Garret Tumey's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Slackjaw Punks Reviews: 14
9.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Assassin's Creed: Reflections #1

Feb 11, 2017

I've played several of the Assassin's Creed video games, and one of the things I love is the complexities of the story lines. This comic is no different, building several different plots in layers and then bringing them together almost intertwining with the larger universe. The art is just as amazing, with a playful almost animated style easily conveying movement within the panels. The over-saturation of blue in the Animus lab makes me feel like I'm playing one of the games. With bright greens and washed browns in France, has a look like you could really there. With an abundance of great characters that people have grown to love, this is perfect for next chapter in the comic book line. It's not hard to see why the franchise is such a success, that all started with the release of Assassin's Creed a decade ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Black #4

Feb 8, 2017

I've been enjoying this comic, it definitely takes the normal superhero stereotype and flips it on it's head. Osajyefo's writing style is organic feeling, the dialogue not only makes each character feel real. But also each characters dialect is different, making them more individual and even connected to a certain location. The art reflects the subject matter with no color only black and white, with incredibly detailed shading with many variable tones. I can't wait to see how the story ends and if Kareem will uncover the whole truth.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Death Be Damned #1

Feb 8, 2017

This comic has lots of potential, however I thought the thing most lacking was information. I wanted to know so much more, what was this woman like before, where did she come from? Most of all, what the hell happened to make all of this come about?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Grass Kings #1

Mar 7, 2017

Grass Kings is definitely something different than your typical extremist group who lives on the fringe of society. The Grass Kingdom has a rich history based on the land and the people who live there. The characters seem so rooted into the community and genuine to the place. The art is very amazing, with watercolors reminiscent of Jeff Lamire. Including refined backgrounds and spread's that bring the Grass Kingdom to life. The unexpected twist at the end also has me very interested in the next issue. Be sure to grab the first issue and take a trip to the Grass Kingdom.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #12

Feb 14, 2017

Make sure you don't miss this issue, and if you haven't read the series at all, just remember to when you were a kid running around screaming ""It's Morphin' Time!".

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 1, 2017

All and all I really enjoyed this comic, and can't wait for the rest to come out to see if Cornelius saves his world with peace or uses the ring as a weapon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Quantum Teens Are Go #1

Feb 25, 2017

I picked up Kim & Kim #1 on a whim, Black Mask was still new to me as a company and I had never heard of the creators either.I was captivated not only by the art, but the writing and overall design of the book. The characters not only match their environment, but they feel like real people with history. This series is no different, I love Science Fiction and you can tell that Visaggio does as well. With lots of robots, futuristic weapons, insane vehicles (Kim's space van), and fictional careers. Quantum Teens should be on your read if you're into any of that, and I can't wait to see who or what they pull out of time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Savage Things #1

Mar 1, 2017

Savage Things is just that, fucking savage! It's seriously refreshing to see something as gory and sick as this. I know it's not super scarce, but from bigger companies it is, and I get why. They try to put out books almost anyone, and parents aren't going to be rushing out to get their kids something like this. It is perfect for people like myself who like graphic content but aren't necessarily into the horror genre. Jordan also preyed on my love of secret government conspiracy and biblical reference. Such a crazy fucked up start to a series, I cant even imagine where it will go next. Make sure to pick this up to find out for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Super Sons #1

Feb 15, 2017

This is the comic I've been wanting to read for almost a freaking year! Seriously, I have never been super into the DCU except for the key players (i.e. Batman, Superman, Flash etc). However with the whole Rebirth event I decided to completely dive in. Jonathon Kent and Damian Wayne were two characters that really stood out to me, not only as individuals, but also whenever they're around each other. Damian's over confidence and constant cockiness, plays well off Jon's uncertainly and short fuse. After the first time I read them in the same book I instantly thought, there has to be a book with these two. This proves that DC does make wishes come true, and it does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Dregs #1

Jan 22, 2017

Nadler and Thompson construct a macabre look at modern urban cities, and take close note to not only the corporate renovations, but also how these changes affect the people less thought of within the cities. Zawadzki's art directly reflects the depression and despair that is life in the Dregs, while Cunniffe's choice in color palette completely match's the dark tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dregs #2

Feb 27, 2017

Just when I thought The Dregs could not get any better, it shows me how wrong I am.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Flintstones #8

Feb 2, 2017

Russell and Pugh keep this satirical Goliath going, with another substantial issue of the latest incarnation, of the worlds most lovable prehistoric family. I've been a fan since issue one, Russell frames story arcs in a similar style of the original sitcom cartoon that was suitable for all ages. The present series is geared more for young teens or older, since most of the stories deal with real modern day cultural issues. That being said, it's not hard to see why it's so good, Russell has brought the Flintstones back into modern culture.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The Power of the Dark Crystal #1

Feb 21, 2017

This issue was totally awesome! I was not a super fan of The Dark Crystal, but I freaking love Jim Henson! His imaginative characters and incredibly complex stories made an empire, plus made his and many of his creationshousehold names. This series will not disappoint fans of the movies, because well, it's based off a script written by Henson himself. It was originally meant to be a movie, but because of many different problems, it was never made. Which is a super bummer, but Boom! was able to bring it back and this should be an amazing nine issue's.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Vampirella (2017) #0

Feb 1, 2017

Broxton's futuristic landscape is beautiful yet eerie, with specific detail to facial expressions of the characters. The way he uses shading to making shadows add another layer to everything is also amazing. Cornell's writing complements the art perfectly, with very wholehearted dialogue between his characters. Vamirella herself is no exception either, deducing clues, while being strong and confident. I can't wait to read what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

5th

March

More