Dylan Hicks's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 50
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
4001 A.D. #1

May 5, 2016

All in all, this is an A+ book kicking off another A+ event from Valiant Entertainment. I mean, what is there not to like? David immediately draws you in with beautiful charcoal work, while Clayton slams you with one of the best visuals any publisher could ever ask for. All of this accompanying Matt Kindt, who has shown time and time again what an incredible talent he is. Get out there and buy this book, specifically that bitching variant from Ryan Lee. 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
4001 A.D. #2

Jun 13, 2016

So far, 4001A.D. has been my favorite summer event of the year, from any comic book company. Co-creators Matt Kindt and Clayton Crain have pulled together all of their resources, along with other great writers and artists at Valiant, to bring us this great epic. This is this kind of unique writing, and artistic talent that the industry desperately needs to emulate. And even with the rocky start, the ending easily earns this issue 4 out of 5 stars. Everyone needs to be buying this crossover. If you are curious about the previous 3 event issues, check out their review I did to help solidify your purchase. And stay tuned for more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
4001 A.D. #3

Aug 2, 2016

Overall, Matt and Clayton's collaboration just gets better with each passing issue. This is an incredible event, that stems from a well constructed theme. If you are not buying these issue, you need to. The art is gorgeous, and the writing is engaging. Well worth your $12 dollars. Hell, I even suggest gathering all of the tie-ins, but that is just one man's opinion. I give this issue 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
4001 A.D. #4

Sep 2, 2016

There you have it folks! Get out there and pick up any issues of this event, or the Rai series, that you maybe missing. Between the fantastic writing, art, and letters from many different teams, I would have to rate this event, and the this issue, a 6 out of 5 stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: Bloodshot #1

Jun 28, 2016

Overall, this book was amazing. Every facet of Jeff's scripts were concise: the plot, dialogue, world building, and exposition. Coupling that with Doug's gorgeous line work, and Brian's stunning colors this issue easily takes home 4.5 out of 5 stars. That being said, get this book. And the rest of 4001 A.D.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
4001 A.D.: Shadowman #1

Jul 19, 2016

Oh, and if you are buying a hard copy, be sure to get that Meghan Hetrick variant!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: Warmother #1

Aug 5, 2016

Which actually can be said about this book as a whole. Like all of the other one-shot tie-ins for this event, War Mother could have easily stood on its own. Fred's world-building, dialogue, and story were incredible. Along with Tomas and Brian's gorgeous artwork. Valiant does it yet again with another stellar tie-in to this summer's best event. 4001A.D. Definitely a buy for me. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: X-O Manowar #1

May 13, 2016

All together, Robert, Clayton, Brian, and Andrew told a great story with this issue, and an even better tie-in. Do not miss this event. It, like every other Valiant summer event, is going to pale Rebirth and Civil War II. Why? Because it is not a cheap rehash. So get out there and buy! 4.5 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #2

Apr 15, 2016

Well before I ramble on and spoil the book for everyone, I will leave you with this: BUY THIS BOOK. This creative team is at the peak of their game here, making another home run hit for Valiant. I'd give it 6 out of 5 stars if I could, but I am settling for 5 out of 5. Seriously, though, get it. Now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Badger #1

Feb 4, 2016

All in all, this book was very surprising. When I first saw the cover, I thought Oh great, another '90s homage. But I was wrong. This was a great issue that covered some deeptopics of war and illness. The entire creative team did a great job, and I am interested to see what they do with the next issue. I highly suggest the read to anyone interested. I give Badger #1, 3.5 stars out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Eyed Kids #1

Apr 20, 2016

By the end of reading this issue, all I wanted was more. More answers, more story, and more art. Seriously, this book had everything: a well thought out plot, a consistent pace, clear yet mysterious art, and tone setting color. Black Eyed Kids #1 easily earns 5 out of 5 stars. PICK THIS UP!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bob's Burgers (2015) #9

Mar 2, 2016

All in all, Bob's Burgers issue nine was great. I think that adding 'Tina's Island' as part of Tina's Erotic Friend Fiction was clever and witty. Not to mention the fact that 'The Why Files' was indeed 'meta' for the comic book industry as a whole. And the art and poetry for Gene-As Touch was impressive. I suggest the buy if you want more from the cast of Bob's Burgers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Britannia #1

Sep 30, 2016

There is not a single part of this issue that I could find a flaw with. Moreover, this story, so far, seems to be separate from the Valiant Universe, so new readers can jump on board without any prior knowledge about the shared universe. This kind of writing and art is exactly what Valiant needs to be concentrating on, branching away from the norm and bringing something entirely new to the industry; quality over quantity, a motto that has always been synonymous with their brand.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Brutal Nature #4

Aug 4, 2016

With all of this in mind, I am almost ashamed that I grabbed this book purely based off of the title, but I am glad that I did. Luciano and Ariel did an amazing job with this issue. Both the writing and the art was incredible. I highly suggest picking this book up. As for me, I am going to hunt down the back issues to see how it all started. I give Brutal Nature #4 a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Chew: Demon Chicken Poyo #1

Apr 20, 2016

In the end, John mocks his own plot and leaves the readers with the moral of the trilogy, giving some decent resolution for deal ol' Poyo. Oh, and he did do a killer job of turning that Christmas story into a poem. That, coupled with the vibrant art of Rob, definitely made this final issue unique. Unfortunately, uniqueness does not imply quality. If you are addicted to Chew, or this trilogy, definitely grab this, but otherwise I would wait until the digital version goes on sale. I give Chew: Demon Chicken Poyo #1 2.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Codename Baboushka: The Conclave of Death #5

Mar 10, 2016

Baboushka number 5 was a fun read, and it harkens back to my love for the Bond films. The art is beautiful, and with a few tweaks to the dialogue this story has potential to be something spectacular. Definitely pick this one up if you are invested. Otherwise, if you are new to the series, I would wait until the new arc starts in the next issue. I give this one 3.5 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Conan: The Slayer #1

Jul 21, 2016

It is because of the art that I have to give this issue a 3 out of 5. Sergio and Michael did such a good job, they deserve the recognition. Same with the letterers Richard Starking and Comicraft. And while the story was bland, I also have to credit to Cullen for trying to bring out the beauty in an otherwise barbaric world. I wouldn't buy it myself, but if you really need some Conan… go for it I guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadly Class #19

Mar 3, 2016

Overall, this issue of Deadly Class was good. The art was great, the colors were fantastic, and the writing was well structured. If you are new to the series, I would not start here. However, if you have been keeping up, I would suggest you pick this up. It may not be a necessary issue, but it is always fun going further into Rick's mind. I give Deadly Class #19, 3.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dejah Thoris #5

Jun 15, 2016

All in all, I have to say that I actually enjoyed this new volume of Dejah Thoris. Frank, Francesco, and Morgan definitely took me by surprise with this one. The writing was concise, and the art was gorgeous. So, if you are into this mythos, or any kind of sword-and-shield fantasy, pick this one up. I give Dejah Thoris #5, 3.5 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dept. H #1

Mar 23, 2016

The title is very creative. To the naked eye, it seems a bit on the nose, but if you think about it further, especially as you continue through the story, you can see how much it resonates to the theme of the book. Matt's talent is just unbelievable here. All of the mannerisms he puts into each character tells a larger story than the words could ever. And just like in MIND MGMT, Matt's pencils and inks in this book are, and will be, incredible. I give Dept. H 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dreaming Eagles #3

Mar 3, 2016

All in all, this is a must buy issue, if not series. The art alone is worth the money, so adding in Garth's scripts make it a steal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Zero #1

Aug 26, 2016

In fact, good job team. When I first heard that this was going to be a new title, I was a little nervous. Joshua Dysart and Duane Swierczynski did such an amazing job creating and cultivating these character, and I didn't want to see them ruined. That was until I realized that Fred Van Lente was on the docket. I could not have chosen a better writer to pick up after those two creators, and, like I said, the new creative team did not disappoint. This on-going title is super promising. If you love sci-fi, goth chicks, female leads, young superheroes, or Valiant, then you have to get this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Valley #1

Oct 6, 2016

However, even with the amazing art, I still have to give this book a 2.5 out 5. Max's work was just not up to par with the quality I have grown to expect from Image, which begs the question, how did his script get picked up in the first place? Needless to say, save your money, unless you really want to support the artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 #1

Sep 14, 2016

The art from Stephen was fantastic, and I really wished I got the opportunity to see how him and Dave collaborated on it, but the writing just wasn't all there. I really wish I could say it was mind-blowing, and that this was a great beginning of the end for Mignola, but I refuse to lie. There is still potential for this arc to get better, but I would seriously just suggest waiting until the trade came out. Unless you are a die-hard Mignola/Hellboy fan; then you might as well just get this arc issue by issue out of principle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
House of Penance #1

Mar 16, 2016

All of that aside, House of Penance was a fun read. The art was perfect, and the writing was sinister. Definitely pick this one up if you are into horror or westerns. I'm picking it up for the splash page of the Winchester mansion alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Imperium #13

Feb 17, 2016

All in all, this is another amazing issue of Imperium. I have really come to expect nothing less than perfect from this series, and this team definitely delivered. Joshua did an amazing job writing. He emphatically hands out thought-provoking themes and haunting plots, while simultaneously not treating the reader like a halfwit. It is also great to see Khari back in action, and I cannot wait to see what else he has in store for this arc. And as per usual, Ulises did a great job highlighting Khari's art. Oh, and another shout out to Dave for a great job on the letters. Thank you for not cluttering the panels, it is appreciated. I highly suggest this book to anyone and everyone, along with the last 12 issues. It is not only worth the $4, but also the 15 minutes to read and 2 hours to ponder.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Imperium #16

May 31, 2016

All in all, I could not have more mixed feeling about Imperium #16. While Joshua and his team made one of the best single issues of the better part of a decade, I am heartbroken to see it go. I have not a single bit of criticism for this book. Joshua's script, as always, was thought provoking; Khari and Ulises' art was emotionally driven; and Dave's letters pulled the rest of it together. It has been a hell of a run for Imperium. I suggest that everyone go buy all 16 issues because I truly believe it should be up there with The Saga of Swamp Thing, Strangers in Paradise, and Sandman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Interceptor #2

Feb 12, 2016

Interceptor is definitely something to keep in mind if you are looking for some obscure sci-fi. There are a couple of minor complications in the dialogue, but that should not deter from the obvious talent this creative team has. Both Donny and Dylan seem to be having a lot of fun with this series, and they have a lot of coals in the fire. I am interested to see what comes next, and I suggest picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lake of Fire #1

Oct 10, 2016

All in all, this was a fun issue to read. Matt and Nathan make a great artist/writer team. Matt's lines were fantastic, as were Nathan's colors. And while the writing may not have been perfect, it was far from the worst script to come across my desk. Definitely pick this one up. If the art isn't selling it, maybe this will. 44-pages for $4 is a killer deal. I give Lake of Fire 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #3

Mar 9, 2016

If you are already following the story, and a long time fan of Leaving Megalopolis, I would definitely say pick it up. However, if you are new, I would not start with this one; try some of Gail and Jim's older issues, from the first series, and make up your mind from there. I give this issue 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mercy Sparx #11

Apr 7, 2016

My verdict is that Mercy Sparx #11 is a really fun book. Even with the few pages that lose your attention, I definitely suggest this book if you are into works like Wicked + Divine. Or if you are a fan of the movie Dogma. 3.5 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #12

Feb 10, 2016

Besides two minor complications, this was another wonderful issue by this creative team/s and Valiant Entertainment. Matt Kindt has been doing some incredible things with Ninjak, going places I never thought he would go. But he has not done it by himself. This issue specifically was greatly influenced by the art team. Each story, Operation Deadside and The Lost Files, had a unique texture to each of them, which made the issue worth every dime. I also would like to give credit to the letterer, Dave Sharpe. His captions and speech bubbles were perfectly placed. They never got in the way of the art, and they also outlined defining moments in each panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Past Aways #9

Mar 30, 2016

All together though, Past Aways #9 was a great read and a very dark conclusion to the story. Matt did a good job of wrapping things up, and Scott did just as good of a job interpreting Matt's script. If you are in the market for reflecting on your own mortality, or just want a dark time caper, this is the book for you. I am buying this issue for the last eight pages alone. I give Past Aways #9, 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plutona #4

Feb 24, 2016

Either way, though, Jeff's scripts were outstanding this issue. And the artists, Emi and Jordie, did a great job interpreting them together, as if they were just a single artist, Emordie Bellenox. I recommend this issue to everyone who reads this. It is well worth the money, and time, spent. Plutona #4 definitely deserves 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum Teens Are Go #1

Feb 15, 2017

Altogether, this issue was very fun to read. Both the art and the writing have me excited for the next issue. They somehow managed to take a watercolored, self-published, indie book with the finish of the mainstream, big budget, comic. I am definitely giving Quantum Teens Are a Go a buy, and if you cannot afford it now at least get the trade once it is out. Easily 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #13

May 31, 2016

On it's own, Rai #13 measures up to be one of the best issues in the series; so it is only natural to say that it is THE best issue of the 4001A.D. event to date. As an origin story, I could not possibly ask for more from this team. Between Matt's scripts, Cafu's linework, and Dave's color, Rebirth and Civil War II tie-ins are going to pale in comparison. So get this book, and the other two issues of 4001A.D., and the last 12 issues of Rai, right now; you can thank me later. I give this 5 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #14

Jun 29, 2016

Now, if there is anything you should take away from this review, it is this: buy this arc! Really, you should be buying the entirety of the 4001 A.D. event, but this arc is the cream of the crop. Matt, Cafu, Andrew, and crew did a great job with this story, adding depth and beauty beyond my wildest expectations. 6 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #15

Jul 27, 2016

And so is the entire book. The writing, the art, the lettering, and the editing… it is all the kind of quality one should expect from the creators at Valiant. I want to thank all of the creators for this arc, and I honestly cannot wait for the conclusion next month. I give Rai 15, 6 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #16

Aug 25, 2016

From the first Rai to the current one, this team has done an astonishing job respecting and building continuity. All together they managed to build one of the most rich histories I have ever seen in a graphic novel format. More specifically this issue is officially my third favorite comic from Valiant, right behind Harbinger #3 and Imperium #12. I give this issue a 6 out of 5 stars. Meaning that you need to get off this site and go buy it!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Slab #5

Sep 16, 2016

I am going to end the review here, before I start being mean for no reason. To recap, the art was amazing, but the writing needs a ton of work; from both the editorial team and the writing team. It was a little over the top to have 11 creators for a 23 page comic book, but who am I to limit creative teamwork? I would not suggest buying this book unless you are a die-hard Night of the Living Dead or Double Take fan. Slab #5 gets 2 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Soul #5

Sep 16, 2016

Unfortunately that doesn't make up for the rest of the issue. I am fine with six different artists working on one book, especially if their work is easy on the eyes. I am fine with the weird and outdated nostalgia driven theme. I am even fine with a few piece of out-of-context dialogue, but I draw the line at poor pacing. It is an aspect that, when poorly handled, can ruin your book, which it did. Unless you are a die-hard fan of Night of the Living Dead, or unless you must have every book the Double Press releases, I would not suggest buying this book. Normally I would have given two stars for the good art, but I decided to go with 2.5 since Michael did do a fun bit of character development at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Space Battle Lunchtime #2

Jun 16, 2016

To conclude, I loved this issue. In particular my favorite part of the was when Natalie started telling the story of Peony off camera. It was a terribly fun deviation. The art, writing, lettering, and paneling were excellent. So much so that I am going down to Mile High Comics and adding Space Battle Lunchtime to my pull list. I suggest you all do the same. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shadow Glass #1

Feb 25, 2016

All in all, I was very astounded by this read. Aly is a fantastic artist, and his twenty years of experience in the animation industry has definitely paid off well. This story is captivating, and I cannot wait to see what happens next. Everyone should get out there and request their local retailer for this book. And if you cannot do that, definitely snag it online. I give The Shadow Glass #1, 4 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Transformers: Robots In Disguise #50

Feb 24, 2016

All in all, this issue was very big. And with that comes all sorts of possible complications. Luckily the few that were present did not ruin the entire story. The writing and coloring had their problems, but overall the rest of the issue was very well done. If you are new to the series, this maybe a difficult starting point, but nothing you cannot workout for yourself. I would recommend the buy if you are curious about the new Transformer mythos. Congratulations John on your 50th issue. I give Transformers #50, 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Unleash #1

Apr 13, 2016

All together, I would say that Unleash #1 is off to a decent start. Like I said before, the plot is to similair to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but that does not take away from the clear talent from both Jennifer and El. They really did do a great job with the script. And so did the artists. If you have the cash to spare, check this one out, otherwise I would wait for the trade to see how it pans out. I give it 3 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Valiant High #2

Mar 22, 2017

I guess I can really say that about this whole series so far. I love it! Daniel has done an amazing job making something unique and fun over at Valiant, while still respecting the past creators. This was made easy with the help of some great talent from his co-creators Derek and David.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Victorie City #2

Feb 4, 2016

Every book has their strengths and weaknesses, some more than others. This issue may have had some moments where the art was a little murky, and the writing was drawn-out, but overall it was a solid story. The art was fresh and visually stunning, the narrative was spooky and mysterious, and the dialogue was engaging and to the point, with evident help from the letterer. I highly recommend this book. I, myself, am going out to buy the first issue to catch up. Victorie City gets 4 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X'ed #2

Mar 30, 2016

Either way, X'ed #2 was another incredible issue from Black Mask. The art team alone should be more than a good enough reason to pick this up. Between Tony's dialogue, and the stunning pages by Ayhan and Doug, this series is looking like another smash hit. Get out there and buy it. 4 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #44

Feb 3, 2016

This is a spectacular issue of X-O Manowar. Between Venditti's strong scripts, Gill's stunning art, and Arreola's splendid colors, I cannot wait until issue #45.This is the kind of collaboration that elevates the medium. Moreover, this issue, and it's creative team, is a great example of the quality that continues to flow from Valiant. A publisher not afraid to handle delicate subjects on equality and diversity with mature, subtle, themes. X-O Manowar #44 gets 4.5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Xena: Warrior Princess #1

Apr 14, 2016

As much as it pains me, I have to give Xena: Warrior Princess #1 2 out of 5 stars. Genevieve tried hard to refresh the reader's memory on the new status quo of this universe, but what came out was jumbled exposition. And the art, though well done, did not break the mold enough for me to be able to suggest the purchase. Though I wouldn't knock the book off just yet. Let's give it a few issues and see if things improve.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

More