Liberator #2

Liberator #2

Writer: Matt Miner Artist: Javier Sanchez Aranda Publisher: Black Mask Studios Release Date: July 31, 2013 Cover Price: $3.50 Critic Reviews: 6
8.0Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

A hard-edged vigilante series about two young heroes who avenge the torture of animals. "Unlike any comic book project to date, Miner delivers a message about animal abuse blended with a gritty protagonist in the vein of Batman or The Punisher." - ComicBooked "A really cool, progressive story about young outcast crusaders." - Scott Snyder, writer

  • 9.0
    Comic Booked - David Gillette Jul 30, 2013

    Like any good story full of action and suspense, Liberator #2 brings the goods with interesting plot developments for Damon and his crusade to rescue animals from a life of barbarism. Miner draws off of powerful images and realities facing animals in the fur farms, labs, and dog fighting kennels to continue bringing awareness to the plight of these suffering creatures. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Bloody Disgusting - Jimbus_Christ Jul 22, 2013

    “Kick-Ass” with a cause. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Graphic Policy - Brett Schenker Jul 30, 2013

    Liberator is a fun mix of politics and hero in comic form. Something we dont see enough of sadly. It wears its politics on its sleeve proudly and is all the better for it. No matter your thoughts on the subject the comic will entertain and hopefully make you think too. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Bastards - Dustin Cabeal Jul 31, 2013

    Hopefully you're checking this series out because it's a very unique comic book. I'm so glad that it is a comic book because I think it shows how wonderful the medium can be. It also helps show that comic books don't just need to be superheroes or crime fiction. I mean this series is about kick-ass animal rights activists that dress like ninjas and do some major property damage in the name of animals. Where else would you find this story? Give it a shot because it's pretty damn cool, but also well written with great art accompanying it too. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Vine - Jen 'Miss J' Aprahamian Jul 31, 2013

    Miner and Aranda continue to balance a socially-conscious message with a tension-loaded vigilante story. Damon and Jeanette aren't playing things safe, because the safe path just doesn't get results, and there are innocent animals at stake. LIBERATOR is as educational as it is engaging; between the story itself and the essays included at the end of each issue, I'm learning a lot about animal welfare, and doing a lot of thinking. I'd like to see more about what happens to the animals after they're rescued -- Damon and Jeanette, as admirable as their intentions may be, can't possibly adopt every single puppy and rabbit that they save, and learning more about the adoption side of animal rescue would be a great way for readers who aren't quite ready for arson or B&E to feel like they can help. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Read Comic Books - Corey Fryia Jul 29, 2013

    All criticism aside its easy to dismiss Liberator as nothing more than preachy propaganda, but when you get right down to it, Liberator is raw, unique and unlike any other book that your hard-earned money can buy. Thats something that cant be ignored. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...