Birthright #14

Birthright #14

Writer: Joshua Williamson Artist: Andrei Bressan Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: February 17, 2016 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 7
8.6Critic Rating
8.3User Rating

+ Pull List

In the aftermath of last issue's epic battle, a new war begins... between brothers.

Plus a new "Hero's Journey" variant by NICK DRAGOTTA (EAST OF WEST)!

  • 8.8
    Geeked Out Nation - Jideobi Odunze Feb 17, 2016

    Birthright #14 covered a lot of ground shaking up what made this a linear adventure for all. Nothing is as it seems, and all easier said than done when the Mages hold so much power. The next issue should hopefully show us what they can all accomplish when working together instead of questioning each other. Read Full Review

  • 8.3
    Project Fandom - Michael James Mar 6, 2016

    Good issue with a lot of character building and personal moments from Mikey, Brennan, and Aaron. The main purpose, however, was to set up what I hope is going to be our next big action sequence and overall story progression. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Gizmo Mar 11, 2016

    Emotions boil over between Mikey and Brennan and the result is a real human moment laid out on the page.

  • 7.0 Feb 25, 2016

    This series has been really good, but this issue just didn’t really hit enough major points for me to really be a GREAT issue. It was good, all the characters were really solid, and nobody really acted TOO FAR outside their personalities at this point, I just wanted more from the fight between Brennan and Mikey, because it felt a bit too long for what it was in this issue, and it just allowed them to be stopped long enough for Sameal to track them down. I liked that Brennan stood up for himelf and really laid out all his feelings bluntly to Mikey, but the fight felt unnecessarily balanced, even with Mikey injured, because he is a giant grizzly bear of a man, and Brennan is a skinny teenager. The threads of this story seem to be pulling together slowly, where Mikey’s mom and his baby momma seem to be making headway towards rejoining the brothers, and Aaron, mikey’s dad and the government agent who isn’t an agent seems to just be trying to do everything he can to put himself in a bad position with Aaron and Mikey and basically EVERYONE. I love this book’s story, and I really enjoy the artwork for how different it is. I would have liked a bit more of a flashback/aside of the other realm for this issue, but the focus of this story (for the moment) is on our world, and of Mikey’s preggo babymomma AND ACTUAL MOM tracking him down, while he faces **SPOILERS** a whole flipping SWAT team at the end of this issue. It leaves some major action for the next issue, and I cant wait to see what happens. I just wish I had gotten a bit MORE action from this issue than the agent dude doublecrossing Mikey and Brennan’s dad and the drawn-out fight between Mikey and Brennan that felt a bit TOO fairly balanced for my taste. Things should rebound next issue, and I hope we get to see more of the other realm as well, because that balance is really a big part of what drew me into this series in the first place.

  • 10
    Jason The Dude Feb 21, 2016

  • 8.5
    Redeadhood Feb 26, 2016

  • 8.0
    Veido Feb 19, 2016

  • 8.0
    JBL Reviews Feb 22, 2016

  • 8.0
    mrDovydas Feb 28, 2016

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...