Black Widow #6

Black Widow #6

Writer: Duane Swierczynski Artist: Manuel Garcia Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: September 22, 2010 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 6
6.8Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

A senator is seduced and assassinated. His journalist son, Nick Crane, follows the trail to a fatal Soviet agent. Crane believes he's finally found his father's murderer, and he's about to expose...the Black Widow!

  • 9.0
    Comic Book Resources - Ryan K. Lindsay Sep 24, 2010

    This new arc of "Black Widow" is only three issues long. With the amount of twists and punches packed into this one installment, I can see why there's no need to drag it out. This comic is a bomb of energy and violence that straps you down and turns the pages itself. If you're a fan of well-written spy-fu that wants to stab small blades into your eye while it wears tight leather jumpsuits then this comic is perfect for you. And the brilliant cliffhanger ending is a pretty good indication the next one might be as well. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Vine - Zack Freeman Sep 22, 2010

    With the creative team transition, this isn't as stylish and sleek as it was under Liu and Acuna... but that isn't necessarily a minus. Instead, we've got a more white-knuckle, hard-boiled thriller that's just another shade of the spy genre's spectrum. I'm eager to see what happens in issue #7, because this issue ended on a bang of a cliffhanger. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Tony Rakittke Sep 24, 2010

    Fans of The Bourne Identity, Alias, and James Bond need to check this book out and give it the support it deserves. Swierczynski and Garcia are a solid team and they know how to make the Black Widow as lethal and mysterious as she is lovely. This really is a good book! Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Sep 22, 2010

    Swiercynski introduces a number of minor complications throughout the issue that spice up the proceedings further. It's enjoyable, but even at three issues I'm worried this arc doesn't have enough steam to last to the end. It's also disappointing to see Swiercynski rely on one of the most overplayed cliffhangers in the industry for his first issue. This run could easily develop into something worthwhile for Widow fans. For now, though, it still has a ways to go towards establishing itself. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    cxPulp - Terry Verticchio Sep 23, 2010

    So begins a new arc of Black Widow. The woman just can't seem to let the grass grow under her feet. I like the tone so far of the story and Natasha's voice is strong. A good start. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Comics Bulletin - Ray Tate Sep 24, 2010

    Strike two for Marvel. After Marjorie Lui's horrendous medical incompetence in The Black Widow Swierczynski follows her example with a trite, President Kennedy smear that asks you to pretend that Black Widow is a "shadowy flight into a dangerous world of a woman that does not exist." Trouble is the Black Widow's public image makes that impossible. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...