admin's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer, The Brazen Bull, Nerds On The Rocks Reviews: 15
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.6
Action Comics (2016) #982

Jun 28, 2017

Dan Jurgens and co are really nailing Superman and Action Comics is a steady stream of awesomeness and is what this character is all about. Jurgens brings these characters to life with all their flaws, strengths and emotions and this comic should definitely be on your radar!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aquaman (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

Aquaman is back, and better than ever. I'm aware that aside from the artist, not a whole lot has changed here, but this issue feels wildly different than its predecessors.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow: Rebirth #1

Jun 6, 2016

Green Arrow Rebirth comes as comic that didn't know if it wanted to tell stories in the Vein of the uber gritty Longbow Hunters, or be more on the nose with both it's politics and superheroics like the Hard traveling heroes were. Percy and Schmidt however decide to blend both mixed in with their own take on the Rocker and the Archer who are throwing away the fame and fortune to fight corruption no matter what form it takes. Green Arrow is in my top tier set of heroes and this is the best that that the character has been since Arrow Season 2 and the Jeff lemire, Andrea Sorrentino run. This is the best comic I've read thus far this year and i'm hungrily looking forward to issue #1 of this series to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1

Jun 2, 2016

The Green Lantern titles desperately needed a refresh, and at least on the writing end Johns and Humphries deliver. Uneven art holds the title back, but there is room for improvement when the series regular artists join the book with the proper first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Invincible #111

May 20, 2014

Ottley's art is as always is top notch. The dismemberment splash page is beautiful and I found myself starring at it for quite some time. Sure there's a ton of violence, but at least it's drawn well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Justice League of America (2017) #11

Jul 27, 2017

Justice League #11 is another excellent issue as not only do they add to the mythology of the Lords of Order but provides some excellent characterisation, dialogue and action for the reader which is filled with some very dynamic and clever panels thanks to the artist. All in all, this grassroots League is probably one of my favourite incarnations in a long time and who would have thought that Lobo and Killer Frost would be members?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Nova (2016) #1

Dec 7, 2016

Even though Richard Riders return is underwhelming and confusing, Ian Herrings space age color palette and Ramon Perezs blend of cartooning and cosmic radiance in his artwork make Nova #1 worth a glimpse. Plus Sam Alexander is kind of adorkable with his inability to get his life together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #2

Jul 19, 2017

Even though it enters into all out espionage plot mode, Peter Parker: Spectacular Spider-Man #2 doesn't forget the jokes and goofy sense of humor that made the first issue so great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Spider-Men II #1

Jul 12, 2017

A tantalizing final page, the glorious return of artist Sara Pichelli, and strong characterization of Miles Morales make Spider-Men II a pretty okay comic

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #5

Nov 17, 2015

Silly reason to knock a book, I know but I just can't get over the actors' faces in the comics. Aside from that, great read so far. I can't wait to see how it all ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #5

Jun 21, 2017

Super Son #5 Battle in the Batcave is another fun issue on the children of Batman and Superman. Tomasi once again captures this innocence of both Jon and Damian with some great writing that really brings these characters to life. Super Sons is really a hidden gem in the post-Rebirth titles and if you're looking for a fun and lightheared read with excellent art, this is defintely the title for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Dregs #1

Jan 27, 2017

Lonnie Nadler and Zac Thompson an excellent job of humanizing its main character Arnold when homeless people are often marginalized and forgotten by society in The Dregs #1. Even though he dresses differently than him and is hooked on a drug named listo, hes a true private eye in the Philip Marlowe tradition and even takes on the Chandler characters name during the zoning meeting. Add Eric Zawadskis neat panel grids and bursts of grotesquerie buried beneath the fancy buildings and food, and The Dregs is one of the more unique comics Ive read in 2017.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Wytches #1

Oct 8, 2014

Creepy little book for Halloween. This is one to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
X-Men Prime #1

Mar 29, 2017

Even though Im totally biased because Kitty Pryde is my all-time favorite superhero, X-Men Prime #1 reminded me of why I love the X-Men. Under the watch of Marc Guggenheim, Greg Pak, and Cullen Bunn, it looks like Marvels merry mutants will embrace hope and heroism again, and the youngsters and lone wolves of the X-Men will get interesting stories too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-O Manowar (2017) #2

May 1, 2017

X-O Manowar is a great work of modern Science Fiction, and Issue #2 of this groundbreaking should not be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

2nd

July

June

More