Jessica Nilo Alves's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 13
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 16, 2017

Batwoman #1 is an improvement from the overbearingly dense Rebirth issue. The art is unique, but the color is conflicting with the lines. The plot shows promise and the new characters are being well introduced, and the cliffhanger at the end might lead to some intricate plot points.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 20, 2017

This is a flawed issue, but the negative sides are outweighed by the positive. With compelling new characters and some revelations made about the main threat, Batwoman #2 is an essential plot point for this story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #3

May 18, 2017

This issue is one step away from being filler, but it gets some threads on the right path for the conclusion coming in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #4

Jun 22, 2017

The arc wraps up nicely, solving the most immediate danger at hand and leaving open interesting plot lines to be explored in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman (2017) #5

Jul 20, 2017

Aside from the sublime artwork on this issue, the tale also helps us understand where Kate, Safiyah and Tahani stand on each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #6

Aug 17, 2017

The Fall of the Batmen will be continuing on November in the pages of Detective Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 16, 2017

Overall, this issue is good for those looking for a fast way to get acquainted with Batwoman's background, but I do feel that it is not really essential for the plot to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #1

Feb 17, 2017

As for Jimenez's art and Alejandro Sanchez's colors I can only describe it as beautiful, expressive and fun. The arms and legs of the bullies sticking out of the monstrous snowball had me chuckling as a kid. I can't deny that I was expecting Patrick Gleason to be the artist, considering his history with Damian in Robin: Son of Batman, but Jimenez and Sanchez had me with their Superman Annual, and from that moment on I was even more hooked for this book. If the following issues are of the same quality as this one, this is sure to bethe all-ages comic book that so much people had been waiting for, and I can't wait to try and bring the kids in my family over to the geeky side of the force with the help of Robin and Superboy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #2

Mar 17, 2017

It is only issue #2 of this series, but I feel like we are in for an amazing ride. Kid Amazo has been built based on show-don't-tell, a rare thing in comics, and the subplots are keeping a good stride to the pacing of the storytelling. With a strong plot, fun dialogue and amazing art, there is almost no negative sides to point out in Super Sons, except that it only comes out once every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #3

Apr 21, 2017

A fast-paced issue that manages to continue with the storyline while still delivering a large amount of action. Tomasi further develops Kid Amazos back story and Jimenez manages to put a great variety of action images together.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #4

May 19, 2017

This is a comic book directed at a young audience, with children as the main characters, a kid villain and ending with a parental scolding, yet it constitutes one of the most mature titles in the DC line. A fun, well rounded final issue for what was the first story arc of Super Sons, leaving us wanting more of what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Sons #5

Jun 23, 2017

Overall: A humorous, well-developed filler issue, with some unforgettable panels and dialogue. Alisson Borges holds Jorge Jimenezs torch with honors and Tomasi continues being one of the best writers when it comes to characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #6

Jul 21, 2017

Overall: Tomasi builds an issue heavily influenced by old school super hero stories, which works perfectly for two heroes-on-build such as Robin and Superboy. Jimenez returns with full force to the title, giving us the best Teen Titans depiction at this moment in DC Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More