Broken World #1

Broken World #1

Writer: Frank J. Barbiere Artist: Christopher Peterson Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: June 3, 2015 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 20 User Reviews: 4
7.9Critic Rating
6.2User Rating

What's to Love: We're thrilled to publish the one new original series co-created and written by Frank J. Barbiere (Five Ghosts, Avengers World) in 2015. Broken World is a gripping sci-fi thriller and survival adventure great for fans of Y: The Last Man or The Massive. Barbiere and co-creator/artist Christopher Peterson (Grindhouse, Mayday) will explore the lives of people left behind in the apocalypse.

What It Is: With a meteor days away from causing an extinction-level event on Earth, time is running out for Elena Marlowe. While most of the planet's population and her family were approved by the government to escape on one of the giant spaceships headed to another planet, her application was denied due to her mysterious past. With the meteor fast approaching, Elena desperately tries to find a way to fake her way onto the last ship or else be left behind to die with the rest of Earth’s rejected denizens.

  • 10 - John McCubbin May 9, 2015

    Broken World was much better than I thought it'd be, as though Barbiere has a history of delivering sensational creator owned tales, I feared this ventures may have been a little generic. That couldn't be further from the truth, with the character depth and twist mesmerizing. So come June 3rd go down to your local comic store and buy this. Though if you want to guarantee a copy, your shop must order before Monday's final cut off date. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Bloody Disgusting - Eric Switzer Jun 3, 2015

    I was emotionally gripped by this book from beginning to end. The countdown was an effective device, constantly reminding us that this is a ticking time bomb, even when Elena is trying to keep it cool, go to class, cook dinner. I was completely taken by the ending and even let out an oh shit!, rare for me, but that is how sucked in I was reading this book. If I never read another issue I would be completely satisfied having read such a perfect first, but now Im bought in, and I cant wait to see what happens next. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Horror Talk - James Ferguson Jun 20, 2015

    Broken World tugs at the heartstrings as a woman faces the very real possibility that she'll be permanently separated from her family and there's not much she can do about it.  This isn't a matter of getting a divorce and moving across the country.  Her husband and son are heading into space and she may not be able to join them even as an asteroid descends on a collision course towards the planet.  This drama is played out with the backdrop of the end of the world in a tense ride.  It leads up to a final page that is entirely unexpected and will leave you screaming for more. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Nerd Rock from the Sun - Neil Bason Aug 11, 2015

    A strong and hard-hitting introduction to the Broken World landscape. Bleak in places, uplifting in others, and consistently gripping. Read Full Review

  • 8.7
    Big Glasgow Comic Page - Robin Callaghan May 12, 2015

    Despite its slow start Broken World #1 sets up this miniseries well Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    GWW - Casey Walsh Jun 3, 2015

    Broken World #1 is an emotional journey to the end of the world. Barbiere sets up his unique premise with strong character focus and while the pace is a little slow the payoff is massive. The team of Peterson and Louise bring an art style that is minimal yet striking giving this apocalyptic tale the color and brightness it needs. Broken World is a must read if you're for those who love the end of the world genre and are looking for a fresh take on the most used setting in media. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    ComicBuzz - Sarah Swift Jun 8, 2015

    Overall I feel that the story while lacking in some of the backstory at this point is a very solid start to the series and I am very much looking forward to seeing how Elenas journey continues and evolves, Im also looking forward to seeing more of the bleak desperate Earth portrayed in this first issue. Read Full Review

  • 8.3
    Multiversity Comics - Brian Salvatore May 11, 2015

    The last act of this issue is a doozy, and I'm not going to say anything here about it, other than it raises far more questions than it answers, and it sets the course for the rest of the miniseries in a stunning fashion. Barbiere and Peterson set up relatively standard tropes, and then drive trucks directly through them, allowing a far more interesting, sad, and worthwhile story to drive pass between the walls of expectation. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Bastards - Dustin Cabeal May 9, 2015

    The biggest reason I have to come back for the next issue is the fact that I have no idea what's going to happen. Really this feels like a zero issue because the true story is going to begin next issue. There are a lot of comics with stories about the future out right now, but if you want one that's not trying to be cool and instead tell a story with many layers while being relatable, then check out Broken World. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Resources - Jim Johnson May 11, 2015

    With the stage pretty much set by this point, the story charges forward towards a completely unexpected but enticing twist that changes nearly everything."Broken World" #1 is an amazingly strong start to what's slated to be a four-issue miniseries, with a premise that's strong enough on its own but is made even stronger by the surprise cliffhanger. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicWow!TV - Bhavna Bakshi Jun 1, 2015

    Making this book strangely relatable was a good move on Barbiere and Peterson’s part. Any form of entertainment that someone can imagine themselves in is one that is going to be a hit. That’s why we cry while watching movies or reading novels—not because it’s a sad story, but because we are picturing ourselves in that exact same situation (i.e. The Notebook). In a science fiction yet realistic story, both Barbiere and Peterson are able to evoke emotions out of the reader that just make them want to read more (honestly, I was upset when I got to the last page). This isn’t the easiest thing to do, so I recommend you read this book to see just how it’ll tug on your heart strings, and boggle your mind. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Kliq Nation - Timdogg Jun 2, 2015

    By the end of Broken World #1 we are left with many mysteries. Upon further inspection, tiny seeds are planted that are sure to blossom as the series marches on. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Forrest Hollingsworth Jun 3, 2015

    This is a great introductory issue that sets up the second issue to reel us in the rest of the way. There’s some obvious dialogue and maybe too much of it but, in the end, I’ll be coming back for Broken World #2 and, you should, too. How couldn’t you after that ending? Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    All-Comic - Dan Pennacchia Jun 3, 2015

    For as much as Barbiere and the art team communicate to the readers in this opening issue, there are a number of pieces that are insinuated. The end result is an issue that feels incredibly developed and dense while building a massive sense of intrigue about the universe and conflict presented. Elena Marlowe feels like a character that is rather transparent, and yet a few oddities call almost all of what has been presented into question. Coupled with a fantastic final act, and Broken World #1 makes for a very impressive start to a book that will have readers coming out to their local shops the first chance they can to see what happens next. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Gary Moloney Jun 3, 2015

    If you are in the mood for a new take on an old idea or are a fan of survival thrillers then Broken World might just be the comic for you.Let us know what you think in the comments below. Read Full Review

  • 6.8
    Big Glasgow Comic Page - Garry Quigley Jun 3, 2015

    Even though the artwork doesn't complement the seriousness of this story - this still cannot take away from what is a fantastic debut issue. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Spectrum - Bob Bretall Jun 11, 2015

    Barbiere presents an interesting take on the run-up to the end of the world. A little more orderly than I think it would actually go down, but he stages it nicely. The real trick is going to be the “And Then?” factor. Where he takes the story in the aftermath of the cliffhanger on the last page will make or break the series for me. This might be a good “wait for the trade” series. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Flip Geeks - Carlos Alcazaren Jun 5, 2015

    With the familiar setup, Broken World #1 does well for a disaster piece but has enough to stand out from other standard disaster stories once you get a look at the art and that surprising twist at the end of the issue. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Flickering Myth - Zeb Larson Jul 6, 2016

    There was a good story here, and if you really like post-apocalyptic literature, this could still be fun. It's just not what it could have been. Read Full Review

  • 5.5
    Capeless Crusader - Kristian Solberg Jun 5, 2015

    Broken World is built on a great concept, but it squanders a lot of its potential in search of what may be a more unorthodox story. The tale that could have, and maybe should have, been told seems a distant memory, and what you are left with is a comic that is neither groundbreaking, nor all that challenging. It had a chance to deal with a lot of themes and questions that few comics dare go near, but rather than face them head on it goes for an ending that sets up an entirely different story. Whether that story will pay off is something the later issues will have to answer, but for now it is safe to say that Broken World seems like a missed opportunity to challenge the reader with a truly confronting question: who gets to choose? Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Synthozoid Jun 8, 2015

    Great 1st issue.

  • 1.0
    Educated Reader Jun 30, 2015

    I hate when comic writers make fun of fundamentalist Christians, like they have some higher form of enlightenment than the rest of us. I think if a giant asteroid is coming towards Earth, I think it is time to pray! DROP!

  • 8.5
    Aegis Jun 5, 2015

  • 6.5
    Cosmic Ray Jun 4, 2015

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...