Fatale #1

Fatale #1

Writer: Ed Brubaker Artist: Sean Phillips Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: January 4, 2012 Cover Price: $3.50 Critic Reviews: 21 User Reviews: 1
8.8Critic Rating
8.0User Rating


Nothing the BEST-SELLING and AWARD-WINNING creators of SLEEPER, CRIMINAL and INCOGNITO have done so far will prepare you for the explosive debut of FATALE!     

A reporter in 2012 stumbles on a secret that leads him down the darkest path imaginable... to a seductive woman who's been on the run since 1935, a mobster who may be an immortal demon monster, and the stories of all the doomed men who've been caught in their decades-long struggle.

FATALE blends noir and horror to tell a riveting epic unlike anything you've seen before.

  • 10
    Comic Vine - Sara 'Babs' Lima Jan 3, 2012

    This edge of your seat thriller combines aspects of mystery, crime and drama eloquently and beautifully tied together with Sean Phillips' breathtaking art. From every panel depicting Josephina's sexy and alluring nature, to the creepy, graphic crime scenes we find at the end of the issue -- Phillips does it all, and he does it brilliantly well. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Comic Book Bin - Dan Horn Jan 4, 2012

    One final thought about this fantastically gritty and terrifying issue: Thankfully included in Fatale #1 is a peripheral delight, the return of the editorial essay, which is reminiscent of some of Brubaker and Phillips' other works. The analytical piece, written by Jess Nevins, is a comprehensive view of H.P. Lovecraft's impact on genre literature, particularly horror, and the connotations of cosmic horror. The editorial is a much appreciated cherry on top and propels the debut installment as a whole toward perfection. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Comic Book Resources - Doug Zawisza Jan 5, 2012

    There are clues as to what's going on, but mind you, this is a first issue. Brubaker gives readers just enough to encourage them to jump to conclusions, make presumptions about the story and want to return for more, if for no other reason than to see if their theories match the unfolding plot. Undoubtedly, Brubaker has different plans, and his story is going to deliver things we don't see coming. Just as long as we get the story of the demon with the tommy gun, I'll be back for more. Until then, I'm going to give this issue another read then share it with a pal. Read Full Review

  • 10
    A Comic Book Blog - Geoff Arbuckle Jan 11, 2012

    This series already has so much going for it – Brubaker/Phillips, noir, monsters straight out of the mind of H.P. Lovecraft, and a sexy attitude to it that has already sucked me in. I cannot wait to read the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 10
    ComicBuzz - David O'Leary Jan 29, 2012

    The usual extras that you come to expect from Brubaker and Phillips other works are present here and are only going to see print in the single issues as an incentive to those who dont want to wait for the trade. They include a cool painted piece from Phillips and a text piece on H.P. Lovecraft written by Jess Nevins. And also Brubaker breaks news in this issue that the first Criminal arc Coward is top adapted to film with David Slade with a script written by Brubaker. This comic is just about the perfect package. At a price cheaper than most Marvel and DC books with all those extras and an extended story there is honestly not a single argument against picking this book up. The bigger pity is to see Brubaker on Twitter bemoaning the fact that some comic shops have completely overlooked the book in pre-orders and never got it in! What were they thinking? Top stuff. Read Full Review

  • 10
    CHUD - Jeb Delia Jan 9, 2012

    I have ZERO doubt it will all be worth it. Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Chuck's Comic Of The Day - Chuck Jan 10, 2012

    So, a pleasant surprise wrapped in a dark and sinister comic. Best of all, I have no idea where the story is going, but I can't wait to find out. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Alex Evans Jan 5, 2012

    It's an appetizer, certainly, but Fatale is most definitely a book to be excited about. This isn't one to trade-wait, let alone miss. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Newsarama - Scott Cederlund Jan 4, 2012

    This is not a story about life or death; it's a story about salvation. You know from the start that everything has been shot to hell and know the characters are scrambling to make sure it doesn't get worse. The different stakes in this issue leads to a different kind of storytelling from Brubaker and Phillips. They keep you guessing throughout this book, trying to figure out what they are doing and where the characters are going. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Major Spoilers - Stephen Schleicher Jan 5, 2012

    If you didn't pick up Fatale #1 this week, get in your car, or on your bike, and get back to the comic book store now, and pick up this book. Fans of Brubaker and Phillips are in for something completely different, and fans of noir are gonna get their lids flipped a bit. It's an opening chapter and everything is not going to be spelled out for the reader, but the bits that are present are like the corners of the puzzle - there's a lot to build on, and when the big picture is revealed, it will all make sense. Again, if you haven't picked up this issue, get it now. Fatale #1 earns 4.5 out of 5 Stars. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comics Bulletin - Nick Boisson Jan 8, 2012

    What we have here are two creators at their very best, and frankly, you would be a damned fool to miss this one! If this is what we get at the beginning of 2012, then I cannot wait for what the world of comics has to offer for the rest of this year. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comics Bulletin - Nick BoissonNick HanoverShawn Hill Jan 9, 2012

    Shawn Hill knows two things: comics and art history. Find his art at Cornekopia.net. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Forces Of Geek - Atlee Greene Jan 9, 2012

    She read this one and can not stop talking about it and feels February is too long of a wait for part two to be released. I completely agree and so will you if you pick it up. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    IGN - Erik Norris Jan 4, 2012

    Fans of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips previous collaborations should find a lot to like in Fatale. The book presents a great mystery, interesting characters and treads unfamiliar territory for the creative team involved. It's Brubaker and Phillips stepping out of their wheelhouse, but they manage to do so with grace and focus that makes me excited to see the great things that come from future issues of the series. If Fatale #1 is your first foray into the works of Brubaker and Phillips, forgive the slower pace of this first installment, because if we've learned anything from this team, they always wind up delivering in the long run. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Entertainment Fuse - Nicole D'Andria Jan 8, 2012

    Fatale #1, while creating a long and detail first part to a solid tale, also leaves behind a lot of mysteries that will have readers scratching their heads in wonder. This story, combined with the realistic characters and artwork, make this issue great for any fans of crime-noir or who like horror. Fatale #1: a great way to kick off the New Year! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicList - Brandon Borzelli Jan 7, 2012

    Fatale has the makings a truly great horror comic book. Fans of Criminal may be a little hesitant that the noir style isn't conducive to horror but up to this point he noir elements are driving the story and the horror aspect is sitting in the background. I am excited to see where this is all going. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBuzz - johnlees Jan 29, 2012

    Its certainly holding some cards tightly to its chest in an understated opening chapter, but Fatale is off to a strong start. If this is any indicator of whats to come, Image is set for a very good 2012. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    cxPulp - Andrea Speed Jan 8, 2012

    Another good one, but just a little bit different than what you might expect. I see that as a good thing. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    iFanboy - Paul Montgomery Jan 4, 2012

    While not as inventive as past collaborations, Brubaker and Phillips dish out more of the good stuff and you'll want to get familiar. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Razorfine - Alan Rapp Jan 9, 2012

    I'm unsure how the occult and mystical elements presented in the first issue will work themselves into the story, but as a first issue it's a great read. The comic is structured to feature story and character, packed with panels (and only a single full-page splash page). You're certainly getting your money's worth. Best of the week. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Dustin Cabeal Jan 4, 2012

    This book is a little disappointing since it's important tothe genre as I started off saying; I don't think that it will turn a lot ofheads or really hook new readers onto pulp the way that Criminal did, but fans of the genre will still get new entry intheir library. In all honestly this book will probably just sell based onthe names of the creators alone (we all know how I feel about that), butthankfully it's at least worthy of your money for other reasons this time. Read Full Review

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...