Deadpool #8

Deadpool #8

Writer: Gerry Duggan Artist: Matteo Lolli Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: March 2, 2016 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 5
8.0Critic Rating
8.2User Rating

+ Pull List

Deadpool has no idea that he killed his own parents. SHHH! Don't tell! Only problem is...he's investigating whodunit, swearing vengeance. Don't worry! He thinks SABRETOOTH did it! This is gonna be a fun fight.
Parental Advisory

  • 9.0
    Comicsverse - Mark Hassenfratz Mar 4, 2016

    My beef with this issue is the same it's been since the beginning of Deadpool's new run: there are some great ideas thrown around, but the execution is lacking and inconsistent. All in all, this wasn't a horrible issue. Like the rest of the recent Deadpool run, it's hit or miss. I think the plot and characterization are gaining momentum, and the creators are using interesting elements to tell their story, but the art is a little plain and doesn't show the same level of skill. Overall, the series has begun to find its footing in some respects, but it's far from achieving its full potential. Despite my grievances, I still think that this issue is fun, and I feel like there's a lot of great things coming for the future of Deadpool! Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    IGN - Levi Hunt Mar 3, 2016

    This issue has all of the over-the-top action you might want after experiencing the high of that movie, but just doesn't deliver on the comedy in the way that Gerry Duggan is capable of giving us. Read Full Review

  • 8.0 Mar 11, 2016

    This book starts the new arc that we have been building towards for a long time: Deadpool has found out more about his past, and that his family was killed, possibly by Butler (the guy who wiped ‘Pools mind and was harvesting his organs to keep his sister alive- it was a while ago, before Secret Wars, so maybe you forgot) and that Sabretooth was around when it happened. What we the reader know, and what Deadpool doesn’t know is that HE HIMSELF killed his family, and that Sabretooth was just there to watch and make sure it happened. This arc is the Deadpool vs Sabretooth story, and who knows what kind of crazy stuff we will be getting here. We still get plenty of Mercs for Money in this issue, PLUS the cover art by the Allreds is phenominal. This leads right into the next issue, but I am hoping that things get resolved here and things go all sorts of coco-banana-bonkers soon, because we got the tease of a Deadpool daughter in the Deadpool 2099 issue a few months ago, and I want more of that. This book is good though, and I am really on edge to see what happens when Deadpool finds out what happened to his family at his own hand. I loved that the narrative of the story was that Wade, Sabretooth and Wolverine had a long discussion on what would kill and KEEP wolverine dead, and that by decapitating him and keeping his head dissolving in acid would make and keep him dead. So Deadpool decides to test this theory on Sabretooth instead, and uses piano wire across a road where Sabretooth is riding on a motorcycle to decapitate him (also- to keep his head in a pet carrier) and keep his severed head. This scene plays out just as well as you expect it would for Deadpool, because it doesn’t actually decapitate Sabretooth, it just makes him look like and I quote “a pez dispenser” which is a gross, graphic visual. Plus the bottom panel of the page is a splashy (ugh, I hate myself for making a blood joke here) gory shot of maimed Sabretooth. The issue ends with Deadpool d

  • 7.5
    The Villain Sep 6, 2016

    The idea of Deadpool and Sabretooth squaring off in a battle sounds fairly fun to me. This issue mostly contains Deadpool trying to find Victor Creed and Sabretooth doesn't really appear until the last few pages. This is a true starting point for this arc as all the fun should really be coming in the upcoming issues.

  • 8.5
    Dyogo26 Mar 5, 2016

  • 8.5
    GlenWizard Mar 9, 2016

  • 8.5
    CraigR Mar 15, 2016

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...