Jupiter's Legacy #3

Jupiter's Legacy #3

Writer: Mark Millar Artist: Frank Quitely Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: September 25, 2013 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 17 User Reviews: 7
8.8Critic Rating
9.1User Rating

The heroes conspire to overthrow The Utopian, discontent rumbling in the bars and the clubs where the superheroes get wasted and complain how much he's been holding them all back with his old-fashioned ideas of power and responsibility. There's a new world out there if they will only grasp it. But what is his daughter's secret and how will it change things forever for their family?

  • 10
    Comic Vine - Tony 'G-Man' Guerrero Sep 25, 2013

    Mark Millar is not playing around. This new superhero world he and Frank Quitely are building has taken an explosive turn in this issue. There is no way anyone can complain over a lack of story or action. As a conflict between the superhero family unfolds, it quickly escalates in a way that makes perfect sense considering the amount of power these individuals possess. We've all read plenty of superhero comics but this is a world where the creators do not need to hold back. The story and action are allowed free reign, adding to the feeling that things won't always work out nicely. It's great to have a comic that doesn't have to be filtered and doesn't overly cross any lines either. Millar and Quitely have captured my attention once again. Read Full Review

  • 10
    All-Comic - Erik Gonzalez Sep 24, 2013

    Mark Millar and his team are still on track with this spectacular book and, mark my words, could make it a seminal work in the genre. It goes without saying, but people need to be reading this! Read Full Review

  • 10
    Comic Bastards - Steve Paugh Sep 25, 2013

    Despite its delays and its hype, I've really enjoyed Jupiter's Legacy so far, and issue three is by far its best yet. Sure, it may ring familiar at points, but where this book takes this story is somewhere I, for one, have not been before. And I'm liking where we're going. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Unleash The Fanboy - Harrison Rawdin Sep 25, 2013

    Jupiter's Legacy #3 is not perfect by any stretch of the imagination but the issue was so powerful it might as well have been, as it earns the right to be highly recommended. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Newsarama - Lindsey Morris Sep 26, 2013

    Holy. Crap. This week's Jupiter's Legacy has us up to our elbows in the stuff that nightmares are made of. Treacherous friends, bloody ends, and faceless corpses make this issue the best yet by far. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Forces Of Geek - Atlee Greene Sep 30, 2013

    This issue gets better and better with every turn of the page and it poses the question, how can good prevail, in any way, when they are now all that is evil? Read Full Review

  • 10
    Following The Nerd - Shane Kildea Oct 3, 2013

    Three issues in and this one changes the entire landscape of its world. I've said it before and it couldn't be more true, right now but I have no idea where this series is gonna go and that is very exciting. I can see people years from now talking about this series like fans talk nowadays about Watchmen. If you aren't reading this title then you owe it to yourself to start. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Imagination Centre - John McCubbin Oct 24, 2013

    Easily the best issue in the series yet, this issue would take the series to another level, having some shocking developments and graphic artwork. There was also a lot of drama and suspense throughout the issue, with some very emotional sequences, with the issue being very intense throughout. Due to all this I'd highly recommend this issue, as well as the series so far, as it's shaping up to be some of Millar's best creator owned work since the first Kick-Ass series. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Geeked Out Nation - OOSteven Sep 27, 2013

    Major characterization happening this issue and major plot spins, twists, turns and plenty of action and revelations to really put a reader in a comic book coma, what you've heard of food coma's before. Seriously this book is so hardcore good it takes multiple readings to grasp everything going on and that my friends is how to masterfully tell a story. Oh and let's not forget Frank is giving us some of his finest work to date trying to match the intensity of Millar's words. This book is the best of the best and best of the new period. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Hyper Geeky - ClumsyG Feb 1, 2014

    It's hard to say at this moment. In fact, after reading this issue and chewing on it a little bit, it's really hard to say anything at all. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Black Nerd Problems - Ja-Quan Greene Aug 26, 2015

    The Utopian is face to face with his son" and receives the most intense optical blast, at point blank range, that I've ever seen. The final image of The Utopian and his bone seared skull is chilling. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Multiversity Comics - Zach Wilkerson Sep 26, 2013

    Now that the story has begun in earnest, Millar promises a shift into the future, wherein the consequences will be immediately felt. He also teases a glimpse into the past, and suggests some answers the mysterious island in the first issue. What began a seemingly derivative book has quickly developed a strong cast, an engaging mythology, and that oh so elusive hook that has ensured that at least one reader will be coming back for more. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Culture Mass - Stephen Wilds Sep 27, 2013

    Jupiters Legacy is back with what may be its best issue to date. There's a reason I said this book might be a modern classic, and it's right here. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Comicosity - Matt Santori-Griffith Sep 24, 2013

    A solid new chapter that is sure to appeal to fans of Miller and Quitely's individual works to date, Jupiter's Legacy #3 may not be breaking new ground for the comic market, but it is certain to entertain those who would seek to deconstruct the super-hero genre. If nothing else, we get to take the beautiful trip down the spiral of these heroes demise, and appreciate the scenery all the way down. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Minhquan Nguyen Oct 1, 2013

    Even after reading through the issue and enjoying it, you can't quite pick out what makes it original. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Statues And Superheroes - Steven Viscido Sep 25, 2013

    Overall, I didn't really like this issue. I didn't find it exciting, or heart-breaking, or anything like that. I don't like any of the characters much, so I don't care what happens to them. Read Full Review

  • 1.0
    CHUD - Adam X. Smith Oct 4, 2013

    In short, Jupiter's Legacy is not getting a recommendation from this writer. This is not the work of an innovative mind " it's the cynical grasp for credibility of an egomaniac who thinks he can game the system by selling concepts and movie pitches instead of fleshed out stories, who wants to become the spider squatting at the heart of a media empire yet is fundamentally incapable of doing so without the aid of the major players, and in this case his Millarworld brand's spiritual successor Image Comics. Mark Millar is not a genius. He is a spoiled brat who wants all the toys to himself, an agent of the status quo masquerading as a maverick. And this comic, more than any of the others he has written, presents us with nothing even close to something worth getting interested in or excited about. Read Full Review

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...