Uncanny #1

Uncanny #1

Writer: Andy Diggle Artist: Aaron Campbell Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment Release Date: June 26, 2013 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 13
7.7Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

SIX BILLION SKILL SETS. ONE LAST CHANCE.Weaver is unique, or so he thinks. Born with an uncanny ability, he can steal other people's skills - their memories, abilities, and expertise - for a limited time. A man with a power like that could change the world; but as a professional gambler, con-man, and thief-for-hire, Weaver prefers to look out for number one. That is, until he finds himself drawn into a dangerous game of international intrigue where the rules keep changing, the players are hidden... and the first thing he stands to lose is his life. And maybe, just maybe, he isn't so unique after all...

  • 10
    Comic Book Therapy - Cody "The Thorverine" Ferrell Jun 25, 2013

    Uncanny starts out strong and shows Dynamite is doing big and exciting things with their crime line. Diggle serves up a great story that gets you excited for what's next. It feels very much like an opening scene of a big movie, but you feel more than ready to see what happens when things really get going. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Forces Of Geek - Atlee Greene Jul 1, 2013

    If you are looking for something without a cape and cowl, Uncanny is a thrill ride that is definitely worth waiting in line for. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Comic Book Bin - Leroy Douresseaux Jun 26, 2013

    fter one issue, I'm not ready to pass complete judgment on Uncanny, but it is not bad at all. Uncanny #1 is a good read, slick and polished in its script. It reminds me of one of those espionage television series that were so popular and prevalent in the 1960s. Add some of Richard Stark's Parker to that and you have Uncanny and its star, Weaver. The art by Aaron Campbell yields good, if not spectacular graphical storytelling. Honestly, the art won't "wow" you with prettiness or striking page design, but it is good, clear storytelling. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Newsarama - Rob McMonigal Jun 25, 2013

    A bit more fluidity in the art is the only misstep in this excellent debut issue. If you're a fan of caper comics with compelling characters, great dialogue, and an intriguing mystery, grab a copy of Uncanny this week at the store or on your favorite digital tablet. You won't be disappointed. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comicosity - Matt Santori-Griffith Jun 26, 2013

    Beginning a crime story in the tradition of Brubakers Sleeper and Azzarellos 100 Bullets, Uncanny #1 provides some great tonal set-up, particularly in the art department, but falls a little short in giving me a reason to immediately care for the central protagonist. With issue #2s inevitable exchange of information between Weaver and his mysterious rescuer forthcoming, however, were likely to soon get more to go on. Im willing to give the book a little more time to develop its central character, especially since it manages to keep the action moving in such an engaging fashion throughout. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Multiversity Comics - Michelle White Jun 27, 2013

    Overall, “Uncanny” is fun and action-packed and maybe just a little too slick for its own good. But then, it's nice to see high-concept done well, and maybe as this moves along we'll find a little bit more to sink our teeth into thematically. Either way, between the fast-paced storyline and the accomplished art, this first issue is definitely worth getting to know. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Graphic Policy - Brett Schenker Jun 27, 2013

    I'm a fan of this type of comic and for a first issue, this is a solid beginning with solid action and pacing. The comic's fun and entertaining, can't wait to see where it goes. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Den Of Geek! - Marc Buxton Jun 27, 2013

    Uncanny #1 by Andy Diggle and Aaron Campbell puts the reader right in the middle of a seedy, superpowered caper! Safe to say it's like nothing else on the stands this week! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Revolution - Kevin Jul 2, 2013

    From the opening page Uncanny #1 was able to grab my attention and left a strong impression by the time I finished reading the issue. Andy Diggle was able to create a fascinating world around the lead character that compliments who Weaver is established to be. There are a lot of question created that I want to find the answers too which adds to my excitement in following these characters and the world. The addition of Aaron Capbells strong artwork helped to elevate Uncanny #1 as one of the better first issues to a comic that I have read. Hopefully, the momentum that was created continues into the next issue. If it does then I can easily see this series becoming one of my favorite comics on my pull list. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comics Crux - Wesley Messer Jun 28, 2013

    Uncanny is a solid comic, mixing the elements of mystery and high stakes action swimmingly. It's a bit rough, you could see that Diggle could have used a bit more pages to flesh out more of the story. Uncanny screamed for a double sized story, because parts of this feel a bit rushed. That being said though, if Uncanny left me wanting more by the final page, that's not so bad either. I can ultimately recommend Uncanny just for the fact that this is one of the stronger Dynamite launches. This is a story with solid potential and a strong artist in Aaron Campbell. Uncanny #1 is well worth a look. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Book Resources - Jennifer Cheng Jun 28, 2013

    Despite its predictability, Diggle and Campbell create real, enjoyable suspense in "Uncanny" #1 on the strength of their ability to keep the action tight and vivid. As a debut issue, it does the job of being a teaser and hinting at future potential, and as Weaver's past is gradually revealed, the story can only get more interesting. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Read Comic Books - Joey Caswell Jun 27, 2013

    However, there wasnt much draw to the series following this first installment. The story is somewhat bland, and there isnt really anything new here. For what it is, it was admittedly well-written, but lets hope the story gets deeper in the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Comic Spectrum - Bob Bretall Jul 10, 2013

    Andy Diggle normally tells a story that draws me right in (like the recent "Snapshot" series from Image or Vertigo's "The Losers") but really didn't grab me with this issue. I'd have loved to see the beginning of the action in the story described by the solicit. What I feel like I got is the pre-credit sequence of a Bond movie with WAY less panache. I think I'd have liked this a lot more if it was the first 20 pages of a trade that segued directly into the meat of the story as opposed to a $3.99 comic that I have to wait a month for the next installment of. If the premise here sounds cool, wait for the trade & read the story in one go. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...