Convergence: Swamp Thing #1

Convergence: Swamp Thing #1

Event\Storyline: Convergence Writer: Len Wien Artist: Kelly Jones Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: April 22, 2015 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 12 User Reviews: 8
7.7Critic Rating
8.1User Rating

STARRING HEROES FROM CRISIS ON INFINITE EARTHS! The dome has cut off all the heroes from their powers - but what happens when Swamp Thing is cut off from his life source in The Green?

  • 10
    Comic Spectrum - Shawn Hoklas May 1, 2015

    Kelly Jones is such a perfect artist for a character like this. Although he's always been great on his extensive work on Batman, it's wonderful to see him on a character like Swamp Thing as he uses the shadows and blacks to perfection, while colorist Michelle Madsen uses eerie hues of greens and browns to give the character and “the green” such life. Not only is this one of the best written stories in all of the Convergence tie-ins, it's for sure the best looking with the Lee Weeks issue of Superman not too far behind. This is a two issue series that can be enjoyed all on its own with just a minimal understanding of what's happened in Convergence so far so the entry point for a new reader is simple. I'd encourage you to pick this issue up to see a creator head back to his original creation as he partners with an artist in Kelley Jones who like Bernie Wrightson before him, seems as though he was born to draw the original "thing” from the Swamp! Read Full Review

  • 8.7
    The Latest Pull - Nathan Stout Apr 23, 2015

    Wein's portrayal of Swampy and Abigail are spot on, particularly in their dynamic with each other, a great friendship with a slight romantic undercurrent. The dialogue felt classic, yet modern, and very natural. His opening sequence of backstory was very helpful and makes this book accessible for newer readers unfamiliar with those early runs. Wein's most impressive feat is his ability to make the reader genuinely concerned for Swampy's well-being, despite the fact that he is the main character of this book. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Multiversity Comics - Keith Dooley Apr 24, 2015

    "Convergence: Swamp Thing" demonstrates that two veteran masters of storytelling still have the ability to tell a story in evocative and exciting ways. The opening of chapter of this brief miniseries demonstrates that you can successfully revisit the past. Wein clearly loves his character and hasn't lost the ability to effectively express Holland's voice. Jones has been sorely missed, with a recent backup in the current "Batman" series and this Swampy story proving that he still just as brilliant today as he was when he first came upon the comic book scene. DC would be smart to snatch up Jones for any book in their stable, new or old, and let him do exactly what his pencil inspires him to create. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Major Spoilers - Chris Wilson Apr 28, 2015

    Convergence: Swamp Thing #1 knocks it out of the park in both story and art and provides a unique look at Swamp Thing during a year with his connection to the Green severed. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Weird Science - Jim Werner Apr 25, 2015

    Len Wein gets to return to his creation and gives readers a mossy monstrosity of a story.  My only real problem is I wish this was a full out monthly and not just a two issue event tie-in. Wein navigates the confines of the event (and even more recent continuity) to give readers a personal tale that is all about his characters.  Kelley Jones' art is great in it's retro feel and even if I don't care too much about the story's villains, I want to see more of the main characters. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Resources - Doug Zawisza Apr 27, 2015

    Throughout "Convergence: Swamp Thing" #1, Wein keeps Abigail Arcane close by Swamp Thing's side and even propels her into the spotlight. Jones draws Abigail as beautiful as Swamp Thing is massive and terrifying, providing a nice visual contrast to the unlikely fan-favorite couple. Coupled with a marvelously dense backstory, the end result is one of the best issues of the "Convergence" event and, certainly, an adventure worth seeking out for fans of Swamp Thing, Len Wein or Kelley Jones. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Newsarama - Brian Bannen Apr 27, 2015

    Call me a Kelley Jones convert after this issue. I'd love to see Jones on Swamp Thing, or really any other book for that matter. Maybe my taste has matured, or maybe I just have a better respect for talent than I did at a younger age. The one benefit of Convergence has been the diverse and eclectic grouping of writers and artists who have taken the reins on the many tie-ins that go along with an event series. Convergence: Swamp Thing is one of the true winners in this gambit. It's an intimate tale in a sprawling epic, one that shows a clear love of a character, and one that draws its readers through both solid storytelling and engaging art. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Batman-News - Elena Carrillo May 21, 2015

    Despite a lot of quibbling with the details, I really enjoyed this story. You can skip the first issue and go straight to issue no. 2 if you're just in it for the Batman stuff (which is where its worth lies anyway), and Wein does manage to keep the Convergence bout fresh by giving our monstrous challengers some philosophical meat to chew on. As with some of the other Convergence titles, the ramifications of the outcome of this battle are rather unclear and it doesn't seem like it will have any lingering effects in the status quo going forward, but issue no. 2 is a fun pitched battle full of gruesome monsters and a very cool Bat-vampire. The Convergence storylines are full of defeats, but as far as comic book entertainment is concerned, this one can be counted a win. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Bloody Disgusting - Zac Thompson Apr 22, 2015

    “Convergence: Swamp Thing” is the rebirth of the character's glory years. Granted the story isn't quite as mature and doesn't offer much in the way of depth, but offers a glimpse at days gone by. With the original creator of Swamp Thing behind the book, it's hard to resist. This is an enjoyable look at the dark and constantly dying hero that horror fans have loved for years, and possibly his last appearance in the DC universe for some time to come. If you love Swamp Thing, or if you need to discover his glory for the first time then it is your sworn duty to buy this book. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    DC Comics News - Robert Reed Apr 23, 2015

    Convergence: Swamp Thing #1 lacks any immediate sense of danger, causing some of the scenes to fall flat. However, with the threat of the other worlds upon him, it looks like a nice lead in to the next issue. And having Len Wein writing the character is always a pleasant experience. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Apr 23, 2015

    But again, Jones' art is a real treat. As always, he brings a real Gothic horror vibe to every page, with exaggerated, almost grotesque figures and heavy shadows blanketing everything. He proves he still has the right touch when it comes to offering vampirized renditions of Batman's villains as well. Issue 32 is shaping up to be even better as the battle really gets underway. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Infinite Comix - Daren Taveras Apr 24, 2015

    Convergence: Swamp Thing #1 had potential. It starts off strong and it hits a few road bumps, but there was always room to salvage the story. That moment never comes, and the book pitfalls into the forgettable pile of Convergence tie-ins. It's a shame that such a beloved time in the character's history is here, but absent of direction, creativity, and foresight. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    nlindsay Jun 24, 2015

    Kelley Jones is one of my favourites, and does it get more credible than Wein writing Swamp Thing? The artwork here is perfect, and although it reads sort of like a Swamp Thing zero issue, I was in to it, and so hyped to return to Jones's own Red Rain universe at the cliffhanger.

  • 7.5
    Gizmo Jun 7, 2015

    One of the better Convergence tie-ins. There's some recap and then an entire years worth of time crammed into the issue, but it doesn't suffer too much as a result. New readers can jump in and enjoy while old readers get a couple issues to roll back the clock to the original Swamp Thing, written by the co-creator.

  • 9.0
    eVanDiesel Apr 23, 2015

  • 9.0
    SwampyCA May 10, 2015

  • 8.0
    Cyprian Latewood Apr 26, 2015

  • 8.0
    Jason The Dude Apr 28, 2015

  • 8.0
    Batfan May 3, 2015

  • 7.5
    Stallonelythelonely May 11, 2015

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...