Jim Remolde's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 113
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #1

Jun 3, 2015

It was fun to see the Jokerz and I would like to see more exploration of this time, but I am buckled in for this ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #2

Jul 1, 2015

Overall, it is a good issue but I was left with wanting more which may be what the creators are hoping for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #3

Aug 5, 2015

This title continues to draw me in and I cannot wait for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #4

Sep 2, 2015

The final reveal of the battle suit would have been cool if the suit was actually the Thrasher armor we saw Bruce wear when the Talons attacked the Batcave. Instead it almost looks like the War Machine armor from Iron Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond (2015) #5

Oct 7, 2015

This issue ends with the cliffhanger that may or may not have something to do with the Court of Owls. Could it be a Talon and if so how can Tim trust fighting side by side with a Talon? I guess I will have to wait a month to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #6

Nov 11, 2015

I liked Inque in this issue as well. It showed a different side of her than the villain we have seen before. She truly loved her daughter enough to sacrifice herself for her. She knew that the plan had to succeed and her one goal was the safety of her daughter. Now that Brother Eye is seemingly destroyed I am interested in seeing where this story will go from here. Will we see more members of the Justice League beyond? This issue was a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #7

Dec 2, 2015

Interesting read but it did not wow me as much as the other issues did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #8

Jan 7, 2016

Overall, this was an average issue that just did not hold my attention. I am hoping that this arc gets better but only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #9

Feb 4, 2016

The issue had good action beats and I was happy to see the League but the final revelation of Dr. Cuvier left me confused. Who is this man and why should I care?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond (2015) #10

Mar 3, 2016

This issue shows a marked improvement in this title and I am excited for the next issue this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #11

Apr 6, 2016

Overall the issue was enjoyable but again no wow factor here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #12

May 5, 2016

To the story itself. Not a lot happens here as this is only set up for a four part story. We clean up a little plot point from the Metropolis story line in revisiting Rewire but here we see he is working with an unknown partner. The main crux of this issue was the fight in which the batsuit stops functioning. What caused this failure, was it Rewires attack or something else. To answer that we will have to continue to follow this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #13

Jun 2, 2016

Overall, it was a solid, good issue, but some places would be a little hard to follow for the casual reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #14

Jul 7, 2016

Overall this is a good issue, we get into the character of Terry. He shows that he is growing from being a thrill seeker to being a responsible crime fighter. I still want to know how Terry ended up here now as Rewire. I hope to find that out next issue since that will be the last issue of this arc. I hope this issue is the calm before the storm.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #16

Sep 8, 2016

With that said, this was a good wrap up. We get the return of Terry McGinnis, the reunion of him with Matt. We also get a resolution to Matts resentment to Tim that permeated this run. I do want to see where the new series will lead, but I already miss Tim Drake.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #1

Oct 27, 2016

So far, this is proving to be a good opening arc and it is good to see some callbacks to the pre-Rebirth Batman Beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #2

Nov 24, 2016

This issue has two goals. The first goal is to give the story of the death of the Joker and and the second goal is to push the story forward. I believe both is effectively done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #3

Dec 28, 2016

Overall, there is not a lot of action, but the story does progress and that I think is a positive move.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #4

Jan 26, 2017

The issue had good action and moved the story forward as well as opened the door for some character development of Terry and Danas relationship.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #5

Feb 23, 2017

It was a satisfying issue story wise, but it was not so much fun for a comic book. It was good, but disappointingly, it was not a wow overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 27, 2017

Overall I liked the art in this issue. It effectively showed the action and the reader is able to follow the action by just looking at the art. The story is also interesting. We get some reveals especially in the nature of Terrys suit, but are left with some questions that need to be answered. The end of issue reveal of Ras al Ghul is also incomplete since we only see him wearing a Demons head and we do not get a shot of his face. Is he really Ras or someone else? Only reading the next issue will hopefully answer some of those questions. Overall, aninteresting story and engaging art for this time around.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman Annual #2

Apr 2, 2015

This issue is a mixed bag for me. On its own it was and exciting issue with several fights and planning and saving the day. The problem I have is that this takes place right after the first issue of this arc five to six months in real time later. I did not remember the details of the issue after trudging through the six issues in between that was an extended flashback. I understand creative story telling however with this large of a gap I do not think that this works. I had to dig out issue #35 and skim it to see what happened to Etrigan in space and how was he separated from the others. I also had to review the Red Alice situation and the fact that in order to save her, Ragman had to snatch her soul as he would do an unrepentant villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman #39

Feb 19, 2015

I am happy to see a less insane side of Beth and it is good to see her patrolling the city with her sister. Now that we have the team together lets see where the next issue goes. I am hopeful for a satisfactory ending to this series but I see a lot still needs to be covered. It started slow but the mini battle in the end gave this issue action and we have a cliffhanger that makes me want to see the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman #40

Mar 19, 2015

I am glad this Nocturna story line is over and I am looking forward to the confrontation of Batwomans team with Morgaine in the annual. I am looking forward to seeing Batwoman not second guessing herself and ready to lead this team. I am sorry to see this title ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: Detective Comics #1

Apr 29, 2015

I enjoyed the banter Dick and Helena had in the beginning of this issue and I liked seeing who the Red Son Superman was. I did not like Helenas action in the end even leading to her believed death. I liked seeing both sides of this story however I have a problem with the Huntresses final actions in this issue. Let us see how this ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Convergence: Detective Comics #2

May 27, 2015

I was disappointed in this closing even after the strong debut of the previous issue. I liked the arc of Huntress with the Russian Batman but there were still too many questions left open in this the conclusion of the Convergence event. How does this affect the Crisis on Infinite Earths if it even happened at all?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: New Teen Titans #1

Apr 23, 2015

This series is showing to be one of the better series of this Convergence event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Convergence: New Teen Titans #2

May 21, 2015

I would have liked to have seen more of an interaction between Dick and Kory but I found the ending of their struggle to be satisfying. I would have liked to have seen more about what Donna felt was so wrong at the end of the issue. Were they really on earth or which earth and I would have liked to have seen a more satisfying ending especially as this is the last issue of this miniseries. Did the Titans return to the pre crisis Earth-1 or will we see them join the other heroes in the Convergence main title fighting Deimos.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Convergence: The Question #1

Apr 10, 2015

There is not a lot of action but there was good character development especially with this Harvey Dent. I am curious as to the relationship of the Huntress and Renee. Are they living together and if so are they lovers? It was reveled in New 52 that Batwoman and Renee were lovers themselves at one time. I am interested to see where this is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: The Question #2

May 7, 2015

The u and the Batwoman jealousy dropped my enjoyment of this issue but overall a very solid issue to conclude this two parter.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
DC Rebirth Holiday Special #1

Dec 16, 2016

There were a couple of good moments, but overall this was not an engaging issue for me. It was even extremely difficult writing this review with all the various mini stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: Society #2

Jul 10, 2015

This issue leaves me with a lot of questions that I want answered. I did feel it was slow in placed but it leaves me wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham By Midnight Annual #1

Jul 30, 2015

My question with this issue involves Drake. We clearly see Craddock kiss her before the Spectre seems to get him. Was he able to transfer his soul into Drake with this kiss and as a result allow his body to disappear? Drake does look strange in the last panel of the book. I hope we see an aftermath of this issue soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham By Midnight #6

Jun 26, 2015

It was also refreshing to see this as a standalone issue. In essence minus the flower and the introduction of Kate Spencer this was a one and done story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham By Midnight #7

Jul 23, 2015

I liked the art as with the previous issue and it was good to see the Spectre in action again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham By Midnight #8

Aug 27, 2015

I was happy to see the black blossom subplot move forward a bit but I am interested in what is the warning that Tarr believes the blossoms to be giving. Will Tarr be able to move his research further with the Shift being shutdown?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Gotham By Midnight #9

Sep 24, 2015

For my rating, I just did not like the graphic violence depicted here, I think this is the worse example of violence I have seen in modern comics in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham By Midnight #10

Oct 29, 2015

I liked this issue however I did not see too much advancement in the plot. With the bulk of this issue being a police chase, it has the appearance of being a filler issue. The most advancement we got is from Dr. Tarr and his investigation of the black flower. Does he see Justine in the end, we the readers are only left guessing. We are also left guessing about the fate of Corrigan and Drake, did they die in the crash or did the Spectre save them under the orders of Corrigan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham By Midnight #11

Dec 3, 2015

It also gave me questions for the next issue. What happened to Tarr, what is his power? Do we see an angel or is this God in the closing splash. I cannot wait for the next issue and I am sad that it is being cancelled.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham By Midnight #12

Dec 24, 2015

This was a great send off for a great book and I give this issue five batarangs for a satisfying if not bitter sweet ending. I would like to recommend this entire series, it had some down points but overall this was an enjoyable read and I am sad to not see some of the plot threads completed such as the Lisa Drake thread form the Annual.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #5

Sep 23, 2016

The issue was a great, but definitely not a great jumping on point, that will have to wait until next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #6

Oct 7, 2016

I am interested to see where the Superman/Batman rivalry will go and what is it that Aquaman wanted Dianas help with. This is still proving to be a strong title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #14

Feb 3, 2017

What this issue misses in action, it gains in characterization. I particularly liked that we got into the hearts and minds of Batman, Superman, and the two Green Lanterns. I also enjoyed Wonder Woman's insistence that they operate as a team and not as a group. From hearing the members plan an attack we the readers never see, we get the idea that they truly heard Diana's admonition.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #15

Feb 17, 2017

I do not have a lot of comments on this issue as I really do not have any idea where this story is going, but I did like it for what it was. It was an attention grabber and I want to see where this is going to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #19

Apr 21, 2017

This was basically your typical action issue to end the arc. This may be the only issue that completely followed a linear telling and that made this issue easier to follow which is not a complaint. I like different ways to tell a story and I for one do not mind thinking when I read comics. The action here is satisfying and each of the characters had their part in the final victory. On top of that we have a cliffhanger to keep us engaged with what will happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #20

May 5, 2017

Interesting story beginning, I am interested in seeing where this will go but my rating is a little lowerfor using the Groundhog Day trope.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #21

May 19, 2017

Overall, I am more interested in where this is leading than this story in particular.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2015) #9

Sep 2, 2016

I will give this issue a four batarangs, but I can see a lower rating for this being a stand alone issue. This story would probably come off better in trade which is basically how I have read it up till now. We shall see how my opinion changes after next issue when I will tackle that issue individually.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2015) #10

Dec 2, 2016

Overall the issue was okay, the art was a little wonky and I felt like the story was too easily wrapped up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #3

Jan 6, 2017

The issue was decent but its purpose here was more for exposition than action.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: Gods and Monsters - Batman #1

Jul 22, 2015

I cannot think of anything I disliked about this issue, I highly recommend it either in digital or print version and I am happy to add it to my collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Suicide Squad Annual #1

Oct 2, 2015

I found the Deadshot illness troubling but the Reverse Flash arc made up for that. We learned some things but are faced with new questions mainly how will Amanda fair in the field and what is Sages agenda. A very satisfactory read and I continue to look forward to this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Suicide Squad #9

Jun 12, 2015

It was a good issue but I cannot call it a great issue, but I also want to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Suicide Squad #10

Jul 10, 2015

I liked the character insights but I did get bored reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Suicide Squad #11

Aug 14, 2015

Finally this issue has moved into action. The story continues with Manta fully embedded and seemingly in full agreement with the League. I enjoyed bringing the rest of the Squad in and despite the failure in the mission it was still a solid strategy to use them to try to stop the League while allowing the principle members to remain under cover. Deadshot may have worked to stop the League but I do not know about Black Manta. We leave with a good cliffhanger Manta and Deadshot are still under cover and now the League has Boomerang, Parasite and Harley as their captives. What will Waller do now? Will she send anyone else in? I guess we will have to wait until next issue. Despite my high rating, I do believe that the Squad was taken out way too easily.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
New Suicide Squad #12

Sep 11, 2015

This issue has me asking a lot of questions about the different characters and I am really looking forward to see where we end up with this arc. New Suicide Squad is becoming my favorite book of the month and I hope the story can keep this level up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Suicide Squad #13

Oct 30, 2015

The issue was good but it did not have the character development I had been seeing in previous issues, but as a superhero comic the action delivered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #3

Aug 13, 2015

Unfortunately, I did know it was only a matter of time before Jason would be face to face with the Jim Gordon Batman and I hope that Gordon does not monopolize the next issue too much as personally I am not a fan of this new direction of Batman. The issue had good action for a set up issue and an interesting new villain but I guess we had to see the new Batman if Jason and Roy were going to Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #4

Sep 11, 2015

I will give this issue a 4.5 out of 5 batarangs. I am taking the last 0.5 for the appearance of the current Batman, but I am interested in seeing the three of them team up against Underbelly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #5

Oct 15, 2015

This issue was good, but again Batman hopefully for the last time but this time the added joy of Jokers Daughter as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #6

Nov 12, 2015

This issue was entertaining. I was a little concerned when I saw the introduction of Jokers Daughter in the end of last issue and other than the awkwardness of referring to her name in my synopsis I kind of enjoyed her. It is interesting to see her through the eyes of Jason Todd. He sees himself in her and that may not be far from the truth. I am interested in seeing how this arraignment will pan out with full dental.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #7

Dec 10, 2015

It was fun to see Arsenal and JD fight the three thugs but this was just a means to set up the next arc. Over all this Robin War story did not interrupt the Red Hood and Arsenal story. It just provided a transition to the new arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #8

Jan 14, 2016

There was not a lot of action in this issue and I did not get much of character development either. I am interested in seeing where this arc goes but this issue just did not hold my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #9

Feb 11, 2016

Duela is warming up to me and I am interested to see where this title might lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #10

Mar 10, 2016

Overall, the fight scenes were good but I am now even less sure about the Jokers Daughter and I am not sure if this series will survive Rebirth in order to give satisfying answers to the questions above.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #11

Apr 14, 2016

My rating is because of the mixing of these story lines. Individually, I am intrigued by the stories but together they do not work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #12

May 12, 2016

Overall, I like the action possibilities here but the Joker's Daughter story has left me cold.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #13

Jun 9, 2016

Leave this issue on the shelf. Only pick it up if you have to have the complete run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Six (2014) #2

Feb 13, 2015

Now that the Six are loose, what mayhem will ensue, only time will tell. I still have to get over the Ventriloquists presence and maybe she will have a better role to play in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Six (2014) #3

Jun 19, 2015

I enjoyed seeing Catmans costume. I like it, the mask he wears mixes in well with this hair and makes it look like the mask is a part of his face. It was good to see the team fight together but I do want to know what Wellss deal is and how does the Riddler fit in. I was bothered with the pacing of this story but I was excited to see the last panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Six (2014) #4

Jul 17, 2015

It appears that concepts were thrown in without any sense of the story. The only saving grace was the fight at the end was fun but that was just about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Secret Six (2014) #5

Aug 21, 2015

I still have an interest in what happens with this story but it is slowly becoming a train wreck and for that I will give this issue one batarang.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Six (2014) #6

Sep 18, 2015

I am becoming more and more intrigued with the Black Alice character. Here is the first time she says that she borrows the powers of others and I am interested in seeing what caused her to lose consciousness and stop breathing after identifying the Spectre. How will the Spectre factor in this story?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Six (2014) #7

Oct 23, 2015

Looking back to when Black Alice exhibited her powers I now see that for the most part they were these mystical characters. She became like Etrigan in one scene, she used the backwards magic of Zatanna in another scene and even in the last issue we saw her show Black Orchids powers. I like that this issue is starting an arc that will look closer into Black Alice and who she is and I cannot wait for the next issue. I prefer not to see Wells as Dibny even though that is how Blake addressed him on the phone call. What does Aquaman have to do with any of this as his powers are not magic based as far as I know but then again, I am not reading the current run of Aquaman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2014) Annual #1

Apr 3, 2015

My rating is for the action and the character pieces, though I did feel that the character pieces were drawn out probably to fill the higher page count of the annual.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) Annual #2

Jul 1, 2016

The good points. I enjoyed the action here, as it was fun to see the Titans use their powers to fight these creatures. It was also great to see Tim Drake as a detective. He relied on his powers of observation and deductions to solve the problem even though he was able to solve the problem a little too quickly. Unfortunately we are left with emo Tim Drake at the end of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #7

Feb 20, 2015

What I found most interesting is Raven. She seemed exhausted after she used her powers and that was not lost on Gar or Tim. I do not remember seeing this about her in the past and I am interested in seeing where the writers will take this story line.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Teen Titans (2014) #8

Mar 20, 2015

I generally believe that despite some of the good character scenes, this is a throw away issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #9

Jun 26, 2015

I liked the story and the questions that were brought up. I did not like the art. The characters seem elongated a lot of the times and the facial features do not look realistic. I admit that I want the art to be more realistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #10

Jul 24, 2015

This issue is the action I was looking for but I have to wonder, what happened to the Teen Titans in this fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #11

Aug 28, 2015

This issue wasn't perfect, as none of my questions have been answered, but the plot of the story has advanced. Overall and enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2014) #12

Oct 23, 2015

I am interested in seeing what the future holds for all four if not all of the characters of the Teen Titans. Will they get back together to be a team of heroes or will they continue to act out of fear?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2014) #13

Nov 13, 2015

This issue ends with a cliff hanger and questions. Who is this Alpha Centurion? What did Black do to Power Girl and what did he do to the others members of the Elite including Wonder Girl and Kid Flash? There is not much else to this issue other than we see the other characters I frankly forgot about when reading the last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #14

Dec 4, 2015

The fight was good but with the other problems I mentioned I have to give this issue…

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #15

Dec 25, 2015

Overall, the issue was alright but the Robin War wore the issue down and I did not like the sexualization of the girl captive.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teen Titans (2014) #16

Jan 29, 2016

The action was alright but I was not satisfied with this story at all. We are left with a plot thread open and a new direction for the Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #17

Feb 26, 2016

Overall, a good issue. Tim is still whishy-washy but we see some good characterization of the other members of the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2014) #18

Mar 25, 2016

I liked the information on Wonder Girl and how she fits in to Wonder Womans universe but other that that it was a so so issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #19

Apr 29, 2016

Overall the issue was okay as I did not feel like I wasted my time reading this issue. But it just did not wow me like I would have liked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #20

May 27, 2016

Overall the issues was a fun read and we get a glimpse of the real Tim Drake in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #21

Jun 24, 2016

With all of that said, this series appears to be closing on a positive note.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2014) #22

Jul 29, 2016

My only concern is that I just wish it didn't take this long to get a better Tim Drake.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2014) #23

Aug 26, 2016

This was a great issue. I particularly liked that Tim again is shown as the leader he is. He did not use the teams powers to bring down the Queen, instead he used his intellect. This is finally showcasing Tim as he should be shown. The capable leader and not the whining emo teen we had been subjected to up until these last two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2014) #24

Sep 16, 2016

We see how Tim affected each of his team mates in very positive ways. Tim acceptance of Miguels sexual identity, his love for his friends, his example to the others, his leadership skills, and his way of making you better than you were. All these are the qualities of Tim Drake that I love and again had failed to see time and time again until these last few issues. I would love to see a Teen Titans run with this Tim Drake at the helm, but unfortunately that does not seem possible now that Damian is set to take command. The fans will have to wait and see where that run goes but for this issue I give it a perfect rating.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #1

Jul 29, 2016

Overall, the issue was better than average. I still have hopes, but some reservations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #2

Aug 26, 2016

Overall, the issue was better than the last one and the action is intensifying.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #4

Oct 28, 2016

This was a very good issue. It did follow the usual trope of splitting up the team but I think it was done here in good measure. Kadabra strengthened his team while the separation of the Titans actually weakened them and allowed the puppets to win. I did think it was interesting what matchups that were created. The characters were mixed up in that the counterparts did not face off with each other except for Kid Flash and Flash themselves and Flash easily beat his counterpart while the others were all taken down. The cliffhanger here makes me want to pick up the next issue and as this issue is released monthly I will have to wait a whole month to see how this ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #5

Nov 25, 2016

Overall this was a good issue for showcasing the power of Wally Westm and seeing him fade back into the speed force is a great cliffhanger.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans (2016) #6

Dec 30, 2016

This was a satisfactory ending to this first story arc of Titans. We get the action of the Titans fight with Kadabra as well as character development of Wally. It is interesting that the next threat to face the Titans may be the most memorable villain ever to be seen in Teen Titans comics, that being Deathstroke, the Terminator. I am looking forward to this next arc and I would like to see more character development of the other Titans as well in addition to seeing the budding romance of Wally and Linda.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #7

Jan 13, 2017

We also get an interesting exchange between Donna and Roy. Dan Abnett continues with the idea that they had a prior relationship and that may spark again. The new design of Tempest I am not a fan of. He just does not look right with a van dyke beard.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans (2016) #8

Feb 10, 2017

Even though the slow nature of this issue and the slight artist miscues, the story still have my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #11

May 12, 2017

Overall, it was aninteresting issue, but I did find it a little slow for my taste.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans Hunt #1

Oct 23, 2015

Not a lot happens in this issue, but what I see has peaked my interest in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans Hunt #2

Nov 20, 2015

Overall this continues the set up, but we do start to see some of the characters getting together if not in a friendly way. The story continues to hold my attention and I look forward to the next issue. This was a great issue with my only real gripe being Roys continuity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans Hunt #3

Dec 25, 2015

This issue was an enjoyable read but it was not as packed as the previous issues have been. We get more action in the fight at the beach and we see Dick thinking before he punches somewhat. He is able to realize that he cannot take both an Amazon and an Atlantean so he falls back. This does allow for all three to find the clubhouse.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans Hunt #4

Jan 22, 2016

Overall, I am hopeful for this story but this pace is really slow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans Hunt #5

Feb 19, 2016

This issue was an improvement. We finally get forward motion but I still believe that we have too many scenes going on at the same time and I am hoping that these story lines will start to merge soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans Hunt #6

Mar 18, 2016

I did like the fight that was interspersed with this exposition. We learn that the beast is Mammoth and since he is under Twisters influence, it can be inferred that Twister was behind the beast all along. It was good to finally see Donna and Garth take Mammoth down together. The only question I have is Roy and Dick do not have super powers so how is Twister able to entice them. What latent abilities do they and Karen have since she to is able to hear Mals song. I also am interested in this Diablo group. Who are they? How do they fit in with these events?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans Hunt #7

Apr 22, 2016

The fight was fun in a science fiction way that I do like. I just missed the point other than to provide a creative way to provide exposition on a part of the story that I believe is just extra filler and does not satisfy the overall plot of this mini series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans Hunt #8

May 20, 2016

I liked this issue, it was action packed and tied together a number of loose ends except the mystery of who is the tenth Titan. It was an interesting plot choice to have the Titans break Twister's hold on them by remembering who they are and not who they were. Ironically it was their remembering that led to their victory. Even Hank finally remembered Don, the original Dove and that allowed his rage to take over so much so that Twister was not able to control him and the Titans were able to get their shots in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans: Rebirth #1

Jun 17, 2016

Overall, the battles were good but quick and a lot did not really happen here other than Dicks apartment got trashed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Worlds' Finest #31

Feb 12, 2015

This is not a good jumping on point to this arc; I had to refer to the previous issue in several parts of my recap. Nonetheless I enjoyed this issue. I liked the narration of Lois as she comments on the characters relationships with one another during the rescue effort in Metropolis. It shows a familiarity these characters have with one another that are not evident or are nonexistent among the Earth Prime or the main DC universes counterparts. I enjoyed the way Catwoman and Robin worked together and the writer easily showed that this mother and daughter are not only a team but truly love one another. From reading other books such as Earth 2 and the Earth 2 Worlds End books, I know how this story is going to end however, I am enjoying this ride. It is not a good jumping on point but for current readers it is an enjoyable read that delves further into the relationships of the worlds version of our heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Worlds' Finest #32

Mar 12, 2015

My rating for this issue of Worlds Finest is based off a lack luster story and the issues I have with the art. I am disappointed to see this series end this way, I do not see this as a fitting send off for this otherwise very entertaining series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More