S.J. Mitchell's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Critical Blast Reviews: 10
9.0Avg. Review Rating

10
Action Comics (2016) #975

Mar 13, 2017

When it's all said and done this will fix the problem created when Lois outed Superman during the New 52. Now it's all about seeing how we get there and watching it play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cinderella: Age of Darkness #1

Oct 28, 2014

The first of three issues in the Cinderalla: Age of Darkness mini-series, by Zenescope, was a lot of fun. It contains a nice mix of violence, drama and levity blended with wonderful art. Pat Shand once again delivers a fantastical first chapter in his latest comic book fairy-tale adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cinderella: Age of Darkness #2

Dec 16, 2014

The second of three issues in Zenescope's "Cinderella: Age of Darkness" mini-series picks right up where the first one left off. The pacing is great and switching scenes between Cindy and Hades isn't nearly as confusing as some creative teams make it. Shand and Best have a great chemistry and the results are gushing onto the page. The characters are enjoyable and even though you only know the characters for a brief time in this series, you can feel the tension and understand the importance of the stakes at hand. Another excellent offering by Zenescope!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Agent #1

Jan 27, 2016

There was a lot of build-up to an ending that knocks you on your ass. Normally I would feel like I wasted my time, but I'm seriously concerned that our 'Red Agent' may be in over her head. Although to re-iterate a previous statement, I like the villain 'Alpha'. Any time he gets one over on the hero, I'm not exactly disappointed. As someone who always finds themselves rooting for the hero, I'm conflicted here. Alpha is a bad dude, doing bad things...but damn he's so mysterious and cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robyn Hood (2014) #12

Jun 22, 2015

This story is every bit as good as you'll find between the pages of comics published by the 'big two'. Pat Shand continues to thrive as a writer, breathing life into characters you didn't think you could care about. It's a wonderful story that defines how we are limited by the confines of our own moralities. This issue may feel like it's about 'The Rotter', on the surface, but it's every bit an exploration of who Robyn Hood chooses to be. Robyn Hood #12 is a worthy chapter in the on-going series and is highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Robyn Hood (2014) #15

Oct 14, 2015

Robyn Hood continues to be, arguably, the best on-going comic series by Zenescope as Pat Shand once again hits the mark.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Robyn Hood (2014) #19

Feb 3, 2016

If you're one of those readers that jumps ship after hearing about the end of a title, you would be making a horrible mistake here. As much as I hate to see it end, I'm looking forward to the experience and following the story to its completion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

The four-part crossover event will appear in Superman 18 & 19 and Action Comics 975 & 976.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

Peter Tomasi and Patrick Gleason

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #20

Apr 7, 2017

Overall this was a really good issue for new readers to jump aboard without being overly confused or feeling lost. It also provides continuity for fans who have been reading along so they can enjoy Superman as he's been progressing through Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More