Alexis Simonetta's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 44
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Amazing Forest #6

Jun 1, 2016

I'll admit that it was initially a bit difficult getting into the four different stories. In fact, I didn't realize it was a compilation (and not a continuous story) until I read the first few pages at first. Someone new to the works may get a bit confused. If you're looking for a terrifically twisted anthology, however, then a trip into Amazing Forest #6 is highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Back to the Future: Citizen Brown #1

May 10, 2016

On the negative side of things, there are a few pages where the dialogue panels don't line up just right and it's easy to read the wrong panel first. It also follows the predictable BTTF pattern of showing yet ANOTHER reason why time travel is bad (when we all know it's actually awesome/impossible). This visit, just like any other in Back to the Future, will lead to more events that mess up the future for Marty. It's a predictable plot line for the franchise, but one that they (once again) do very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Back to the Future: Citizen Brown #2

Jun 14, 2016

The series is doing a great job with building the story, I'm really looking forward to the next installment-if only my DeLorean had the time travel package.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Back to the Future: Citizen Brown #3

Jul 22, 2016

Personally, I'm not a fan of the overlapping panels. It doesn't take away from the great work but it's distracting at times. The lack of background from the other issues may have some people lost but it's still a good read on its own–I would suggest reading the rest anyway, because it's good!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Back to the Future: Citizen Brown #4

Aug 24, 2016

The story itself is interesting but long. There's a lot to pay attention to and an extreme amount to read. I'm sad to say I had to read it a few times to make sure I didn't miss anything because I got to a point where I started skipping some dialogue. Marty's character seems to be becoming extremely self-centered in the later pages; it makes sense but it's sad to see the character hurt the people he cares the most about for his own gain. I see it biting him in the butt-soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Back to the Future: Citizen Brown #5

Sep 29, 2016

The series was good; I like the first and last issues the best. I think they did a nice job giving these characters a new story to build from.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Charmed (2017) #1

Mar 7, 2017

For what it is, it's an okay teen read. You'd have to be familiar with the characters to follow along with the story, as it doesn't go into much detail with background info. If your teen is into magic and such, however, or they are a fan of the show, it may be a good choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC Rebirth Holiday Special #1

Dec 13, 2016

I will say this, there are definitely more pros than cons when it comes to the special. I think DC did a great job getting all these writers and artists together. This will totally get you pumped for the holidays and not just Christmas either.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #1

Jun 22, 2016

The ending's cliffhanger is mega intense and I for one am really excited to see what happens next; they've definitely got me hooked. There's not much wrong here–if anything, there are a few pages that get covered by text so be ready for an intense read. I also noticed that Iris has a pretty masculine face–I pictured her much more feminine-and she could definitely beat me in a fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #2

Jul 12, 2016

The story is adding so many new paths for our hero to take. I'm excited to see what's coming up next. I think Williamson and Di Giandomenico are a fantastic pair and really have a great thing going. The Flash is quickly becoming one of my favorite heroes!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #3

Jul 27, 2016

There's a lot of text, it's a long read and at times it can get overwhelming. There's a text expression being used for whispering/talking softly to one another even that confused me a bit at the beginning. I wasn't sure if they were giving a character their own font style. I started reading the text as that certain character and had to go back to re-read a few times. There are quite a few panels when the text almost overwhelms the art, the dialogue is important but extensive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #5

Aug 24, 2016

Overall I can say that it's a great read. It takes me a lot to find anything wrong with the issue, and if you're a Flash fan you'll enjoy every second.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #6

Sep 14, 2016

The issue is worth the read. The ending is fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #7

Sep 28, 2016

There is so much death; it gets emotional. I had a hard time reading some parts just due to the fact that it got a bit depressing. I have no problem with death and destruction but I got a pretty emotional attachment and if you have a hard time with feelings take your time with this one. Honestly, beside that I loved this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #8

Oct 12, 2016

As always, I'm looking forward to the next story. It should have more Kid Flash involvement and hopefully some more insight into how Central City is dealing with the aftermath of Godspeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #9

Oct 26, 2016

I miss Barry. I know it sounds silly but the last few issues have focused more on Wally and his new persona (which is awesome) but I want to know what's going on in Barry Allen's world. I mean, he just put one of his best friends in Iron Heights, his girlfriend was killed, and he even had a speed force melt down but we haven't really seen the effect on him. Hopefully we'll get a good look soon. Always ready for the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #10

Nov 9, 2016

Besides a few minor details, I'm actually really excited to see the next part to this story. I'm getting pulled into the universe!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #11

Nov 23, 2016

Some of the line work is a bit lazy this time. I always love the time taken for each character but everything seems almost sketched this issue. I know that Gianfelice is not the same artist as the last issue so I think maybe the continuation just didn't work for me. I definitely liked the last crew better. Hopefully the next group will take a little more time on the details. There are also a few Kid Flash statements that just seem repetitive, like someone has already said it but he has to give it the Wally West twist. Some of them just read as annoying. I mean it works for a teenager but it was almost obnoxious just reading them–but I absolutely love Williamson's writing so I'm looking over it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #12

Dec 14, 2016

There's not much depth to the whole story but it definitely leads into something big. I'm still not a fan of the new art direction but it's not taking away from anything. With the cliffhanger we should be looking at a pretty interesting follow up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #13

Dec 28, 2016

The issue itself is a basic rescue story. You've definitely read or seen it before. It's worth it for those of you that love The Flash but it's not monumental.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #14

Jan 11, 2017

And oh, the art! I'm so glad Di Giandomenico is back! I missed this version of the Flash and I forgot how much I appreciated the time spent on each character–mind you Iris has gotten a bit masculine again, but I'll take it. The images I spoke of before with each of the villains look as if they're taken from past issues and they make for a great variation with the new artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash: Rebirth (2016) #1

Jun 8, 2016

If you want more backstory before this one begins you're going to need to read DC Universe: Rebirth first. There are a few plot holes I didn't quite understand and that's most likely the reason why. And as good as the artwork is, some of the panels are a tad cluttered. It makes the story seem really intense but read it a few times to make sure you caught everything.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham Academy Annual #1

Aug 31, 2016

I enjoyed my first look into Gotham Academy. I'm hoping the more I read the more I understand the dynamic between all these interesting people.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1

Sep 14, 2016

There are a few pages that the scenes get confused. The dialogue is all over the page which makes it difficult to follow the pattern of the story. It was a bit frustrating. There wasn't a big connection to the prequel released a few weeks ago. This isn't necessarily a bad thing but being a new reader to this series I was hoping for some background conclusions. The plus is this new series starts fresh and you don't have to read and Annual-I would recommend you do anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #2

Oct 12, 2016

Overall this is a really great issue. I like the availability to the younger crowd and the story is fun and mysterious. The art really showcases the fantasy feel and pops off the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #3

Nov 9, 2016

The story keeps going back to the symbols Amy and Olive found in the first issue. They aren't very pronounced in this story and honestly when they are mentioned it doesn't make a lot of sense. I think the imagery is there but they show up so late that I almost forgot about them. I'm going to need a little more insight. I'm also trying to come to terms with the fact that because I didn't read the first part of this series I'm going to keep seeing characters that I don't understand. I met Katherine for the first time–I love the character in this issue, but I have no idea who or what she is in reference to the club. I'll be brushing up on my Detective Club info soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Josie and the Pussycats #1

Sep 7, 2016

Anything wrong with the issue is really minor. I loved the story itself and it was a fun read. I'm ready to see when the series goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Josie and the Pussycats #2

Nov 2, 2016

As far as what I didn't like; there are a lot of quick, cute conversations between the girl and they can be missed if you scan too much when you read the issue. Take your time or you'll miss them. It's actually pretty hard for me to find anything wrong here. Josie and the Pussycats #2 is a cute, attention-grabbing, smart adventure that really gives presents strong, positive female role models for all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Locke & Key: Small World #1

Dec 23, 2016

Besides me not liking spiders at all this issues is fantastic. If you're a fan of the original series you're going to love Locke & Key: Small World #1. Keeping with the theme in the other issues you will find yourself miserably confused on where to look at times. I'm still not actually sure how much of the events happened inside the dollhouse or the actual house. And if you're not sold yet there is a kitty named Tiberius.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Penny Dreadful #1

May 10, 2016

Overall the story makes sense with the series and the writing is pretty easy to follow. The narrative explains enough, but doesn't get so wordy that it stops being interesting. There's discussion of a few characters we haven't met yet, but the ones we do meet can hold their own. Plus, if you know anything about the Harker's, you should be ok ("Dracula" if you're lost").

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Penny Dreadful #2

Jun 29, 2016

If the series was something you were following, this will be a great addition but I think they can do a lot more with the stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Powerpuff Girls (2016) #1

Jul 13, 2016

This would be a great series to start young readers. They didn't really gear the story toward girls or boys, it should be a fun read for anyone and if you really enjoyed the cartoon before it's a fun easy book you can even read with your kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Raven #1

Sep 21, 2016

This is a great issue for teen readers to start. I think the ability to relate has been included really well and the supernatural side is always intriguing. It's a great start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Raven #2

Oct 19, 2016

Overall, not at all a bad story line, I'm liking the start of this but I'm hopeful there will be a little more information added as the series continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Raven #3

Nov 16, 2016

I'm an impatient person. I'd really like more of the story to unfold a bit quicker. We've had two issues now just getting to know this evil being and still don't know much about it. Mind you, the story is still great but I'm so ready to see what's happening behind the scenes. Other than that fact this is my favorite installment so far. It's a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Raven #6

Feb 15, 2017

There are a few references to Teen Titans and Justice League closer to the end of the issue which seems to be bringing our groups back together. I like the idea but I see so much more with Raven on her own so I'm hopeful they'll do another spin off for her; she's a great stand-alone character. A few little things I didn't really think worked: the cover art was okay but I really enjoyed the issue's art better. Raven was much more defined throughout the book; I was also really confused about all the memory loss–it made sense when it was fighting her but the fact that it continues is just odd to me. I know there has to be a closer but it seemed like an easy way out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rocket Raccoon (2016) #1

Dec 28, 2016

This is definitely a series to keep an eye on in the future. If you're not into the feel-good stories this is totally for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rocket Raccoon (2016) #2

Jan 12, 2017

So far I am really excited about this series. The sarcasm and inappropriate behavior is on point. I definitely see amazing things in the future for Rocket.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rocket Raccoon (2016) #3

Feb 22, 2017

We get to see a little more insight into what's happening on Earth and why we're seeing Rocket being pursued. Besides the issue being a bit slower to get into, I really didn't find many cons. This is a great stand-alone series so far and I'm looking forward to the rest. As usual, be ready for some hilarious one-liners and bad luck situations. Oh, and sarcasm-lots of sarcasm.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tank Girl: Two Girls, One Tank #1

May 17, 2016

The mom in me was taken aback a bit by the language (thanks Captain America"), but because it's Tank Girl, what else do you expect? It fits. Just maybe not for the younger crowd. For us 'mature' readers, however, it's a real #$%&ing treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Tank Girl: Two Girls, One Tank #2

Jun 14, 2016

And oh, the vulgarity! It's great but definitely for MATURE readers only. I noticed that not all the characters cuss which caused a bit of a giggle out of me. The backstory with one of the main characters is pretty mysterious. I can't decide if it's some sort of flashback or something they're making up to deceive the rest of the group. It doesn't take too much away from the genuine entertainment of the story, just a little twist to make you think.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers #1

Feb 1, 2017

All in all this is a great tribute to Eisner. Definitely something you should check out if you've ever been interested in his work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers #2

Mar 21, 2017

While there isn't much dialogue to speak of, the fantastic imagery more than makes up for it, making this a worthy read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Torchwood #1

Aug 3, 2016

The story itself is a great build off of the series and should keep fans entertained. Barrowman did a great job bringing the characters back into their element with new issues to overcome. Time to save the world–again.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More