Justice League of America #3

Justice League of America #3

Writer: Geoff Johns Artist: David Finch Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: May 8, 2013 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 20 User Reviews: 4
6.6Critic Rating
8.2User Rating

A new Secret Society is forming-but which of its members has the power to attack the Justice League from within?

  • 8.4
    Midnight Logic - Atlee Greene May 14, 2013

    The Kindt/Manhunter combination fits like a glove, and an ongoing series is something the DC Comics brass should explore. The third time seems to be the charm for this new series as the setup and establishment is over and now the team swings into action. Read Full Review

  • 8.1
    IGN - Melissa Grey May 8, 2013

    David Finch's pencils shine brightest during his action scenes and the inks (by Finch and Richard Friend) and colours (by Sonia Oback) play up some of the more expansive detail work nicely. The backup feature by Kindt and artist Manuel Garcia is the real highlight of JLA #3 and its worth picking up the issue for that alone. It's more a point A to point B issue that sets the stage for bigger events so next month should prove interesting for our motley crew of misfits and heroes. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Vine - Tony 'G-Man' Guerrero May 8, 2013

    The new Justice League of America team is seeing some serious action here. The team's agenda may not be known to the actual team but with the discovery of the Secret Society of Super Villains, we're seeing another group for them to try to take on. Hopefully the team will get some actual training before things get really bad. Geoff Johns is giving us an atypical team book. The fact that the members don't even know why they've been brought together adds a different dynamic compared to all the other team books we have. There were some unfortunate concerns with the art this month but the action is heating up and there's no telling what Johns has planned next. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ScienceFiction.com - Jason Motes May 11, 2013

    Geoff Johns has a great handle on all of these characters and they play off each other nicely. Whereas the other Justice League are all respectful professionals, none of these guys trusts the others one bit. There's great tension and interaction. Johns has done an excellent job differentiating this team and making them a fascinating ragtag gang of misfits, even just three issues in. This is a solid book that I hope readers will give a chance despite the absence of Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman and despite the presence of Vibe. (C'mon, give the guy a chance! Even if you agree with Catwoman's statement, “Vibe, you suck!”) Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Imagination Centre - John McCubbin Sep 6, 2013

    Although not quite as good as the other two issue in this series, this issue continued to show how good the series was, and the developments of both the character's, as well as the mysterious nature of the story really intrigued me. The continuation of the action from last issue, as well as some new action of it's own also made the issue exciting, and dynamic, and I honestly can't wait to read the next issue. I would highly recommend both this issue, and the series so far, as it's been a blast, and the future, as well as it's involvement in Trinity War shows a lot of promise for this series to get even better than it already is. Read Full Review

  • 7.9
    Analog Addiction - Jideobi Odunze May 9, 2013

    The end was a nice touch, though Martian Manhunter going through Selina's memories seemed like things we already knew about her. It was only interesting when we got to see what goes on in his mind, and by Selina's reaction to it, he's just as broken as her, and maybe even worse. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Minhquan Nguyen May 9, 2013

    Both the main and back-up features feel a little weaker this time around, but they still have some strong points going for them. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Read Comic Books - Derek Baker May 9, 2013

    With characters this likeable, its hard to fault Geoff Johns for any story problems that you may be able to find. Marvel seems to be kicking DCs butt lately, as far as quality, but titles like JLA gives the company hope. Too bad guys like Johns cant write every title. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Entertainment Fuse - Elvis Dutan May 11, 2013

    Now, before we wrap up, Id like to mention the wonderful Martian Manhunter back-up that has been featured since JLA #2. It adds a lot more depth to what was a very shallow character and makes him unique and interesting. Matt Kindt (writer) and Manuel Garcia (penciller) do pretty swell and one hopes that it continues to do so. Overall this was the best issue so far, and shows definite incremental improvement, but its still only just the best issue of JLA and it could be better. Geoff Johns hasnt lost me yet though, and if he hits a stride then this could turn into something special. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Behind The Panels - Richard Gray May 12, 2013

    The problem with the book as an ongoing prospect is that this is simply not a team that ultimately works well together, from a story point of view at least. Seemingly preselected rather than organically grown out of another title, the odd mix don't stand out as individuals. We're mostly looking at you, Vibe Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Newsarama - Brian Bannen May 13, 2013

    Regardless, the comic is solid. It hits the humorous beats just right, offsets itself from the other Justice League books, and it delivers a nice climax that will draw readers in next month. Additionally, Johns has really worked hard on developing the individual personalities of the team members so that each one feels, at this point, fully formed, even though we don't have all the intricacies of their backstories. Still, Justice League America is entertaining, and worth the price of admission. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    The Comic Book Revue - Jay Mattson May 8, 2013

    Speaking of Catwoman, I read Catwoman #19 after Justice League of America #3 because it's supposed to be a look at Selina's 48 hours inside Arkham Asylum before she escapes at the end of JLA #3. I wouldn't recommend doing the same unless you're interested in reading a story that has nothing to do with anything at all. The whole plan was for Catwoman to get info about the Secret Society whilst inside Arkham. Instead, she antagonizes everyone and really doesn't get much in the process.  Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Batman-News - Andrew Asberry May 29, 2013

    JLA #3 fails to progress the story past what we saw last month in Catwoman #19, but it does a far, far better job with the Catwoman character both in its main story and the Martian Manhunter backup. After the long delay, it would have been nice if the artwork was worth the wait but this might just be David Finch's poorest effort. Luckily, Manuel Garcia lifts the book back up with his pencils in the quite breathtaking backup which shows us a young J'onn J'onzz on Mars. JLA #3 is a must-buy for fans of Selina Kyle and I still find myself very interested in where Geoff Johns is taking this motley crew. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Chuck's Comic Of The Day - Chuck May 12, 2013

    I'm amazed that Johns can create a strong Justice League comic - and a Justice League of America comic that just seems to be going through the motions. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    Crave Online - Andy Hunsaker May 8, 2013

    Overall, Justice League of America #3 is not a bad issue, but it just feels a bit awkward, perhaps due to the pressure of deadlines, or perhaps because it's a book still finding its footing. There's no call to count it out just yet. There's a Trinity War coming, after all. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comicosity - Aaron Long May 8, 2013

    In the end, I will be continuing with JLA because I am intrigued by the story Johns is telling, but I do hope for a dramatic improvement in the visuals department. The strong backup story gave this issue a boost as well, and I'll be looking forward to the next backup as well. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Comic Book Revolution - Kevin May 14, 2013

    There is a disjointed tone to Justice League of America #3. The way Geoff Johns is having the JLA handle the threat posed by the new Secret Society is different from what we are used to seeing. The problem with this is that Johns is trying to tell a big Justice League story by writing it with a street-level approach in mind. This causes the team's mission to seem smaller than it actually is. This is not helped by David Finch's gritty artwork that faces many problems with inking inconsistencies. Finch's artwork would honestly be more at home on a Batman book than a big team book like the JLA. Overall Justice League of America #3 has a lot of good ideas in play but the approach Johns is taking does not fit with the scope of the story. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Henchman-4-Hire - Sean Ian Mills May 11, 2013

    This does not read like a Geoff Johns comic. Where's his usual wit and creativity? Where as his entertaining characters? Where is the fun character interaction? Honestly, I've stopped caring. Justice League of America is quickly becoming just another example of DC's botched reboot. Read Full Review

  • 3.8
    Multiversity Comics - Vince Ostrowski May 10, 2013

    Geoff Johns and David Finch seem to be attempting to make a darker team book. A place where misfits, B-listers, and morally questionable “heroes” will get together to take on problems that the Justice League can't. The problem is two-fold. For one, Johns' “Justice League” is already darkened with the ever-present tone of ‘The New 52′. “JLA” really doesn't feel significantly darker than that. For two, the conflict is born out of hot-headed heroes having itchy trigger fingers, rather than true disagreements and honest-to-goodness conflicts of interest. In that way, “Justice League of America” will satisfy those that still get a kick out of the gimmick of seeing heroes tee off on one another. For everyone else, check back in when the Secret Society actually shows up. Read Full Review

  • 3.0
    Comic Book Resources - Greg McElhatton May 9, 2013

    Wherever "Justice League of America" #3 is headed, I feel like it's going to start doing so with less readers before long. That overall hook isn't there, and that's a shame. I'm not afraid of books with dark characters or themes, but this one feels a bit pointless other than being a dark reflection of "Justice League." As a draw to read more, I'm afraid that it's just not enough for me. I suspect that I won't be alone in that assessment, either. Read Full Review

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...