Carrie McClain's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 40
9.2Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Airship Enterprise #1

Jan 22, 2016

Overall Airship Enterprise #1 was a bit too short in my opinion but still succeeded in not only grabbing my attention but serving as bait to look forward to purchasing issue #2 whenever it drops.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #6

Jan 10, 2016

And so ends another fantastic characterdriven issue of Bitch Planet with guest artist Taki Soma and newcomernew colorist, Kelly Fitzpatrick onboard. I stay smitten with Bitch Planet. If it furthers the “feminist agenda” just know that I keep buying it, reviewing it and taking glorious selfies with my copies. Till next issue! May the bitch be with you!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #7

Feb 24, 2016

Kudos to yet another well-written issue that is perfected by the art, inking, and coloring that takes these characters to a new level in storytelling where the subversive keep striking back when they get knocked down. A particular scene in this issue revolves around Kam and Penny in which I dissected in further detail will be available for your reading pleasure in a few days, It especially made this issue shine for me and helped make it my favorite issue yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #9

Nov 6, 2016

I can't guarantee that it will give you hope"but I can can say it will inspire you on how these folks find themselves and join together and if that's what we all need about now"Also since BP doesn't come out as often as other books, this issue right here is a great reminder how just why this book is on your pull list/reading list. And for all those who aren't sure if they want to be non-compliant or those who don't want to add to your pull list"here's your affirmation to do so and join the rest of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #10

May 15, 2017

This was already a brilliant issue, but the ending was a nicely tied bow on top of it all. De Landro's art style never feels forced to be something it's not — it's stark and gritty in a sense: perfect for this book and explosive when it needs to be, especially in the last pages. The timing of the action and the pop of color, of red in different places in the different panels are visually stunning. This issue stuns. This issue of Bitch Planet drops some bombs. This issue of Bitch Planet rights the ship in the right direction. I needed to read this comic book. I'm glad the creative team did the damn thing and pushed this shit out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 7, 2017

I'm not completely won over by this issue but this doesn't mean that I won't give issue #2 a chance and see where this rabbit hole starts to lead. While it all hasn't meshed together for me this soon, as it is only issue number one I can appreciate that the story itself interweaves layers of worlds, of character motivations, of "stories. There's a lot going on here and I figure I'll be here to see how more of Zelda's plans pan out and what troubles she's running from whenever whoever or whatever makes its appearance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab #1

Nov 8, 2015

So far so good: an emotionally gripping but still intriguing start to what looks like a great new series. With several comics under his belt, writer Dave Dwonch seems to have a good understanding of how to move the story forward. Anna Lencioni, an artist and storyboard revisionist for Cartoon Network also seems to really know what to fill the panels art-wise with to accompany Dwonch's story. As a team, I'm impressed so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab #2

Nov 24, 2015

What I love about the writing is that Dwonch really gets across that he understands how grief displays itself in our lives in all the different ways. Either in how Cyrus is at home, deep in thought, still lingering on how ultimately he couldn't save Micheal's life or how Micheal's own mother gazes at pictures of her son throughout the years and doesn't force herself to hold back the tears.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab #3

Dec 26, 2015

As for the art, there aresome really great pages drawn here where the emotion of the scene comes across really well. Especially where Cyrus is confronted by certain characters and Mikey gets glimpses or clues of who these people were to him in his former life. It just may be a tearjerker. Heads up. Looks like next issue will conclude the series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Exlibrium #1

Nov 6, 2015

Lot of pop culture references, an art style that isn't distracting, promise of lots of unique creatures and (even some scary! monsters) and a story involving books and the worlds housed within them is right up my alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Exlibrium #2

Feb 15, 2016

The true focal point, the true heart of this comic is Lily. This oddball of a girl Lily who knows for certain something is off but her imaginative and nerdiness keep her grounded (for the time being). The panels of her alone are instant gold and I fall a little more and more in love with her every time I see her. Looking forward to seeing more of Lily and all the elements from more books, yes, even the fairytales as we go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Low #9

Aug 31, 2015

Low #9 has a spectacular finish that mentally had me ready to flip a table or two because one"I did NOT SEE THAT COMING. AT ALL. Like a fallen angel someone comes to Della's aid and the carnage is beautiful. With a eye roll to Della's latter costume alternation, this issue stands to be one of the strongest and most certainly one of the most memorable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Low #10

Oct 19, 2015

What I can say with much certainty is that this is a read that will inspire you. This is book that will challenge your framework on what is hard, what is difficult to endure. This is a fantastic comic book that will constantly have you defining and redefining what the concept of "hope" is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #1

Nov 3, 2015

Other than slavery being what looks like totally legal in this world, there's also somehints of lots of not so greathappenings, like genocide and the obvious discrimination. There is severe mistreatment of other races of beings, as there are humans and non human races present. Be warned that this comic is for mature readers!Issue #1 gave us over 60 pages of dazzling, bloody introduction to Maika's world and a terrifying glimpse of the deep, dark being that haunts her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #2

Dec 11, 2015

The plot of Monstress is slowly being revealed and like this entity in the image above is the perhaps the best representation of how this story has been following me around"being thought of and being processed in my head. The blood and gore go hand in hand with the fantastic setting as does the wealth of unique characters and all the motivations of all of them" It's a lot of take in. It's a lot to get your head around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #3

Feb 14, 2016

Monstress also continues to be terrifying in the imagery " blood, glore and all the ancient deities that populate the world. In the writing, we're learning some of the motivations and seeing the cruelties behind many of the characters on the pages and it's not pretty.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #4

Mar 21, 2016

Reading on further reveals just a tad bit more of the mysterious backstory of the…thing that lives within Maikaand a better idea of the vast hunger it has. It's one of the more terrifying entities in this comic book and whenever it attaches to her, things get out of hand fast. And usually it's a mess. At times she's reduced to just being dragged along as it hungers and annihilates.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Monstress #5

Apr 17, 2016

This gripping issue furthers the story and also adds context to past events that took place issues back. This issue also mesmerizes with full-two page spreads. Onward with more cats and to a path that leads Maika to understanding how she fits in this world as salvation or a tool of destruction.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monstress #6

May 26, 2016

This issue lacks nothing and remains a treat visually – illustrated by Takeda as only she knows how. (And lettered and designed by Rus Wooton.) While I am sad to for this series to have its hiatus (Trade Paperback coming in July!) I do applaud Team Monstress for a job well done for such a consistent and jarringly profound series that's been welcome in my comics pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monstress #7

Oct 31, 2016

As I mentioned before Kippa and Ren play off as foils to each other and to Maika I think it serves her well as a balancing board on how she proceeds. Kippa is naive, more naive than her and young but Ren is obviously jaded and older with more insight. I'm really curious how much more we'll learn in the next issue about Moriko's allies and more on just how she dies leaving Maika to become a slave.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Monstress #9

Dec 28, 2016

As more and more revelations come to light and more characters are introduced, I can't help but read and just sit here stunned into silence. You thought your family was dysfunctional? With everything that's come post Elections this year, you thought Thanksgiving and Christmas with the fam bam would be awkward? Try again. Try imaging Maika's family.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monstress #10

Feb 23, 2017

Liu continues setting the groundwork for this world that brings us closer and closer to more answers and more obstacles but it's not a dull ride. This issue may not have not connected as many dots as I wanted but it still shines and adds yet another layer this world that I can't look away from.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #2

Dec 18, 2015

And that's what Ms. Marvel does best: we've been given a superhero with actual relatable problems. Actual relatable issues that we may be seeing in our neighborhoods and communities. The way the story was able to switch from what I was hoping wasn't possible harassment of Tyesha to effortlessly back to the topic of gentrification and how it was continuing to plague where Kamala calls home done quite well. Pair that with all the small problems on her plate and a fun art style that carries the story along, it works. It works in this renumbering of the issues in the series where we have a fresh-faced Super herowho we still love and are still excited to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #6

May 2, 2016

A particular scene of a news reporter on camera being filmed near the action was a perfect setup for the upcoming Civil War storyline event: a local woman grabs the news reporter's microphone and hollers a bit about superheroes being unsafe and making her home turfunsafe. And while it's safe to assume that everyone in town doesn't hold the same attitude towards Ms. Marvel, it's definitely a growing concern for civilianseverywhere and an attitude that I'm sure will show itself again very soon. The panels of Captain Marvel and Iron Man going all SUPER SUPPORTIVE AND MOM/DAD-LIKE WITHOUT THE JOKES ARE GRAND. Issue #6 is an issue of Ms. Marvel that is in a class of its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #8

Jun 24, 2016

This is a pivotal issue that dives right into the Civil War storyline perfectly with a fresh face we know as Kamala Khan, Ms. Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #12

Nov 6, 2016

This is a issue with less action but nevertheless not one to put down because of that. This is a issue that tackles the meaning of "home" and what to do when you feel you have drifted away from you purpose, your fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Princeless: Be Yourself #3

Aug 30, 2015

By the end of this issue we are treated to a reunion of Adrienne and Angoisse, (take it however it is y'all), a lot of unnecessary flattery and sweet talk and an unsuspected guest with nefarious plans for our number one knight who likes being princeless. Throw in some creature features from the heart of the swamp and A LOT of jokes to tide us over until next month, we have a strong consistent issue here with a cliffhanger that will make you worry for Adrienne and her quest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Princeless: Be Yourself #4

Sep 27, 2015

I love the tension here between Adrienne who obviously doesn't care for nor like Raphael and the charm he exhibits over the other lady folk. It makes for a hilarious dynamic that carries us through this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Princeless: Make Yourself #0

Dec 31, 2015

This issue ends with a great image to burn into you retinas of a character we know and love who is finally on a path of greater self-love and self-acceptance" This is one book you have to go out and buy. One copy for yourself and I don't know how many copies for those who you know need one. This girl is picking hers up with her pull list next week and she can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Princeless: Make Yourself #1

Apr 27, 2016

This is a fun issue high on Whitley's sense of humor that we've grown to recognize and love and full of art that is distinctlyMartin's style and full of all the great faces and details that you'll love. I can't wait to see our favorite Princess rock her new hair style come next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Princeless: Raven: The Pirate Princess #2

Aug 20, 2015

The little ones can read and enjoy and the writing is sophisticated enough that we grown-ups can get a KICK out of it too. I can't stress just how much I loved this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Princeless: Raven: The Pirate Princess #3

Sep 27, 2015

This issue is very important for a number of reasons, one being the emotional depth. Raven who was wronged by her brothers and ultimately the men in her family is confronted a person, a friend, whom she wronged by order of her father as a child. Raven is faced with a multitude of emotions and most of them not in the positive direction because of her role in a scheme that ultimately ruined a family, quite possibly a childhood. This was really neat to see in terms of character development and I hope to see Raven, who is now much older and more mature do her best to keep her word and seek justice not only for herself but for those caught in the undertow.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Princeless: Raven: The Pirate Princess #4

Oct 24, 2015

Ending the first story arc on a solid standing, this issue gets a 10 lady pirate crews assembled out of 10.I always check myself when reviewing my favorite comics to make sure that I don't givebiased ratings"but this issue started off well and had to leave with a 10 rating after seeing Ximena in action to save the day"GAWD. It's a more hilarious twist because of my name and a certain movie associated with it and welp"READ THIS ISSUE.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Princeless: Raven: The Pirate Princess #5

Mar 18, 2016

What I love the most is seeing the interaction between all the ladies as they settle in as crew members; while it's not all fun and games it does lead up to some very important teachable moments and points for representation " there's one with our hijab-wearing crewmate below. There's also a member of the squad, Cid, who is deaf. I'm hoping to see more of both of them as the series progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Princeless: Raven: The Pirate Princess #6

Mar 18, 2016

The following pages cover the adventures the young women get into and it's a mixed bag of everything: shopkeepers who assume WRONG, interactions with mean baby boomers, failed purchases of rope, and even a certain crew member who steps out of her lane and is escorted right back! It's a little all over the place but never fear, this issue brings it all back full circle with a wicked cliff hanger and a revelation that our pirates are finally in the big leagues now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quince #4

May 9, 2017

It's a very down to earth superhero story without the overwhelming masculinity, unneeded giant crossover events and questionable variant art covers of female characters. (Saying No Names here, fam.) Quince feels like home in a sense. It's relatable. It's enjoyable. It has its funny moments. This issue of training *cue the training montage music* could come across as mundane but it's not: it's realistic as all heck and never comes off as boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #31

Nov 26, 2015

This issue did a great job in bringing us back to the story we love or hate (or both depending on what issue(s) your heart strings needed to be reattached because your feels jumbled all over the place). Seeing some familiar faces and seeing also seeing some that were not and"A LOT MORE that Hazel is sure to have more questions about that I'm sure Grandma Klara does not have it in her to answer anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #32

Dec 26, 2015

This is such a fun issue that reminds me of the heart of Saga (other than Hazel) of the two folks that created her and the passion that they have about her and life itself. Saga brought the feels this issue as always but for this special issue that dropped the week of Christmas, it also brought much-needed updates on other characters central to the plot. What are we also left with are the threads to link back to Hazel and company: her parents now have a big clue to where she may be, the problems is getting the help from a person who wants nothing to do with them. Hazel's presence is briefly felt in this issue in the way of short narration as she adds more context to the wonderful and strange people her parents are and I look forward to seeing her soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #33

Jan 31, 2016

Yes, yes. I figure some readers may be getting tired of playing “catch up” with what's happened in the time gap but this is really entertaining to go along the trail of all the folks who came in some form of contact with our favorite little family. All the pieces are starting to come together for our favorite photographer/writer team as they follow the trail. I figured we'd meet someone old at the end of this issue BUT I WAS STILL SURPRISED. As the cliffhanger deprived me of the last of my HP I could only smile. It's like getting the old gang back! I don't need Lying Cat around to prove just how excited I am with the recent turn of events here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #34

Mar 7, 2016

I hate when time jumps are used, especially in comics because I often feel that it's used to cover up for lazy writing and dismisses certain characters. But here? Brian K. Vaughan keeps nailing it and each new stage of Hazel from baby to toddler to child to who knows what what we'll see next keeps me as a reader interested, emotionally invested and present when I read. His writing coupled with Fiona Staples' art keeps reminding me of why Saga helped bring me back to the world of comics when I felt so bored with it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

April

More