Dana Folkard's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 46
9.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aliens: Dead Orbit #1

Mar 31, 2017

Overall, Ive enjoyed the first issue of Dead Orbit and I look forward to watching this intense game of cat and mouse unfold. I love nothing more than being immersed in a scary, adrenaline-fueled space horror, especially one that involves a xenomorph. I just hope that this story maintains its chilling momentum and offers us something that we havent encountered from this nasty creature yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #1

Mar 11, 2017

Overall, Im excited about this comic adaptation and I look forward to future issues. Its great to be able to revisit this wonderful story, visualised with interesting and unusual art. Im curious to see how such a large novel will be condensed down into twenty-seven single issues without sacrificing the complex story that we have come to know. This is a comic for both old and new fans, for those who have read this book multiple times and for those who have never ventured into this strange world before. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #2

Apr 7, 2017

American Gods: Shadows #2 is maintaining its momentum as the story stays true to the original source material. The art reinforces the emotional tone of the story, delivering a visual dose of unease and apprehension. Things are starting to get interesting, as Shadows journey into the mystical world of the gods begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #9

Nov 3, 2016

Overall, Bitch Planet #9 packs a punch! Its a well thought out and stimulating read. I feel like a lot of love and dedication has gone into this story and the women within it. Its confronting and inspiring at the same time and that itself makes it an important comic to read. I find that I take my time reading each new issue of Bitch Planet and I also enjoyreading all of the political and though-provoking essays and interviews at the end of the issue. DeConnick tears down those boundaries that make a lot of people uncomfortable and in doing so creates a truly unique story, filled with powerful characters. I just love this series and this issue is another great instalment to this epic story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #10

Apr 26, 2017

This was an impressive and exciting end to the second story arc of Bitch Planet. Intense, gritty and thought-provoking, this issue truly captures the exciting and stimulating pace of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer Annual #1

Jan 13, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed reading this curious tale and learning more about this mysterious tale. I found that Lemire paces his stories well, which allows for us to take in and absorb everything at a steady pace. Even though a lot happens, I never feel overwhelmed and I believe that this is because of his clever writing and character development. The art delivers so much variety and it brings a totally new and interesting element to the Black Hammer visual narrative. I highly recommend reading this, as its a wonderful addition to this very curious and cryptic tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #3

Sep 14, 2016

With each new issue of Black Hammer, Im learning more and more about this world, the characters and their personal stories. Its an interesting world, filled with complex personalities that have a lot to reveal and space to grow. Im excited with where this story is going and I look forward to learning more about what is going on and where it is all headed. There is mystery and intrigue littered throughout this story and I look forward to piecing together this cryptic puzzle and discovering more about this world and the characters within it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #4

Oct 17, 2016

Overall this issue has piqued my curiosity. Whilst a lot is slowly being revealed to us, there still remains a lot of unanswered questions, with more being added to the mix. I find the story and the characters both mysterious, complex and engaging. Im looking forward to seeing where Lemire is going to take the story and I cant wait until more is revealed to us about the Black Hammer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #5

Nov 8, 2016

Black Hammer #5 delivers another intriguing issue to this mysterious story. By this point, I feel like Im really starting to get to know these superheroes, as I learn about their past and the things that have happened to them. Im curious to see where this is all leading to and learning more about these weird and wonderful characters, stuck in this strange and twisted world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #6

Dec 14, 2016

Black Hammer #6 has opened up even more mystery for us. Something is very wrong and Im curious to find out exactly what it is. The plot thickens even more, as unexpected developments occur resulting in some curious changes to the story. Its all very interesting and Im actually finding it hard to guess what is going to happen, which makes me even more intrigued. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP and step into Madame Dragonflys Cabin of Horrors.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #7

Mar 14, 2017

Black Hammer #7 delivers an emotional dose of reflective storytelling. Joe Webers story is a sad one and it leads to a sad conclusion. Im curious to discover more about Lucy and her journey to the farm and whether this renewed hope will eventuate into something more. Knowing that the hammer must never fall and that someone must always wield it has me intrigued with what will transpire next. Im curious and excited for what the next issue will reveal and looking forward to learnning more about this mysterious story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #8

Apr 18, 2017

A spooky and puzzling issue that leaves us with more questions than answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Empress #5

Sep 20, 2016

So far Im thoroughly enjoying Empress and this weird and wonderful chase through space that Millar and Immonen have created for us. This issue delivers more intense nail-biting moments and swashbuckling heroics, all framed in an epic space opera backdrop. Im looking forward to the next issue and the conclusion of the first story arc and hopefully getting an answer to the one question I have. Will our escapees evade death and danger one final time and be able to find their safe sanctuary?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Empress #6

Sep 23, 2016

Empress #6 is an impressive conclusion to the first story arc of this series. Millar and Immonen have introduced us to a wonderful space opera that offers us some great characters, hair-raising moments and stimulating plot developments. Ive thoroughly enjoyed reading Empress and I've found it to be consistently clever, gripping and fun.Its concluding issue really ties it all nicely together, making it a cohesive and dynamic story that is well rounded and cleverly thought out. Im looking forward to the next story arc and seeing where this whirlwind of events and dramatic tale is going to take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #2

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, I find Ether #2 to be another enjoyable instalment to this story. Venturing out and exploring this unusual world has been both entertaining and amusing. There is something dark lurking there and I can sense the foreboding nature of it, however, that has yet to be revealed to us. So until then I look forward to reading the next issue and finding out exactly who murdered the Blaze and whether Boone make order from all of this chaos?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #3

Jan 17, 2017

Overall, I enjoy venturing into the Ether with Boone and Glum. It's an interesting world filled with magic that is reimagined in an interesting and creative way. The combination of an inventive concept, filled with likeable and funny characters, along with fun and whimsical art makes for an enjoyable read. I look forward to the next issue and once again stepping through the portal with Boone to this weird and wonderful world where magic and science collide!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #4

Feb 8, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed Ether #4. It was nice to deviate a little from Boone and Glums story for a moment and explore more of Hazels. Im curious about a few things, one being the villain in this story, Ubel. Every good story needs a balance of good and bad and it appears like we are just starting to scratch the surface of this. Im looking forward to learning more about these character's backstories and discovering why they are important.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ether #5

Mar 6, 2017

Overall, I've enjoyed the concluding issue for the first story arc of Ether. I found this to be a thought-provoking and intriguing read. It was interesting to discover more of Boones story and learn a little bit about his sad past. He is a broken and damaged man, who has sacrificed a lot to live a life of high-adventure and scientific discovery. Whilst I'm excited about discovering more about the sinister plot that is about to unfold Im keen to learn more about Boone and Hazel and the importance of their complicated relationship.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves #1

Jan 18, 2017

Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire is a wonderful story that will leave you entertained and amused. Neil Gaimans writing is witty, whimsical and clever and Shane Oakleys art is a perfect accompaniment to this satirical Gothic tale. I recommend grabbing a copy, so that you may experience this story depicted in a lovely visual narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #3

Sep 18, 2016

Although this issue was slower paced and didnt progress a great deal, the deliberate gradual pace was needed to help establish these new and complex relationships. Overall Im really enjoying the character development and the interesting relationship dynamics that are forming. Im looking forward to when the next issue comes out and we get to see more of the super-villains plan to break into Supermax. Millar is laying the foundations for an all mighty raid and I cant wait to see how its all going to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #1

Sep 28, 2016

The first two issues of Kill or be Killed so far have given us a tantalising taste of things to come. The dark and unexpected plot twist has added a whole new and interesting dimension to this story of murder. Im curious to see where we will be taken and what we will see Dylan do and his transformative evolution as the story progresses. Kill or be Killed is a unique thriller and Im looking forward to seeing where this wicked story is headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #4

Nov 14, 2016

Overall, Im really enjoying this interesting twist on a modern horror/crime story. The plot has some interesting developments and I really enjoy watching Dylan evolve into a smart and efficient killing machine. His personal complications, mixed with his desperate situation is an interesting story and Im keen to see where it is headed. I want to see where this deal with the Devil will go and whether Dylan can handle the pressure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kingsway West #2

Sep 29, 2016

Overall Im really loving this Old West fantasy. The story has me intrigued, the characters are dark and mysterious and the world is epic. Seriously, give me a well-written gunslinging tale filled with magic and dragons and Ill be lining up for the next issue. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #2

Sep 15, 2016

Overall Im really enjoying having Josie Schuller back. I loved the first Lady Killer story arc so much and now it feels like its back to business, as things are once again starting to amp up in volume. In the past Josie has always relished in her job but as things are once again start to get serious, we see a new Josie emerge, as her personal life and work life begin to overlap. I cant wait for the next issue to come out where we can learn more about this mysterious organisation and see whether her new partnership is as sweet as it appears on the surface.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #3

Nov 9, 2016

Lady Killer 2 #3 delivers another entertaining and grotesque issue to this series. Full of twisted, dark humour and shockingly brutal murder, its hard not to enjoy this series and completely love Josie. Im curious to see what decision Josie will make and how it will impact her life, and whether it will be for better or worse. Do yourself a favour and grab yourself a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #4

Mar 1, 2017

Lady Killer 2 #4 is another exciting and gritty edition to this story. Things are getting complicated and intense for Josie and just when it all seemed to be working out perfectly for her, it all begins to come undone. Her relationship with Irving has dramatically changed and she now has a bitter enemy in him. I look forward to the concluding issue of this second story arc and discovering what exactly Josie is going to do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monstress #8

Dec 2, 2016

Overall, I feel very intrigued with whats to come in Monstress after reading this issue. The story is building and we have been given some interesting nuggets of information that have left us with a lot of unanswered questions. Im curious and want to know more about this skeleton key and the links it has to Maikas mother and I cant wait to see what they will find at the Isle of Bones. I look forward to reading the next issue and discovering the answers to these questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monstress #9

Dec 27, 2016

Monstress #9 is an intriguing issue, filled with some curious plot developments. So much is going on and I feel like we are only just beginning to scratch the surface of it all. Im looking forward to discovering more about these conspiracies and seeing whether Maika and her companions will make it to the mysterious Isle of Bones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #10

Feb 22, 2017

Monstress #10 is creepy as all hell. We are finally on the Isle of Bones with Maika and confronted with multiple unsettling and curious developments. We are revealed a lot, whilst still having so much of the story shrouded in mystery. Im excited to see where the next issue will take us and what will be revealed as things progress. Im curious to see whether Maika will get the answers shes been looking for from the strange and unknown Lord Carrion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #11

Apr 19, 2017

Monstress #11 is a revealing issue that explores some interesting plot developments as it pushes toward the end of the second story arc. Things are getting interesting as we delve deeper into Maika's personal history and her blood connection to the mask and the Monstrum. I'm looking forward to the following issue and seeing what Maika plans to do with this newly discovered information.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Guard #1

Feb 23, 2017

The Old Guard #1 has me intrigued. Its engaging, gritty and thought-provoking. I think this is a creative concept that has the possibility of growing into a really interesting and well-rounded story. Im curious to learn more about Andy and her companions and see where this immortal life will take them next. Trouble is brewing and Im keen to know how its going to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Guard #2

Mar 31, 2017

The Old Guard #2 has me hooked. Greg Rucka has created a compelling and gripping story, filled with interesting characters that all possess a unique past. The art is striking, dynamic and perfectly suited to this kind of story. There is depth here and I look forward to discovering more about Andy, her crew and the mystery behind their immortality.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Guard #3

Apr 27, 2017

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this issue, with its intense action sequences, witty dialogue and touching moments. This is a compelling and exciting story that keeps gaining momentum as the narrative drives forward. I look forward to reading the next issue and seeing what these immortal warriors will do next and where their adventures will take them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #1

Mar 3, 2017

I'm happy to have the Rat Queens back, because I honestly missed them. The Queens wisecracking and crass antics are forever entertaining and that coupled with an intriguing story makes for an enjoyable read. This soft reboot has me excited for whats to come and I look forward to seeing more of Owen Gienis art bring this wild fantasy world to life. I cant wait to do more questing with these booze-guzzling, monster killing gals and hear their endless jokes about Gary.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #2

Apr 12, 2017

Rat Queens: Cat Kings and Other Gary's #2 has me intrigued and wanting more. Already we are aware of a sinister twist to the story brewing and I'm excited to discover more about this. This issue is action-packed, loads of fun and it's great to see the wisecracking Queens back to their old questing antics. Grab a copy, laugh-out-loud and enjoy the epic fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #1

Oct 8, 2016

Reborn #1 is an intriguing and exciting introduction to this highly-anticipated new series. Its thought-provoking, exciting and action filled. We have been introduced to some interesting characters and a unique and complex story with the foundations for what will no doubt be an exhilarating journey. Im excited and curious to see where Millar and Capullo are going to take us and I look forward to when the next issue comes out. If youre looking for a fresh take on a sci-fi/fantasy with some deep concepts and lovely art, then do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #2

Nov 15, 2016

Reborn #2 has me intrigued. I think its a really cool concept and I just love the sci-fi fantasy setting. I want to go explore this world with Bonnie and her dad and go on an adventure with them both. Im looking forward to seeing where this story is going and how its going to develop and unfold. Seriously, do yourself a favour and grab as copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #3

Dec 14, 2016

Reborn #3 has me hooked. Whether it's the characters, the setting, the story or the visuals, its all unique, diverse and fantastical. This is a story that will appeal to not only fantasy lovers but also to those who are looking for an engaging story with wonderful art. Im curious to see more of Bonnie's warrior powers and I want to explore the Dark Lands and see what Lord Golgotha has planned for them. The only disappointment I have is that I have to wait for the next issue. Seriously, get into it and embark on a journey!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #4

Jan 24, 2017

Reborn #4 launches straight into action. Bonnie is going through some epic changes and right now it seems like nothing can halt her in her quest to find Harry. All in all, its an impressive issue with epic art, heroic battles and a few interesting plot developments. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy and be prepared to jump into the fray!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #5

Mar 24, 2017

Overall this is a slower-paced and more though-provoking issue of Reborn. During these quieter moments, its nice to see Bonnie reflect and ponder things, exploring her feelings and embracing her emotions. It feels like we are getting to know her more, as small fragments about her past and the way she looks at life is revealed to us. Im looking forward to venturing back into the Dark Lands with Bonnie and straight into the gates of hell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Once And Future Queen #1

Feb 22, 2017

The Once and Future Queen #1 is a story that will appeal to a younger audience wanting to familiarise themselves with the Arthurian tale with a modern twist. This interpretation seeks to make the story of Arthur a more believable in a real-world sense, whilst still trying to capture the magical essence of King Arthur. Its early days yet, so any world building or character development has yet to be established, so these things may unfold in later issues. Im curious to see where this story will go and how it will unfold and whether it can continue to drive forward in a fresh and original way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shaolin Cowboy: Who'll Stop the Reign? #1

Apr 12, 2017

The Shaolin Cowboy: Who'll Stop the Reign? #1 is a great introduction to this new story arc. Intense, wild and absurd, this issue is the beginning of something I'm excited to see unfold. Do yourself a favour and grab a copy ASAP, even if it's just to see Darrow's epic and amazing art. It really is something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #2

Sep 22, 2016

Mysterious, engaging and sinister, Witchfinder: City of the Dead #2 delivers us a dose of eldritch horror, steeped in awe and secrecy. The plot has thickened, as we are introduced to some interesting and unexpected developments. I look forward to reading the next issue and discovering more about this enigmatic story and unravelling the puzzle thats plaguing Sir Edward Grey. Do yourself a favour and pick up a copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #3

Oct 26, 2016

Witchfinder: City of the Dead #3 delivers us another exciting instalment to this mysterious case. The veil is finally being lifted, as we begin to unravel more to this case steeped in secrecy and mystery. Im thoroughly enjoying this dark Victorian horror set in the Mignolaverse and I highly recommend that you grab yourself a copy ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #4

Nov 29, 2016

Witchfinder: City of the Dead #4 delivers us another spine tingling instalment to this uncanny story. The mood is tense and filled with a sense of unease, which matches Greys concerned and troubled mind. Im excited to see how this story will end and what will happen to Grey as he courts damnation and tries to save London and his Queen.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #5

Dec 27, 2016

Overall, Ive really enjoyed this Witchfinder story. The tension slowly built, which really drove the narrative forward in an ominous and foreboding way. I found the story gripping, the characters compelling and it all came together to give us a sinister and atmospheric story. A story that many of us have been waiting to be told. Im excited to see what will happen next for Sir Edward Grey.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More