom - Roy Buckingham Aug 29, 2019

    You definitely do not miss this one, folks. It is very well done. Read Full Review

  • 10
    DC Comics News - Carl Bryan Sep 3, 2019

    If you didn't get The Batman Who Laughs seven issue series or the Grim Knight one shot…shame on you! Get to your nearest comic store and get the back story. Scott Snyder did a lot to plant the seeds, but now Joshua Williamson is behind the wheel. Change is a coming and we already see in the last frame of the story, we are in for quite the ride! Read Full Review

  • 10
    Lyles Movie Files - Jeffrey Lyles Aug 28, 2019

    One issue in and this already looks like its going to be a special book for DC. No need to miss out on the fun, jump in on this title right now. Read Full Review

  • 10
    But Why Tho? - Charles Hartford Aug 28, 2019

    A big cliffhanger ending I did not expect finishes off Batman/Superman #1 in the best way it could. I have nothing but high expectations for this book going forward and cannot wait to get my hands on issue two. If you are a fan of these two comic book icons, you should definitely make a point to grab Batman/Superman #1 at your local comic book store. Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Forces Of Geek - Lenny Schwartz Aug 29, 2019

    The creative team has a great and original take on this story that demands the reader's attention right from the first page! I am more excited after reading this first issue about where we might be headed. I can't wait to find out. Read Full Review

  • 9.2
    Multiversity Comics - Matthew Blair Aug 30, 2019

    An expertly written story with properly terrifying and gorgeous artwork that displays everything that makes Superman and Batman great. You need to read this comic. Read Full Review

  • 9.2
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Aug 28, 2019

    David Marquezs art is fantastic. Everything works visually and the art perfectly complements the tone and style of this story. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    On Comics Ground - Travis Tucker Aug 30, 2019

    This first issue has me bouncing in my chair. Honestly, I can't wait to see how this is going to affect everyone in the League, not just the titled two because this series is started hardball in the first inning. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Impulse Gamer - Chris O'Connor Sep 8, 2019

    I really like where the story is heading, it's a terrifying concept… whether hero or not, to face a “mirror” evil version of yourself… to be tasked with stopping them would be quite daunting. The set up for the next issue is very well executed too so I've no doubt if you grab this copy (which you should) you'll want to continue… as a cliffhanger… it's a good lure to get you hooked. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Olivier Roth Aug 30, 2019

    Batman Superman #1 may be tied to a greater event, and may have had the issue's title already spoiled, i.e. "Who are the Secret Six?", but it stands really well as its own entity with a great turn by the creative team. Well worth the purchase. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Jason Jeffords Jr Aug 30, 2019

    BATMAN/SUPERMAN #1 excels at characterizations of the iconic duo but reads like a line-wide event instead of a new ongoing first issue. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Aug 28, 2019

    Batman/Superman #1 is one of the strongest first issues of a DC series in recent memory. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Comic Watch - Tyson Yurai Aug 30, 2019

    With fantastic art direction and an interesting story, Joshua Williamson and David Marquez are gearing up for an absolute banger of a book. This is one of the few times I can say, this will change the face of the DC Universe and not want to vomit by how cheesy that sounds. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Word Of The Nerd - Brent Jackson Aug 28, 2019

    Batman/Superman #1 is a great start to this series. Even if you are not familiar with the whole Batman Who Laughs stuff going on in the DCU you can still pick this up and thoroughly enjoy yourself. The story and mystery are delightfully engaging and the artwork is some of the best you will see on the stands. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    The Brazen Bull - Charlie Chipman Aug 28, 2019

    The Dark Knight and the Man of Steel have teamed up to take on a group of terribly dark and powerful new foes in an exciting new series. Batman/Superman (2019-) #1is an impressive debut. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Word Of The Nerd - Brent Jackson Aug 28, 2019

    Batman/Superman #1 is a great start to this series. Even if you are not familiar with the whole Batman Who Laughs stuff going on in the DCU you can still pick this up and thoroughly enjoy yourself. The story and mystery are delightfully engaging and the artwork is some of the best you will see on the stands. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Geek Dad - Ray Goldfield Aug 28, 2019

    Overall, this is a strong and creepy first issue that may work better as a Batman Who Laughs comic than a Batman and Superman one. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    You Don't Read Comics - Jason A. Fleece Aug 28, 2019

    Why, then, does the issue feel like it lacks something essential? It might be the dependence on story beats from the Batman Who Laughs mini (which itself was a continuation of the Dark Knights: Metal crossover), making this feel like yet another cynical extension of the never-ending-event cycle that can dominate Big Two comics. It might be that it covers ground weve seen before, analyzing once again the similarities and differences of the most dissected duo in superhero comics. Whatever the reason, while Batman/Superman may be essential reading for those following the metastory of the DC Universe, it has some work to do to justify its own existence. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Matthew Aguilar Aug 28, 2019

    The series' title carries high expectations and Batman/Superman #1 meets those expectations head-on. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Dark Knight News - Bryant Lucas Aug 29, 2019

    Batman Superman #1is well worth your time as long as you've done your homework. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Dark Knight News - Bryant Lucas Aug 29, 2019

    This comic is well worth your time, as long as you've done your homework. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Newsarama - Forrest C. Helvie Aug 29, 2019

    Although this sort of story continues to remove Batman from his street-level origins, it still delivers a sort of mystery story as Batman and Superman chase their enemy and seek to find out how to stop his plans to infect this world. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Big Comic Page - Craig Neilson-Adams Aug 28, 2019

    If you've been following the sadistic escapades of the Batman Who Laughs since his debut in Dark Days: The Casting this is an absolutely essential purchase, and if you love a good superhero horror mystery story, you definitely owe it to yourself to pick this one up. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Legion - Jacob Woolsey Aug 30, 2019

    Beautiful art and sets up a promising story arc. Fans of "The Metal" and "Batman Who Laughs" won't want to miss out. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Comic Book Revolution - Kevin Lainez Sep 1, 2019

    Joshua Williamson and David Marquez delivered a strongly paced debut issue with Batman/Superman #1. This issue does a good job explaining why Batman Who Laughs is one of the biggest threats in the DC Universe. In the process Williamson and Marquez give Batman and Superman a reason to secretly team-up away from their Justice League adventures. With one of Batman Who Laughs' Secret Six members revealed in the form of Shazam it'll be interesting to see where Williamson and Marquez go from here with Batman/Superman. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    GWW - Dusty Good Aug 28, 2019

    While I wish that this series had come out of the gate stronger and made a real statement about the two biggest characters in comics, this will have to do. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    The Batman Universe - Tony Hammack Aug 30, 2019

    Everyone always wants a Batman vs Superman fight. But, I have always wanted to know if Shazam could beat Superman. We will get that fight next issue: Superman vs the Shazam Who Laughs. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Razorfine - Alan Rapp Sep 2, 2019

    The comic features some back and forth between the two characters, along with some inner monologue from both, on the status of their partnership and the threat that the toxin presents. There may not be enough here to keep me around the long term, but I'm certainly curious enough to return and see how the current situation gets resolved. Worth a look. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny "The Machine" Hughes Aug 28, 2019

    C'mon DC, try harder; I don't just buy a book because it has Batman in it. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    AiPT! - Alex Curtis Aug 28, 2019

    Tricky question. On one hand, it's refreshing to have a writer that doesn't bog the central relationship down with bad meta jokes and esoterica. Yet, the plot is generic at best and too confusing/cumbersome for new readers. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Impulse Gamer - Chrys Terlizzi Aug 29, 2019

    The title of this story – Who are the Secret Six? – implies that the arc will amount to little more than a chance for Marquez to show off his designs for six Heroes Who Laugh. While they may look amazing, Im not sure the premise is enough to keep me hooked. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Weird Science - Jim Werner Aug 28, 2019

    This was not a good start to a series that is already playing catchup to all the big things going on at DC Comics right now.  The issue ends with a great cliffhanger, but if you have even a tiny bit of an idea who Batman and Superman are and read the Batman Who Laughs, you can just skip to the last page and come back next month.  This was a really big disappointment for me! Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More