Philip Lawrence's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 9
7.6Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #8

Mar 11, 2017

Overall, I really enjoyed this comic! I never read anyBirds of Prey comics before, but now I'm itching for the next issue. While yes, the dialogue could be improved slightly, the humorous banter between the three leads definitely makes up for it. In an age where DC is dominated by heavyweights like Superman and Batman, it's great to know DC hasn't forgotten about these characters. I cannot wait to see where the Benson sisters will take the Birds of Prey next and their inevitable showdown with Blackbird.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #9

Apr 15, 2017

Overall I enjoyed the approach to the story. Focusing on just Black Canary and not including the rest of the Bird of Prey until the end was a risky move. But the Benson sisters have executed it with great precision. Now with Black Canary being controlled by Blackbird I am now more excited for the next issue as Black Canary is forced to fight her own allies. It will make for some interesting fight scenes. The real letdown here is the artwork. I was slightly disappointed with the declining quality in terms of character faces and expressions. Still I enjoyed the solo approach to the story and would recommend this for any Black Canary fans out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #10

May 11, 2017

ConclusionWhile I haven't been a fan of the artwork, I did see some my improvements in the issue #10. I adored how Julie and Shawna Benson captured the spirit of not just the titular Birds of Prey, but also supporting heroes Nightwing and Green Arrow. Black Canary's relationship with Green Arrow and her predicament with Blackbird was a valid reason to include Green Arrow into the story arc. That big fight against Blackbird deserves noteworthy praise and was definitely my favourite part in the entire 'Blackbird' arc. I also appreciate the writers for giving Gemini and Blackbird's students closure and I would even like them to reappear again as they struggle adapting to life without their powers. The writing wasn't cliche or cringe-inducing like in the previous issues. Overall, while I do have mixed feelings regarding this arc, I'm enjoying the series on a whole and look forward to the Birds of Prey's next adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 17, 2017

I can honestly say that I had a great time reading this comic.Batwoman#1 isa glorious introduction for Batwoman newcomers because it dedicates its time to her characterisation. Even though there wasn't a substantial amount of action, the comic still delivered a brief, yet fun fight. For longtime Batwoman fans, this a magnificent return for the scarlet haired crusader. I'm excited about where writers Marguerite Bennet & James Tynion IV will take with this strong character and the challenges that await her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 22, 2017

For those who have waited as long as I have for Issue #2; you will not be disappointed. Marguerite Bennet and James Tynion IV have done a grand job of depicting this strong female hero, but giving her a layer of humanity to her character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman (2017) #3

May 20, 2017

‘The Many Arms of Death' is turning out to be an exciting story arc and is a perfect way to kick off Batwoman's solo Rebirthseries. Issue #3 delivers everything I was hoping for: balanced writing, amazing artwork, excellent pacing and a great title character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 15, 2017

ConclusionWow. Just wow. Justice League of America #4 contained some of the most awesome, action I have seen yet on the page of a comic book. Every JLA member had a moment to shine and the action was well crafted. Lord Havok proved to be one terrifying and formidable foe worthy of the JLA. Who knows where Steve Orlando are going to take this team of unlikely allies next, but rest assured my anticipation won't waver. Do yourself a favour and pick up this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #5

Apr 28, 2017

ConclusionWhile I did love most of the action scenes and appreciated the dialogue between the JLA teammates, the end result fell a bit flat. In terms of story there was nothing really interesting about it. Still issue #5 is only the beginning of an arc so it'll only have a chance to develop in the subsequent issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #6

May 13, 2017

The main downside to this arc was it's brevity and the art style. It was over so fast I thought to myself: 'That's it'. I had already forgotten about Aegeus, until I read the issue again for further analysis. Steve Orlando's epically scoped and carefully constructed action scenes and sharp dialogue are the highlights of issue #6. I just wish the art work matched the quality of the writing. On the whole, I found this arc to be rather uninteresting. For those who are fans of this series, I implore you to keep reading. Just don't expect much from this arc, other than awesome action of course.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More